Babson Early Settlers

William Addes. — He was one of the first selectmen. He is 
not mentioned as a landowner, otherwise than as a seller of a , 
lot on Eastern Point. He was here in 1649, when he was f' > 
witness in an action against Charles Glover. He appt^ars in New 
London, Conn., in 1659 ; when he was allowed to brew beer, 
and distil for the benefit of the town. Afterwards he was 
engaged in trading operations for a company in England. Mer- 
cantile employments may have occupied his attention in Glouces- 
ter ; for, in one of the few instances in which he is mentioned, 
lie is spoken of as building a bark. He had a daughter Milli- 
cent, who married William Southmeade. 

Martha Agar. — Her daughter Hannah died in 1696, in the 
tenth year of her age. 

Joseph Allen. — The name of AUen occurs among the first 
occupants of our territory ; William Allen having been one of 
the adventurers who came over to Cape Ann for the Dorchester ^ 
Company. He was probably the early settler of Manchester 
of the same name, and perhaps the ancestor of our Aliens. 
Joseph Allen came to Gloucester in 1674. He was a black- 
smith, and was encouraged to settle here by an immediate grant 
of land and a common right. In 1675, he bought of James 
Davis, sen., a house and land near the Meeting-house. A house, 
erected by him on this land, was taken down a few years since 
by the descendant now owning the property, who built a new 
one on the same spot. He was frequently elected a selectman, 
and chosen on committees; and, in 1705, was representative. 
The title, " captain," often given to him, was a military one ; 
probably derived from his command of a military company. 
He died Oct. 6, 1724, aged seventy-one. He was twice 



56 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

married : first to Rachel Griggs, in 1680, who died April 26, 
1684; and next to Rose Howard, in 1684, who survived him 
but twenty -one days, and died Oct. 27, 1724, aged about 
sixty. By these two wives he had seventeen children ; namely : 
Joseph, bom in 1681 ; Jeremiah, 1682; Rachel, 1684; Solo- 
mon, 1685; Benjamin, 1687; a son, 1688; Thomas, 1689; 
Anna, 1691; John, 1692; Rose, 1694; WiUiam, 1696; Mercy 
and Patience, 1697; Jeremiah, 1698; Samuel, 1701; Zerub- 
babel, 1703 ; and Moses, 1706. Several of these children died 
young. Joseph, the oldest, engaged in trade, and became a 
citizen of considerable distinction, taking an active part in town- 
affairs. He represented the town in General Court four years. 
He died April 6, 1750, leaving an estate appraised at £5,130. 
14s. 6d. His wife was Mary Coit, who survived him. Eight 
of his children also survived him. Of these, "William, bom in 
1717, built the large house east of the site of the old Meeting- 
house in Town Parish, where he had a large family of children 
bom to him ; the last of whom, Elizabeth, widow of Samuel 
Stevens, deceased in Portland, in 1850, at the advanced age of 
ninety-eight. He removed to New Gloucester, Me., on the 
early settlement of that town. Nathaniel, bom in 1718, engaged 
extensively in fishing and commercial operations. He built the 
old Long Wharf, and the house near the head of it, recently 
standing, in which he resided. Becoming bankrupt in business, 
he removed, about the commencement of the Revolutionary War, 
to Dover, N.H. ; where he died soon after his removal. Mr. 
Allen was representative five years, and was a gentleman of 
high character and standing. His real estate became the pro- 
perty of a British subject ; and, as such, was leased by the select- 
men, in 1779, for the term of one year. The house had been 
previously occupied as barracks for one of the companies 
stationed here. Mr. Allen was twice married : first to Mary, 
daughter of Rev. Joshua Gee of Boston ; and next to Sarah, 
daughter of Epes Sargent, Esq. Although twelve children 
were bom to him by these two wives, no descendant remains. 
One of his sons (Joseph) graduated at Harvard College in 1774 ; 
and, after residing several years in New Hampshire, became 



EARI.T HETTLERS. 57 

cashier of the Gloucester Bank in 1796, and continued in that 
office till -1829. He died, unmarried, Oct. 8, 1831, aged 
seventy-five. Thomas, son of Captain Joseph Allen, occupied 
the paternal estate. He was born in 1689 ; married Elizabeth 
Coit in 1711 ; and died, at an advanced age, about the com- 
mencement of the Revolutionary War. Three of his sons married, 
and had families. Thomas married Jemima Haskell in 1732 : 
David and Isaac married daughters of Rev. John A\Tiite. His 
son Jeremiah, born 1717, died young, an undergraduate of 
Han-ard College. William, son of Thomas Allen, jun., bom in 
1735, was a soldier in the French and Indian wars. He also 
served, with two sons, in the Revolutionary War. William, one 
of these sons, received a fatal shot in the arm on the retreat from 
liong Island. Nathaniel, the other son, left the army, and went 
on board a privateer. He was in the " ("ivil Usage " when the 
commander, Capt. John Smith, was killed ; and stood along- 
side the Ueutenant when that officer was struck on the head by 
a cannon-ball, and killed on the spot. He died in Manchester, 
about 1843, aged eighty-five. John Allen married Eimice 
Stone of Beverly in 1716; and, besides daughters, had sons, — 
Ambrose, John, Nehemiah, and Solomon. He resided at the 
entrance of the southerly way leading to Hodgkins' Ferry. 
Samuel married Rachel Day in 1726, and had eight children, 
of whom five were sons ; viz., Samuel, Joseph, Robert, Jonathan, 
and William. Zerubbabel married Lydia Parsons in 1728, 
and died Feb. 4, 1749. He had sons, — Ebenezer, Jacob, 
Joseph, Moses, Stephen, and Zerubbabel. The latter died at 
sea in 1756. 

Ralph Andrews. — This individual first appears in Glouces- 
ter on the occasion of his marriage to Abigail Very, Nov. 17, 
1681. His life was one of poverty and misfortune. His poverty 
is inferred fi*om the feet that he appears nowhere as a landholder 
during his whole life, and from the allusions to the help he 
received from the town. He did not come upon the town for 
support till after 1699, when the selectmen were fully empowered 
to send him to the " Lin doctor, James Kibber, to be cured of 
his lameness, if the said Kibber doth think he can cure him." 

8 



58 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

He died Feb. 25, 1718, aged seventy-five. His wife died 
May 8, 1728, aged sixty-seven. Four children are tecorded to 
him, — Thomas, 1686; Francis, 1689; Abigail, 1692; and 
Hannah, 1702. Besides these, there was probably a Balph., 
who received aid from the town in 1740, and died Nov. 3, 
1778, aged eighty-three. These sons are believed to have 
married. Others of the name appear in town about the com- 
mencement of the last century ; who were, without doubt, from 
Ipswich, where families of this name settled early. John An- 
drews and Sarah Curtis (whom he afterwards married) were 
warned out of town in 1711. William Andrews settled here 
about the same time, and was father of William, who was 
wounded in one of the expeditions to Louisburg, Cape Breton, 
and died on his passage home. 

William Ash. — No land is recorded to him ; but he sold a 
house and land to John Jackson in May, 1651. He married 
Millicent, widow of William Southmeade. 

Mr. Ashley. — A lot in the harbor is mentioned, in 1650, as 
once belonging to him. Thomas Ashley and his goods were 
attached in July, 1642, for William Addes and others. 

Edmund Ashby was of Salem in 1665, and only appears 
here at the birth of his son James in 1680. 

Christopher Avery and his son James were among the first 
settlers. They had land in several places ; but resided, as nearly 
as can be made out from the records, at the plantation. Chris- 
topher Avery was selectman in 1646, 1652, and 1654. At a 
court in Salem, June 29, 1652, he took the freeman's oath ; was 
chosen and sworn clerk of the band, constable and clerk of the 
market. These offices indicate the possession of a fair character ; 
but the criminal records of those times present him to us in 
various unfavorable aspects. He was presented twice at court 
for living away from his wife ; once for speaking scoffingly of 
Mr. Blynman : and, in 1655, he commenced an action against 
James Standish and William Vinson for slanderously reporting 
that he drank liquor so long, "that he took Inke instead of 
liquor ; and took another man's wife upon his knee, and dandled 
her, ye foolish man, her husband looking on therewhile." The 



EARLY SETTLERS. 59 

jury found for defendants. Avery sold his house and land in 
1658, and went to New London ; whither his son James had 
removed several years before. The latter married Joane Grin- 
slade, Nov. 10, 1643, and had children, — Hannah, bom 1644; 
James, 1646; and Mary, 1648. In 1651, he sold all his 
possessions in Gloucester to his father, and removed to New 
London, where he continued many years a useful and enter- 
prising citizen. 

Isabel Babson, widow and midwife, was of Salem in 1637, 
but came early to Gloucester, and had several grants of land. 
She also bought of Mr. Milward two acres that was Ashley's 
lot ; a portion of which, situated at what is now 75 and 77, Front 
Street, continued in the family about a century and a half. She 
died April 6, 1661, aged about eighty-four; leaving an estate 
inventoried at £27. 6s. Her son James came hither with his 
mother, and settled near Little Good Harbor. He was a cooper 
by trade ; but he cultivated his land, and left at his death a small 
farm, which went into the possession of Thomas Witham, who 
married his daughter. He died Dec. 21, 1683. His wife, 
Elinor Hill, to whom he was married in 1647, died March 14, 
1714, aged eighty-three. His children were — James, bom 1 648 ; 
Elinor, 1651; PhiUp, 1654; Sarah, 1656, died 1676; Thomas, 
1658; John, 1660; Richard, 1663; Elizabeth, 1665; Eben- 
ezer, 1668; and Abigail, 1670. Philip Babson removed to 
Salem ; where, in 1689, he married Hannah Baker, who died 
in 1692, leaving a daughter Anna. Thomas enlisted in the 
Indian war of 1675, and was some time on duty in garrison at 
Hadley. He probably died young, as his name does not appear 
after this time. John had a grant, in 1695, of two or three acres 
at Straitsmouth, to " set up fishing upon." By fiirther grants 
and purchase, he became possessor of twenty-seven acres there, 
which he held several years, and probably improved in carrying 
on the fishery. He sold it in 1721. He married, in 1686, 
Dorcas, daughter of Josiah Elwell. ITiey both died in 1737. 
He had several children, three of whom — Elias, bom in 1687 ; 
John, 1691 ; and Josiah, 1703 — died within a few weeks in 1720. 
His son James, bom in 1689, is supposed to have been the 



60 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

father of Isaac Babson of Wenham, who died young in Bristol, 
England, leaving several childien ; one of whom (Isaac) graduat- 
ed at Harvard College in 1779, and soon after went on board the 
privateer ship " Buccaneer " as steward. He spent several years 
in a seafaring life ; but finally settled as a trader in Hopkinton, 
N.H., in 1786. In 1796, he removed to Manchester ; where he 
died suddenly, July 31, 1800. John Babson, son of John, 
left two children, — James and William. The former became a 
sea-captain, and died Sept. 3, 1759, aged forty-two ; leaving 
a son James, who was commander of a privateer in the Revolu- 
tionary War, and died Oct. 10, 1790, aged forty-nine. William 
was lost overboard on a voyage to the Grand Bank about 1749, 
aged thirty. His son William married Ann, daughter of Rev. 
John Rogers; and died at the McLean Asylum, Dec. 30, 1831, 
aged eighty-two. He was bred to a seafaring Ufe; and, b&ct 
several years spent in privateering and mercantile voyages, settled 
in business at Annisquam. His oldest son William, after a long 
and successfiil career in trade and commerce, died June 29, 1848, 
aged sixty-nine. Two of his sons have been representatives ; 
WilUam in 1850, and John J. in 1859 and 1860. Of this 
branch of the family is John Babson, who has held important 
national and state offices in Maine ; and is now \'ice-consul of the 
United States for Canada. His residence is in Wiscasset, Me. 
Richard Babson had a wife Mary, who died Feb. 14, 1718, 
aged fifty-four. He next married Jane Reading, Oct. 14, 1718. 
He settled at Fresh-water Cove ; and, after living there many 
years, removed to Falmouth, Me., about 1727. He had eleven 
or twelve children, but only one son that married. John, born 
in 1687i married Hannah Hodgkins in 1711, and died before 
1743. She died about 1779, over ninety. From the sons 
by this marriage are descended most of the Babsons on Cape 
Ann. John, bom in 1713, died about the close of the last cen- 
tury, leaving a son Samuel ; who, having acquired considerable 
propert}^ in mercantile pursuits here, retired to a farm in Lincoln, 
Mass., where he died Oct. 8, 1805, aged about sixty-four. Solo- 
mon, bom in 1715, was the father of John, a merchant, exten- 
sively and successftilly engaged in business many years in 



EARLY SETTLERS. 61 

Gloucester and Newburyport. Becoming reduced in circum- 
stances, he removed to Maine ; and died suddenly at Mt. Desert, 
March 22, 1825, aged seventy-nine. His vdte was Catharine, 
daughter of Rev. John Rogers. William, bom in 1721, married 
Mary Williams. Ilis oldest son, William, was lost in the ship 
** Gloucester." Three of the grandsons of the latter have held 
public ofEces of importance : Gorham, a representative three 
years, and now collector of the customs ; David, for several 
years siurveyor of the port; and Fitz J., representative in 1858 
and 1860. The two former have their residence in Rockport. 
Ebenezer Babson would have no further notice here if he had 
not found a place in the " Magnalia " of Cotton Mather, M-here, 
in a letter from Rev. John Emerson, he figures in the diabolical 
work by which, in 1692, the town was kept in a state of agitation 
and alarm for several months. He may have been distinguished 
in an encounter with a less ethereal enemy, and thus have been 
the occasion of the local saying, " The knife that Babson killed the 
bear with." He died before 1696. James Babson is probably 
the ancestor of all the Babsons in the United States. 

Thomas Bailey and wife Mary appear in Gloucester, 1700; 
when Thomas, their son, was bom. Other children were — Sa- 
muel, bom 1702 ; Mary, 1704. The father died Oct. 15, 1704. 

Alexander Baker was o^mer of a house and land early, and 
may have been for a short time a resident. He Uved in Boston 
many years. 

Giles Barge bought two acres of land in Fishermen's Field 
in 1653, which he sold in 1655. In the time of Sir Edmund 
Andros, he petitioned for confirmation of two hundred and sixty 
acres of land in Scarborough, which some years before he had 
lived on and improved. 

William Bartholmew was here in 1657, when he was one of 
a committee to " seek out for a minister." He had planting- 
ground and marsh ; but, after remaining in town a short time, 
he removed to Boston. 

Richard Beeford was bom about 1608. He is named in an 
action at a Quarterly Court in Salem, 1637; but he was not pro- 
bably an inhabitant of Gloucester before 1650, although his 



b» HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

children (John, Mary, Hannah, and Ruth) are recorded here as 
bom by his wife Mary before that year. Other children of his 
were — Nathaniel, bom in 1650; and Eichard, in 1653. He 
bought a house and land of Solomon Martin in 1651. He was 
freeman, 1651 ; selectman, 1659 and 1660 ; and then disap- 
pears. 

Anthony Bennett, carpenter, probably came to this town 
from Beverly ; where a person of the same name, a carpenter, 
was living in 1671. He had grants of land here in 1679 ; on 
one of which, on the east side of Mill River, he settled. He 
died Jan. 12, 1691 : his wife Abigail died Oct. 26, 1733, between 
seventy and eighty years of age. His two sons (Anthony, born 
in 1679; and John, in 1686) both married, and had famiUes. 
John died Feb. 1, 1725, aged thirty-eight years. He came into 
possession of the ancient mill, with the privilege of the stream ; 
but he found an earnest competitor for the business of the town 
in John Ring, who had a mill on Sawmill-river Dam. The mill 
continued in the Beimett Family, and was carried on by them 
many years. Peter, another son, settled in town, and had several 
children; but had removed in 1718, when he was living in 
Georgetown, York County, Me. The name is not borne here 
now by any descendant; but it survives in New Gloucester 
and other parts of Maine, whither members of the family emi- 
grated from here. 

George Blake had several grants of land ; on one of which, 
near the Meeting-house, he resided. He was selectman, 1649 ; 
and freeman, 1651. In 1665, he sold house, upland, orchard, 
and commonage, to John Fitch ; and, in 1669, another house and 
land, to Thomas Judkin ; soon after which he removed to Box- 
ford, where he died Feb. 17, 1698. Dorothy Blake, probably 
his wife, died at the same place, Dec. 12, 1702. The children 
of George Blake by his wife Dorothy, recorded on our books, 
are — Rebecca, bom in 1641 ; Deborah, Prudence, 1647 ; Eliza- 
beth, 1650; Mary, 1652; Thomas, 1658; and Ruth, 1659. 

John Bourne lived in Salem before he came to Gloucester. 
He had liberty from the General Court in 1646 to set up a cook- 
shop in the former place ; not to sell beer above a penny a quart. 



EARLY 8ETTLER8. 63 

He bought a house and land at Trynall Cove, in 1649, of William 
Hough; and sold it in 1652. In. 1651, he was clerk of the writs 
and of the market. After leaving Gloucester, he went to Barba- 
does, where he was in 1661. By his wife Mary he had one 
child (Bethiah), bom here in 1651. 

Thomas Bray, ship-carpenter, born in 1614, had, with other 
grants of land, six acres, in 1647, at the head of Little Eiver ; 
and, in 1651, one-quarter of an acre in the bottom, on the north 
side, of Cow-Island Marsh, " for a house to be sett on." He 
probably settled at this time in that part of the town, where 
descendants have continued ever since. John Bray, perhaps a 
relative, was a shipwright at Kittery in 1663, and had a daugh- 
ter, who became the mother of Sir William Pepperell. Thomas 
Bray married, May 3, 1646, Mary Wilson, who died March 27, 
1707: he died Nov. 30, 1691. His children were — Mary, 
bom in 1647; Thomas, 1653; John, 1654; Nathaniel, 1656; 
Hannah, 1662 ; Esther, 1664 ; and Sarah. Thomas had a wife 
Mary, and several children, of whom five were sons, — Thomas, 
John, Nathaniel, Moses, and Aaron. Thomas married Elinor 
Dodge of Beverly in 1716 ; and had, besides daughters, sons, — 
Thomas, Edward, and Ebenezer. Thomas, though not an edu- 
cated physician, practised medicine in his native parish many 
years ; and died there Nov. 26, 1801, aged over eighty. John, 
second son of Thomas Bray, jun., married Susanna Woodbury 
in 1716, and had six children, of whom three were sons : one 
of these (Humphrey) married Lydia Woodbury in 1749, and 
had a son Silas, whose son Silas was representative in 1838 
and 1844. Nathaniel, the third son, married Sarah Haskell 
in 1733, and had eleven children, among whom were sons, — 
Nathaniel, Daniel, Benjamin, — and others whose names are not 
known; and died Jan. 18, 1773, aged seventy-nine. Moses 
Bray had a wife Mary, and sons, — Samuel, Nicholas, and 
Moses. He died July 19, 1773, aged seventy-seven. Aaron 
Bray married Elizabeth Davis in 1727, and Ruth Winter in 
1744. Of his ten children, four were sons, — Aaron, Mark, 
Edward, and Thomas. Johx, son of Thomas, sen., married 
Mai^aret Lambert in 1679, who died in 1725, aged seventy : 



64 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

he died Sept. 25, 1714. Having no children, he gave the 
reversion of his property to his nephew John. Nathaniel, 
the youngest son, married Martha Wadin in 1684. He died 
May 2, 1728, aged seventy-six; leaving, it appears, an only 
son Nathaniel, who married Sarah Davis in 1714, and had 
sons, — Isaac, Andrew, and Nathaniel. 

John Briars appears here, in 1652, on the occasion of his 
marriage to Elizabeth, daughter of John Jackson. The follow- 
ing children are recorded to him : Grace, bom in 1655 ; John, 
1658; Benjamin, 1660; and Mary, 1661, who died at birth. 
In 1858, there was given him a "necke of land liinge over 
against John Jackson's two or three acres, which was called 
Peter Mud's Neck." He left town soon after 1661. 

Edmund Broadway sold land in Fishermen's Field and 
other places in 1653 and 1654 ; but it does not appear certain 
that he resided here. 

John Brown had, in 1704, built a small house and fenced in 
a piece of town's land near Sadler's Rim. He died March 17, 
1732, aged seventy. His wife Rebekah died June 24, 1711. 
Their children bom in Gloucester were — Sarah, bom in 1696 ; 
Rebekah, 1699 ; Rachel, 1702 ; Jonathan, 1705 ; and Joseph, 
1709 ; besides others that died in infancy. John Brown (proba- 
bly the preceding) married Elizabeth Somes in 1713 ; by whom 
his sons — William, 1714 ; and Daniel, 1717 — were born. He 
may have brought children to Gloucester with him ; as aft Elisha 
married Hannah Gardner, Nov. 21, 1717 ; and a John married 
Hannah Elwell, Jan. 23, 1721. Jonathan Brown married Ly- 
dia Elwell in 1728, and Joseph Brown married Mary Elwell 
in 1732. These three maidens of the same name were sisters ; 
probably daughters of Jacob Elwell. Elisha Brown had eleven 
children ; among whom were sons, — John, Elisha, James, Ste- 
phen, and Samuel. The latter was bom in 1744, and married 
Dorcas Elwell in 1765. His business was that of a coaster. 
He was lost overboard on his passage from Boston to Gloucester 
about 1790 ; leaving several children, of whom one was Elisha, 
who died in Surinam about 1802. John Brown, jun., had two 
children born in Gloucester ; and then removed to Falmouth, 



EARLY SETTLERS. 65 

Me. William married Elizabeth Phlpps in 1735, and Daniel 
married Sarah Row in 1741. Descendants of Elisha, and 
probably of other sons of the first settler, John, continue the 
name in town. 

William Brown was among the earliest settlers, and had 
several parcels of land. His residence was in the harbor. He 
was selectman, 1644 and 1647 ; and, in 1654, he had liberty 
from a Quarterly Court to draw strong waters during the plea- 
sure of the court. He married Mary, widow of Abraham 
Robinson, in 1646; and died May 3, 1662, lea\'ing a daughter 
Mary, bom in 1649, who married William Haskell. IDs widow 
married, for her third husband, Henry Walker. His estate, 
which was considerable for the time and place (£223. 7s.) was 
mostly left to his son-in-law, Abraham Robinson. 

Obadiah Bruen was the youngest son of John Bruen of 
Bruen Stapleford, county of Chester, England ; a noted Puritan 
of an ancient family, which dates back to the Norman Conquest. 
He was baptized Dec 22, 1606. He came to Plymouth with 
Rev. Richard Blynman, and accompanied him thence to the 
various fields of his labor, but parted on the settlement of 
the latter in New Haven. As nearly as can be ascertained, his 
residence in Gloucester was on the south-west side of the 
Meeting-house Green. Land in different places is recorded to 
him, though not in so large grants as to several other settlers. 
He was made a freeman in 1642 ; clerk of the writs, and com- 
missioner to end small causes, in 1643 ; was a selectman several 
years, and the representative three years. In 1645, he was 
licensed at a Quarterly Court " to draw wine." He filled the 
office of town-clerk during the whole period of his stay in 
Gloucester ; and, when he left, carried the records with him, 
as it appears by a copy of an extract from them, taken by 
his own hand afl^er his removal to New Jersey. He sold all his 
possessions here in September, 1650, and went to New London, 
of which place he was the recorder many years. He was 
one of the patentees of the Colony of Connecticut named in the 
charter granted by Charles II. in 1662. In company with 
about fifty families from Connecticut, he emigrated to Newark, 



66 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

N. J. ; which place he bought of the Indians in 1667, and where 
it was the purpose of the settlers, as they declared, to establish 
a church and commonwealth exactly according to God's word ; 
not permitting any one, except a member of a Congregational 
church, to hold office, either civil or military. Mr. Bruen had 
a wife Sarah, by whom two children were bom in Glouces- 
ter, — Hannah in 1643, and John in 1646. The date of his 
death is unknown; but he was living in Newark in 1681. 
Descendants of this respectable stock remain in New Jersey. 
One (Rev. Matthew Bruen, bom in Newark) was an eminent 
minister in New- York City; and died there in 1829, aged 
thirty-six. 

Richard Byles, weaver, son of Jonathan Byles of Beverly, 
and his wife Elizabeth Patch, and grandson of Richard Braken- 
bury (who came to Salem with Gov. Endicott in 1628), was bom 
Nov. 3, 1675 ; and first appears in Gloucester in 1700. In 
1718, he bought of WUliam Sargent a house and land that 
Sargent bought of John Durge. He had a wife Mary, by 
whom the following children were bom : Charles, 1700 ; 
Mary, 1702; John, 1704; Martha, 1706; Sarah, 1710; Eliza- 
beth, 1713; Alexander, 1716; and Jonathan, 1719. He had 
removed back to Beverly in 1727, where it is supposed his wife 
died in January, 1746, aged seventy ; and he himself died Feb. 
12, 1771, aged ninety-six. Charles Byles bought his father's 
property here, and remained in town. His residence was in the 
Second Parish, about half a mile from the head of Little River. 
He commanded a company at the siege of Louisburg in 1745 ; 
and again, it is said, at the taking of Quebec. He married 
Hannah Eveleth, Jan. 17, 1727, who died March 9, 1785, aged 
seventy-five : he died March 9, 1782, aged eighty-one. He 
had a son Charles, bom in 1732, of whom nothing is known ; 
and another (Nathaniel), bom Feb. 5, 1741, whose intention of 
marriage with Sarah Procter of Ipswich, March 13, 1766, is 
recorded ; and who died at Halifax, of small-pox, in December, 
1777. 

John Butman is supposed to have come from Salem, where 
Jeremiah Butman, a fisherman, was living in 1673. A Matthew 



EARLY SETTLERS. 67 

Butman resided in Beverly, with his sons Matthew and Jere- 
miah, in 1714. John received a grant of land on the west side 
of Annisquam River, in 1693, on condition that he should build 
upon it in three years ; but, in 1696, he exchanged it for a lot 
of two acres and a half at the head of Lobster Cove, where he 
built his house, and probably spent the remainder of his life. 
He married Sarah, daughter of Abraham Robinson, June 30, 
1690, and had the following children : Jeremiah, bom in 1690 ; 
a daughter, 1693; Mary, 1697; Hannah, 1700; John, 1703; 
Jonathan, 1708; and Samuel, 1711. Jeremiah married Abi- 
gail Stevens in 1713 ; and was lost in a violent gale, coming 
from Cape Sable, in 1716 ; leaving a son Jeremiah. John had 
two wives; but no sons are recorded to him, and only one 
daughter that Hved. Jonathan had a wife Judith, and several 
children ; the first of which was bom in Newbury in 1734. 

Hugh Calkin, husbandman, was one of Mr. Blynman's com- 
pany. He had land in various places, but fixed his residence 
on the neck of house-lots. He was admitted freeman in 1642 ; 
was a selectman several years ; commissioner for ending small 
causes in 1645 ; and representative in 1650 and 1651. In this 
last year he left Gloucester, and became successively a resident 
of New London and Norwich ; in both of which places, as in 
Gloucester, various trusts were confided to him by his fellow- 
citizens. The history of these two towns has been written by a 
female descendant, — Miss F. M. CauUdns. He died in Nor- 
wich about 1690. He had one child (Deborah) bom here, by 
his wife Ann, in 1644. His daughter Rebekah died March, 
1651. A daughter (Sarah) married William Hough, and another 
(Mary) married Hugh Roberts. 

William Card married Hannah Coit, widow, Jan. 10, 1693 ; 
and from that time resided here. His children were — Mary, 
bora in 1693; William, 1696; Hannah, 1699; John, 1701; 
and Benjamin, 1710. All we know of his profession or busi- 
ness is that he bore the title of " captain." He died July 7, 
1736, aged about seventy-four years. His oldest son William 
married Rebecca Wallis in 1717, by whom he had three chil- 
dren. He was lost in a schooner, near the Isle of Sables, in 



68 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

April, 1722. William, his oldest son, married Mary Babson. 
Benjamin Card married Bachel York in 1732; and died at 
Canso, of a fever, in 1738, leaving three children. 

Thomas Chase. — His lot is mentioned before 1650; but 
there is no other notice of him. A person of this name was an 
early settler in Hampton; and died in 1652, leaving a wife 
Elizabeth. 

Arthur Churchill. — It is uncertain when this individual 
came to Gloucester ; but, jfrom the grant made by the town in 
1701 to Richard Tarr, — a condition of which was, that the latter 
should maintain " old father Churchill during his natural life," — 
it seems probable that he was in some way connected with Tarr's 
family, which settled here about 1690. He died Jan. 22, 1710. 

Edmund Clark. — In the record of land-grants, a Mr. Clark 
is mentioned a few times before 1650, but only by the title of 
" Mr. ; " which, in accordance with the custom of that period, 
implied some distinction on the part of the possessor. He is 
probably the same individual who appears with the baptismal 
name of Edmund in 1650; and perhaps the same Edmimd 
Clark who was of Lynn in 1636, and afterwards of Sandwich, 
The name also appears in Haverhill in 1654. Our Edmimd 
Clark was town-clerk from 1657 to November, 1665 ; when his 
last record, in a failing hand, was made. He died Feb. 26, 
1666 ; leaving a widow Agnes, who married Thomas Penny ; 
a son John, who resided near Walker's Creek, and died in 
1681, probably immarried; a daughter Abigail, bom in 1632, 
who married William Sargent; and a son Joseph, bom in 1650, 
who was a soldier in the Indian war of 1675, and died in 
1696, leaving three sons, — Joseph, John, and Edmund; the 
first and leist of whom married, and had large families in the 
town. John purchased a lot of land, in 1718, in that part of 
Windham, Conn., which has since been incorporated by the 
name of Hampton. He removed thither with his wife, Ruth 
Haskell, whom he married in 1718 ; and was the fourth settler of 
the place. He died Nov. 9, 1782, aged ninety : his wife died 
July, 1776, aged eighty-three. Edmund was admitted an inhabi- 
tant of Falmouth, Me., in 1728 ; but did not remove thither. 



EARLY SETTLERS. 69 

Matthew Coe, a fisherman, lived in Portsmouth in 1640, 
but came to Gloucester before 1647 ; in which year, with Morris 
Somes, John Wakley, and Davis Wheeler, he was brought 
before a court at Salem for hunting and killing a raccoon on 
the Lord's day, in time of pubUc service, to the disturbance of the . 
congregation. In 1651, he had a grant of six acres of land 
" upon the neck that is on this side of the stage-neck." After 
having resided here several years, he sold his house and land to 
Thomas Riggs, in 1661, for forty pounds, and bought, with others, / 
of Richard Tucker of Falmouth, Me., two himdred and ten acres 
of land on the north margin of Back Cove, in that place ; where . 
he died before 1675. He married Elizabeth, daughter of 
Thomas Wakley, in 1647, and had the following children : 
John, bom in 1649 ; Sarah, 1651 ; Mary, 1658 ;, Abigail, 1658 ; 
and Matthew, 1660, who died the same year. John settled in 
Rhode Island. Sarah married Joseph Ingersol of Falmouth, and 
returned with her husband to Gloucester, the native place of 
both, about 1690; having left Falmouth probably on accoimt 
of the continual anxiety and alarm to which they were exposed 
from the hostility of the Indians, and their repeated murderous 
attacks on that place. 

Peter Coffin was son of Tristram Coffin of Newburyi I 
where the family settled early. He came to Gloucester in 1688, 
and occupied the large tract of land, of about five hundred acres, 
between Annisquam and Chebacco Rivers (originally granted to 
William Stevens), that his father had piu-chased the same year of 
Jonathan Willoughby of London. How long he remained here 
is uncertain. Two daughters (Hannah and Judith) were bom, 
by his wife Afiah, within three years aft«r he came. His 
grandson Peter, upon whom the property was entailed, took 
possession of it about 1747, and resided there till his removal 
to the harbor. Soon after he came to town, he began to take 
a part in public affairs ; and continued upwards of forty years a 
prominent and useful citizen. In the earliest stages of the 
Revolution, he embraced the Colonial cause with enthusiastic 
ardor ; and ceased not to devote all his energies to the public 
good till independence was established. As his farm was at an 



V 



70 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

inconvenient distance from the village for an actor in the stirring 
events of the time, he took a house in town about the commence- 
ment of the war, and resided there till his death. The high 
estimate placed upon his services by his townsmen is sufficiently 
attested by his repeated election to offices of trust and responsi- 
biUty. He served from 1753 to 1777, excepting two years, on 
the Board of Selectmen. In 1774, he was first chosen repre- 
sentative to the General Court, and filled this office several times 
between that period and the last year of his service, — 1792; 
and also served as one of the senators from Essex Coimty. He 
was the principal acting magistrate in town for many years. 
His death took place, Feb. 14, 1796, at the age of seventy-two. 
Mr. Coffin's wife was Mary Currier of Amesbury. Of his ten 
children, three were sons, — Peter, William, and Tristram. 
Peter graduated at Harvard College in 1769, and commenced 
studying law with Judge Sargent at Haverhill ; but, conceiving 
a dislike for the profession, he abandoned his studies, and took 
up his abode as a shopkeeper in his native town. In this busi- 
ness he failed of success ; and, soon kecoming bankrupt, he went 
on to the farm, where he lived as long as it would yield him a 
support by the sale of the wq^d upon it, and the% came back to 
town, and died Aug. 4, 1821, aged seventy -two. He married 
Polly, daughter of Rev. Eli Forbes, Oct. 21, 1773 ; who died in 
1795, aged forty. He had a son Peter, who died unmarried. 
He sailed from Boston on a foreign voyage in the capacity of 
supercargo, and was never again heard from. Two other sons 
(Charles and Eli Forbes) sailed for the north from Baltimore, 
where Charles was engaged in business, and were lost on the 
passage. William Coffin, bom June 30, 1756, was educated at 
Dummer Academy, Bjrfield; and studied medicine in Boston, 
where he married Mary Langdon. After serving a short time 
as surgeon of the public armed vessel " Tyrannicide," he settled 
in the practice of medicine in his native town about 1779. His 
residence was at the eastern comer of Front and Short Streets. 
He was an esteemed physician, and enjoyed an extensive prac- 
tice for nearly half a century. He died June 20, 1827, afl^r a 
short illness, during which he made a profession of religion, and 



EARLY SETTLERS. 71 

received the sacrament of the Lord's Supper. His widow died 
Aufr. 20, 1844, aged eighty-five. Dr. Coffin had a large family 
of children. Three of his sons lived to mature years, — William, 
who settled in Boston, where he was cashier of the Columbian 
Bank many years; Edward L., a shipmaster of Gloucester; 
and Arthur G., the president of an insurance company in Phila- 
delphia. Tristram, the third son of Hon. Peter Coffin, spent 
his life in Gloucester in various employments, one of which was 
that of a school-teacher. He died March 9, 1852, at the vene- 
rable age of ninety. 

John Coit. — Two persons of this name, father and son, were 
here early ; having probably come from Salem, where the name 
is found in 1638. John Coit, sen., had his residence at the end 
of the neck of house-lots, now called WTieeler's Point ; where, 
and on Planter's Neck, he had considerable land. He was 
admitted freeman in 1647, and was a selectman in 1648. 
About 1651, he went to New London, and died there Aug. 29, 
1659; leaving in that place a wife Mary, a son Joseph, two 
daughters (Mary and Martha), and " other two sons and daugh- 
ters " who were absent. John Coit, jun., had land near his 
father's. He had land granted to him in New London ; but, not 
removing thither, the grant was forfeited. He married Mary, 
daughter of William Stevens, May 21, 1652. He is supposed 
to have died before Oct. 3, 1667 ; when a Mary Coit, who could 
have been no other than his relict, married John Fitch. His 
children were — John, bom in 1658, died April 15, 1675; 
Mary, 1655; Abigail, 1657; Nathaniel, 1659; and Job, 1661. 
Nathaniel Coit had his residence near the head of Little River. 
He was a citizen of considerable influence ; which was derived 
in part, perhaps, from the large estate given to him by Henry 
"Walker, who in 1690, Coit then living with him, made his will, 
and gave him all his property, except a few small legacies. He 
was a selectman six years, and representative in 1714, 1718, and 
1719. He died, without any previous indisposition, Jan. 10, 
1743, aged eighty-four. The name has not since existed in 
town, though descendants of his daughters are numerous. He 
was thrice married: first to Elizabeth Davis, Feb. 16, 1687, 



72 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

who died Feb. 11, 1700; next to Abigail Stevens, Feb. 17, 
1702, who died Jan. 8, 1710; and last to Widow Hannah 
Sargent, Nov. 30, 1711. His children were — Mary, bom in 
1688 ; John, March 9, 1691 ; a daughter, 1693 ; Abigail, 1695, 
died 1698; Joshua, bom 5th, died 9th July, 1697; Martha, 
1698 ; Abigail, 1703 ; and Stephen, 1704, who died in 1705. 
John was probably the graduate of Harvard College, of the 
same name, of the class of 1712. He was living in Marblehead 
in 1715. In 1716, he calls himself heir of John Fitch; and 
in 1719, still of that place, he is called merchant and school- 
master. He may have removed to Boston, and died before 1743 ; 
when Nathaniel, Job, Joseph, and other grandchildren of Na- 
thaniel Coit of Gloucester, were living there. Job, son of John 
Coit, died Sept. 15, 1690 ; leaving a wife Hannah, and daughter 
Mary. The latter died in infancy. 

Clement Coldom is supposed to have come from Lynn, 
where the family name is found among the early settlers. He 
was here " the last of the last month," 1649, when his daughter 
Judith died. In 1651, he bought a house and land, on the neck 
of house-lots, of Andrew Lister ; but his own place of residence 
was on the easterly side of Mill River, towards Goose Cove. 
If he continued to reside here from that time, he led an entirely 
obscure life ; as his name is hardly mentioned for about half 
a century before his death. He died Dec. 18, 1703, about 
eighty years old. His daughter Elizabeth married Francis 
Norwood. A Mary Coldom died Jan. 26, 1704. 

John Collins came to Gloucester from Salem, where he 
had land granted in 1643. Here he had his residence in the 
harbor. He was a selectman in 1646, and several times after- 
wards ; and died March 25, 1695, leaving an estate of £139. 
4s. 8d. He had a wife Joanna, who died May 25, 1695 ; and 
children, — John; James, bom in 1643; Mary, 1646; and 
Anna, 1649. The sons were both mariners. John had nine 
children bom here by Mehetabel, his wife. He removed to 
Salem about 1675, and died before September, 1677. James 
married twice, and had a son by each wife. He also removed 
to Salem; from which place he sailed, in 1685, for Barbadoes, 



EARLY SETTLERS. 73 

and never returned. Mary had three husbands, the last being 
Capt. James Davis ; and died March 9, 1725, aged seventy-nine. 
Ann married Charles James. Daniel, supposed to have been a 
son of the second John, had a grant of land above the head of 
Goose Cove in 1719; which was increased in 1725, when he 
had a house there. Ezekiel, another son, bom in 1664, married 
Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Riggs, in 1692. He settled in 
the easterly part of the town, towards Little Good Harbor; where 
his descendants remained till about the commencement of the 
present century. He died December, 1744, aged eighty ; having 
been often employed, through the course of his long life, in various 
important town-offices. He left four sons, — John, Ebenezer, 
Daniel, and Amos. The latter settled in Marblehead. Daniel 
and John were both mariners. Ebenezer was a shoemaker, and 
had a son Ebenezer, who removed to New Gloucester, Me., 
and died about 1804. James, another son of Ebenezer, bom 
Nov. 26, 1724, resided on the family estate, on the Sandy-bay 
Road. He commanded a company in the first year of the Revo- 
lutionary War, and is said to have subsequently attained the 
rank of major. He had previously been in charge of a ship ; 
and, becoming tired of the camp, he again sought employment 
on the quarter-deck. He took command of a privateer of 
eighteen guns, and sailed on a cruise ; during which he captured 
a ship called the " Lady Gage," laden partly with wine. Upon 
his return home, he was offered the command of a new, large 
privateer-ship called the " Cumberland.'* He probably sailed in 
this ship some time in the year 1778, and neither ship nor crew 
were ever again heard from. A descendant remembers that the 
wives of forty yoTing men, called "the flower of Portland,'* 
were made widows by this sad loss. Capt. Collins was twice 
married, and had children by each wife. By the last, who was 
Abigail, daughter of Elder Warner, he left a son James, who 
was master of the ship " Winthrop and Mary," on a voyage to 
India, about 1800 ; of whose fate, after leaving Sumatra on her 
passage home, no tidings were ever received. He married 
Elizabeth Homans of Beverly, and left a son, James Albert, 

10 



74 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

who abandoned a seafaring life in 1833, and has since resided 
in Griggsville, 111. The youngest daughter of Capt. James 
Collins, sen., married Mr. Outien, who was lost at sea in 1799 ; 
leaving a son, who was also lost at sea, at the age of nineteen, 
in 1817 ; and a daughter, who is the wife of Hon. Charles 
Kimball of Ipswich. A grandson of Ezekiel Collins, probably* 
was Daniel, a blockmaker by trade, who was an officer in the 
Revolutionary War, and subsequently colonel of militia. He 
died in August, 1810, aged seventy-one. 

William Colman, planter, first appears in Gloucester about 
1654. He married Bridget, widow of John Rowe, Nov. 14, 
1662, who died May 2, 1680: he died April 18, 1680. His 
house, which was at the " Farms,'* was burnt. A rock on the 
northerly side of the road to Rockport, near the place of his 
residence, perpetuates his name. 

John Cook. — The first mention of the name of Cook in town 
is that of Rachel Cook, who married William Vinson in 1661. 
She was probably a widow when she married Vinson ; as the 
latter, in his will, speaks of the " son of my son-in-law John 
Cook." This John Cook married Mary El well, a widow, Feb. 2, 
1680 ; and had five children, of whom three died in infancy. 
The other children were — John, born in 1680; and Mary, in 
1688. Either father or son had a grant of land on Eastern 
Point in 1704 ; but nothing farther is known of the family after 
the last date. A Samson Cooke died in April, 1673. Elias 
Cook had a dwelling-house in Sandy Bay in 1738 ; but it is not 
known that he belonged to the first family of that name. 

Thomas Cornish married Mary, daughter of John Stone, 
Sept. 4, 1641 ; by whom he had a son John, bom in 1642. No 
land is recorded as granted to him ; but he had a house, and 
also owned marsh in Annisquam, and a lot on Planter's Neck. 
He probably went to Exeter, N.H. ; where a person of the same 
name resided in 1652. This name is also on a list of men, imder 
Capt. Beers, who were slain by the Indians at Squahoge, now 
Northfield, in 1675. 

William Cotton is mentioned in Mr. Blynman's grant. He 
had a lot which was afterwards Thomas Bray's. He may have 



EARLY SETTLERS. 75 

resided here early for a short period ; but Boston was the place 
of his permanent residence. 

John Ourney, in 1671, had a grant of half an acre of land 
where his house was standing. He had then but recently come 
from Falmouth, Me. ; bringing with him, perhaps, Abigail Skel- 
ling, whom he married Nov. 18, 1670. He died May 3, 1725, 
aged eighty: she died Feb. 16, 1722, aged seventy. He had a 
son Elisha, bom in 1672 ; and a daughter Mary, in 1682. A son 
John died in infancy in 1678. Elisha married Rebecca Smith, 
settled at Eastern Point, and had a large family of children. A 
John Cumey, probably another son of John, married Mary 
Cook in 1713. He had the title of "captain;" derived un- 
doubtedly from maritime employment, in which he was engaged 
as master of a brigantine belonging to Salem in July, 1712, 
when he was taken by a French privateer. 

Zaccheus Curtis and his wife Jane are mentioned only as 
the father and mother of a daughter Mary, bom in 1659. 

John Davis bought of Richard Window, in 1656, his house, 
bam, orchard, and land. This property was situated probably 
near Walker's Creek, as Window had a house there in 1651. 
After a residence of several years in town, Davis removed to 
Ipswich ; leaving here his two sons, — James and Jacob. The 
former had a house and land, which he sold to Joseph Allen in 
1674. A few years later, mention is made of his house on the 
right hand of the way from Long Cove to Mr. Walker's ; perhaps 
the same occupied by his father. Three generations of his 
family gave to the town some of its most valued and useful 
citizens ; men who, during a whole century, were constantly in 
office, and, whether filling dvil, military, or ecclesiastical sta- 
tions, always securing the best reward of public service, — public 
confidence. James Davis was appointed by the General Court 
ensign to the trainband in 1681 ; and, in 1689, received his com- 
mission as captain. No means now exist for ascertaining what 
active service he performed in these offices : but we find, that, in 
1693, he was " very sickly " in consequence of sickness he re- 
ceived in the ** country service in Sir Edmund Andres's time ; " 
and that he received in 1699, from the General Court, a grant of 



76 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

Straitsmouth Island, for the charge and expense he had been at 
and the time he had spent in the late wars with the French and 
Indian enemy. He was repeatedly elected to the office of select- 
man ; and, for eight years, served the town as its representative. 
His death took place May 1, 1715. By his first wife Mehetabel, 
who died June 9, 1666, he had four children ; of whom two — 
John, bom in 1660 ; and James, 1663 — lived to maturity. By 
his second wife (Elizabeth Batchelder of Wenham), whom he 
married Dec. 6, 1666, he had seven children; one of whom (Ebe- 
nezer) became a citizen of considerable prominence. This wife 
died Jan. 1, 1697 ; and, Aug. 3 of the same year, Capt. Davis 
married his third and last wife (Mrs. Mary Cook), who died 
March 9, 1725, aged seventy-nine. John Davis had three acres 
of upland between Lobster Cove and Hogskin Cove in 1684 ; 
and there he probably fixed his residence. He often served in 
town-offices, and was also lieutenant of the military company. 
He died March 16, 1729, aged sixty-nine. His wife, who was 
Ann Haraden, and two sons (Benjamin and Joseph), survived 
him. The latter son may have been Joseph of Squam, who mar- 
ried Jemima Haskell in 1732, and died about 1753. His son 
William, bom in 1738, whose posterity is numerous, was a 
prisoner two years and a half at Halifax, in the Revolutionary 
War; and died in 1814, leaving several sons, among whom was 
Epes, an occasional preacher of the Baptist denomination, and 
father of William, a representative in 1841. James, second son 
of Capt. James Davis, married Bethiah Leach in 1685, who died 
Aug. 20, 1733, aged seventy; and he next married, Dec. 31, 
1733, Sarah Millet. He had ten children, of whom four were 
sons, that married and settled in town, — James, Elias, Solomon, 
and Jedediah. He is generally mentioned by his military title 
of " lieutenant ; " but he best commended himself to the favor of 
his townsmen by his usefulness in civil office. He served 
several years as a selectman ; and, in 1708 and 1709, as repre- 
sentative. He sold his dwelling-house, near Harbor Swamp, in 
1703, to Rev. John White ; and bought in 1706, of William 
Somes, a house and land *^ on the northwardly and easterly side 
of a highway leading from ye mill." He died March 5, 1743, 



EAELY SETTLERS. 77 

aged eighty. His son James, bom in 1690, was twice married : 
first, in 1719, to Mary Haraden, who died June 22, 1753 ; and 
next to Mrs. Hannah Saunders. He became one of the most 
useful and honored citizens of his time. He resided at Squam, 
and was one of the deacons of the church there iwarly half a 
century. He also filled all the dvil offices held by his father and 
grandfather ; serving the town as one of its selectmen for a long 
course of years, and for seven years as its representative. His 
death took place, Aug. 15, 1776. He had nine children ; one of 
whom (Sarah), in the early blush of womanhood, accepted for 
her husband Rev. Amos Cheever of Manchester, who was then 
far advanced in years. Elias, the next son, bom in 1694, had a 
wife Elizabeth, who died in or before 1733 ; when he married 
Sarah Foster. He was a merchant of extensive business, which 
he probably carried on at Squam Harbor. He died about 1734, 
leaving sons Job and Mark, and an estate, valued in the cur- 
rency of the time, when com was worth six shillings a bushel, at 
upwards of forty-five hundred poimds. Solomon, bom in 1696, 
married Mary Small of Kittery in 1720, and probably Lydia 
Cannaby in 1747. Besides several daughters, he had a son 
Solomon, a Noah, and twin sons James and Samuel. Jedediah 
Davis, bom in 1704, had a wife Dorothy ; and, in 1734, was 
married to Martha Haraden. He had a son of his own name ; 
but nothing is known of either father or son after the last-named 
date. Ebenezer, son of Capt. James Davis, married Mary 
Wharf in 1705 ; and died Oct. 30, 1732, aged fifty-one. He 
engaged in mercantile employments, and was one of the first in 
town who entered extensively into such pursuits. The inventory 
of his estate, amounting to three thousand poimds, shows that 
his labors were not imrewarded. He had a son Abraham ; and, 
besides other daughters, a Susanna, who married Rev. Moses 
Parsons, and had among her children Theophilus Parsons, the 
distinguished Chief-Justice of the Supreme Court of Massachu- 
setts. No efibrts to ascertain what descendants of John Davis 
in this respectable line, bearing the name, and now living on the 
Cape, have been successful. The families of the following trace 
their origin to the Fourth Parish, where Lieut. James Davis had 



78 HISTORY or GLOUCESTER. 

his home. Thomas, who perished, with the rest of the company 
of the schooner " Mary," by shipwreck, on Tinker's Island, April 
2, 1786, in a severe snow-storm, coming into the bay from Bil- 
bao ; leaving sons, one of whom is Solomon, a venerable citizen 
of more than, fourscore years, yet living ; Elias, a shipmaster, 
who died in October, 1821, aged sixty-two ; and Daniel, who 
settled in Sandy Bay, and had sons Timothy R. and John, both 
of whom represented the town in General Court. Jacob, the 
other son of the original settler, John Davis, married Elizabeth 
Bennet, Jan. 20, 1661, and had nine children; of whom two 
were sons (Jacob and Aaron), who married in town. He had a 
grant of land at the head of Long Cove in 1662 ; and, in 1682, 
he, with others, had a grant of the stream, at the head of Little 
River, " to set up a sawmill on." He died Sept. 2, 1685. Half 
of a sloop, and four canoes, valued at £12. 10s., formed part of 
his estate. His son Jacob carried on the mill, though he resided 
for a time in Ipswich. He probably built the old house which 
still stands near the mill-stream, and arrests the attention of 
every passer by its venerable and antique appearance. He mar- 
ried Mary Haskell, Sept. 14, 1687 ; and died Feb. 1, 1716, 
aged fifty-five, leaving sons Moses, William, Aaron, and Joseph. 
Aaron settled in Attleborough ; from which place his son Zebu- 
Ion came in his minority to Gloucester, and married Mary Bray 
in 1752. Moses, son of the latter, removed to New Gloucester, 
Me. EUphalet, another son, settled in the Harbor Parish. He 
kept, in company with Frederick Gilman, a shop on Front Street ; 
and was engaged in foreign commerce. He was treasurer of the 
town at the time of his death ; but his chief public services were 
those which he rendered in the mihtia, in which he attained the 
rank of general. He died Sept. 7, 1804, aged forty-eight. 
Timothy, brother of Zebulon, also returned to the home of his 
ancestors. He came from Providence, R.I. ; to which place he 
may have removed from Attleborough. He settled in the Second 
Parish, where he married Sarah Tyler, June 23, 1768. He was 
drowned in Little River by the upsetting of a boat ; leaving an 
infant son Timothy, who was an active shipmaster over thirty 
years, and died at his residence in West Parish, June 30, 1830, 



EARLY SETTLERS. 79 

aged sixty-two. His son Timothy, also a shipmaster, died of a 
fever at Montevideo, S.A., May 3, 1825, aged twenty-nine. 
Timothy, only son of the latter, is the late representative in Con- 
gress from the sixth district of Massachusetts, — the only one 
belonging to Gloucester since the adoption of the Constitution. 
Alexander P., another son of the second Timothy, was a repre- 
sentative to the General Court in 1839. Aaron, son of the first 
Jacob, had a wife Hannah ; and died April 24, 1718, aged thirty- 
nine. He had a son Jacob, bom in 1704 (the same, probably, who 
died in the Second Parish, April, 1777, upwards of seventy years 
old) ; and a son Abel, whose son Amos settled in early life in 
New Gloucester, Me. ; was a patriot of the Revolution ; and died 
in 1829, aged eighty-eight. Persons bearing the very common 
name of Davis have been so numerous in Gloucester for a hun- 
dred and fifty years, that genealogical inquiry concerning them 
is attended with great perplexity. 

Anthony Day was bom in 1616 ; and came to Gloucester 
about 1645, probably from Ipswich, where several of the name 
are foimd at an earlier date. He did not become a permanent 
resident here till 1657, when he bought a house and land near 
Poles. His wife's name was Susanna : perhaps Susan Matchet, 
whose good name he vindicated before a Quarterly Court in 
Salem, in 1649, against the aspersions of William Vinson. He 
died April 23, 1707, aged ninety-one : his wife died Dec. 10, 
1717, at the age of ninety-four. Their children were — John, 
bom in 1657; Ezekiel, 1662; Nathaniel, 1665; Elizabeth, 
1668; Samuel, 1670; and John Joseph, 1672. Besides these, 
he had sons Thomas and Timothy. John had a house near 
Poles. He married Abigail Lead, Dec. 12, 1681 ; who died 
Feb. 9, 1726, aged sixty-three. The date of his death is not 
ascertained. He may have lived nearly to 1742; when Joseph 
Winslow was administrator of the estate of a John Day, who 
appears to have been his father-in-law. The latter had several 
children, but probably no son that lived to mature years. Ezekiel 
received a grant of land to set a house upon, between Lobster 
Cove and Hogsldn Cove, in 1694; and was one of the first settlers 
in that section of the town. He married Mary Howe, Jan. 27, 



80 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

1690; and died Feb. 18, 1725, leaving several children. One of 
these (Ezekiel) died about 1737; at which date three other sons 
(Pelatiah, Samuel, and Nathaniel) were still living. He also had 
a son Jonathan, who married Sarah Ingersol in 1730, and died 
before the birth of his second son David. The latter was a 
soldier in the French wars and in the Revolutionary War ; and 
died May 1, 1816, aged eighty-four. Nathaniel, son of 
Anthony, married Ruth Rowe, Feb. 13, 1690. He had sons 
Benjamin, Nathaniel, and David, and several daughters; and 
appears to have deceased or moved from town before 1721. 
Samuel Day married Rachel Rowe, Aug. 9, 1692. These three 
last brides were sisters, daughters of Hugh Rowe. The one last 
named gave birth to two children, and died Sept. 6, 1698; after 
which, nothing is known of the husband. Joseph Day married 
Elizabeth Gouge, Aug. 15, 1695. He had sons Jeremiah and 
William, and perhaps a Joseph, and several daughters. Thomas 
Day married Mary Langton, Dec. 30, 1673. She and her 
daughter Mary were killed by lightning, in the entry of their 
dwelling-house, July 15, 1706. He died Jan. 29, 1726, aged 
seventy-five. Two sons are recorded to him, — Thomas, born in 
1675 ; and Joseph, in 1689. The former was lost on a fishing 
voyage, at the Isle of Sables, August, 1716, aged forty-one. 
Timothy Day married Phebe Wildes, July 24, 1679 ; who died 
April 8, 1723, aged seventy. The date of his death is not 
known ; but it appears probable that he was living in 1721. He 
had his residence on the westerly side of Squam River, where 
some of his sons also settled. His children were — Timothy, 
Anthony, John, Joseph, Jonathan, Ebenezer, and Susanna, be- 
sides others who died in infancy. John is supposed to have died 
about 1747, and to have left a son John, who settled in Norwich, 
Conn. Descendants of Anthony Day have continued to the 
present time about the spot occupied by their ancestor. 

Nicholas Denning appears in Gloucester in 1697 ; in which 
year, Nov. 25, he married Sarah Paine. A Nicholas Denning 
married Elizabeth Davis, Dec. 7, 1699, and had children, — Eli- 
zabeth, bom in 1703; Nicholas, 1706; Em, 1711; Margaret, 
1714; and Hannah, 1717. The marriage of William is recorded 



EARLY SETTLERS. 



81 



in 1706 ; and that of George, in 1708. Nicolas Denning, perhaps 
the father of these, died June 9, 1725, aged eighty. George was 
lost on a fishing voyage, at the Isle of Sables, August, 1716, aged 
thirty. A William Denning was drowned at Cape Sable in 1729. 
Each had a family. The widow of George Denning was living, 
in 1738, in the west precinct ; where it is supposed the family 
originally settled. 

Richard Dike. — He is mentioned as a grandson of Walter 
Tybbot ; and probably came to Gloucester when an infant. lie 
resided on the westerly side of Anmsquam River ; where, in 1668, 
he bought a house and land of Thomas Kent. He married, 
Aug. 7, 1667, Rebecca, daughter of Samuel DoUiver ; who died 
April 28, 1726, aged eighty-six: he died May 6, 1729, aged 
eighty-nine. Their children were — Rebecca, bom in 1668; 
Samuel, 1670; Sarah, 1673 ; Mary, 1675 ; Joseph, 1678 ; Job, 
1680; Elizabeth, 1683; John, 1686; Hannah, 1688; and 
James, 1692. Job died in 1705. Nothing is known of the his- 
tory and end of any other son, except James, who married Sarah 
DoUiver. She complained to the General Court, in 1734, that 
her husband, after twenty years' cohabiting with her, had turned 
her out of doors, and was going to sea without making provision 
for her. In his old age, he married Miriam Rust. They both 
died in 1778, nearly ninety years of age. The name was not 
perpetuated in town beyond the second generation. 

Samuel Dollii'er came from Marblehead. In 1652, he 
bought a farm, at Fresh-water Cove, of Thomas Milward. He 
died July 22, 1683 ; leaving an estate, of which ten cows formed 
a part, appraised at £113. His wife was Mary, daughter of 
Robert Elwell ; by whom he had the following children : Wil- 
liam, bom in 1656 ; Samuel, 1658; Mary, 1661; Richard, 1665; 
Sarah, 1667 ; and John, 1671. William had the title of " cap- 
tain ; " probably derived jfrom maritime employment. He mamed 
Ann, daughter of Rev. John Higginson of Salem ; an infelicitous 
marriage, as appears by record of court in 1683, showing that he 
was then complained of for idleness, and neglect of family ; and 
that, having left the Colony, the effects he left behind were put 
into the hands of his father-in-law and his wife. She was under 

11 



82 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

accusation of witchcraft in 1692, but escaped the fatal conse- 
quences that followed other cases; and was living, in 1705, in a 
state of non compos mentis, and alienation from all her friends. 
Mr. Higginson was at heavy expense for her and her children. 
Richard married Agnes Bennet in 1697, and lived on the 
paternal estate at Fresh-water Cove. His will, proved in 1746, 
mentions three daughters, but no sons. John married Susanna 
Mariner, Nov. 1, 1700. She died Feb. 28, 1705 ; and he next 
married Elizabeth Wood, Feb. 11, 1706. By these two wives 
he had eight children bom here before 1725 ; soon after which he 
removed to Falmouth, Me. He had sons Samuel, John, and 
William ; all of whom appear to have married in North Yar- 
mouth. 

William Dudbridge had land recorded in 1645 ; but nothing 
further is known of him than that he was a party in an action 
against Henry Walker in 1651. 

Moses Dudy was a serv^ant to Robert Elwell. He was im- 
pressed into the service of the Colony ; and, in 1676, was in the 
garrison at Hadley. He received for his military services a lot of 
land at Kettle Cove, which he sold to John Rowe in 1680; 
after which date, nothing is known of him. 

Peter Duncan, called a merchant, bought a house and land 
in the harbor, of John Jackson, in 1662. A portion of this 
land, probably, was that point, projecting into the harbor, which 
long bore his name. His mercantile transactions were on a small 
scale, and were not attended with much success ; as he was re- 
ported in 1693 very poor, and not able to work. He died 
May 6, 1716, aged eighty-six. His wife Mary, daughter of 
Deputy-Gov. Symonds, died July 21, 1692. Their children 
were — Mary; Elizabeth, bom in 1661; Ruth, 1663; Peter, 
1665; PrisciUa, 1667; Margaret, 1670; and Daniel, 1672. 
Tfiis name was not perpetuated in town ; but there are several 
descendants of Dimcan by his daughter Mary, who married 
William Sargent, 2d. 

John Durgee, weaver, first appears here in 1695. He pro- 
bably came from Ipswich, where " John Durgy, ye son of John 
Durgy," was bom in 1689. In 1704, he had land at Che- 



EARLY SETTLERS. 83 

bacco side to set a house on ; and, a few years later, other lots. 
His wife was Elizabeth, daughter of Jeflfrey Parsons ; and his 
children, bom in Gloucester, were — Jeremiah, bom in 1695; 
Elizabeth, 1697; WilUam, 1700; Thomas, 1702; Patience, 1703; 
Stephen, 1706; Sarah, 1708; Mary, 1709; and Mary, 1711. 
The wife died Sept. 23, 1711. Two John Durgees (father and 
son, probably) were intending marriage in 1713 ; one with Mary 
Lee of Manchester, and the other with Anna Low. John and 
William removed to Hampton, Conn. ; where their descendants 
are numerous. 

OsMAN Dutch is mentioned early as a purchaser and grantee 
of land ; but no date is given. His residence was in the easterly 
part of the harbor ; near the head of which, a miry place was 
long called " Dutch's Slough." His homestead, it is supposed, 
was that first owned by Sadler, which Dutch bought in 1651. 
He was a selectman in 1650. He had a wife Grace ; by whom 
his son Hezekiah was bom here, March 29, 1647. He also had 
children, — Robert, Alice, Grace, Mary, and Hester. The latter 
was bom in 1639, and married Samuel El well. Alice married 
a Meacham of Ipswich, and Grace married a Hodgkins of the 
same town. They were both living in 1704. Mary married 
Joseph Elwell. " The humble petition of the poor distressed 
widow, Grace Dutch," to the General Court, July 21, 1685, in 
relation to her husband's estate, states that he died in December, 
1684, aged above one hundred years, and had lived with her 
more than fifty years. She died Oct. 10, 1694. His estate was 
appraised at £83. 10s. Robert Dutch had a wife Mary, and 
sons John, Robert, Samuel, and Benjamin, and a daughter 
Mary, bom here. He bought land of John Coit, jun ; which he 
probably improved in fishing and agricultural employments. In 
1656, he sold to Edward Haraden his house and thirty acres of 
land on Planter's Neck, with the stage, and all appurtenances 
belonging to it; and twelve acres upon the Meeting-house Neck, 
with a bam and orchard ; the whole comprising all his posses- 
sions in Gloucester. He afterwards lived in Ipswich, and was 
a soldier in the Indian war of 1675. In one of the skirmishes 
with the savages, he was wounded, beaten, stripped, and left for 



84 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

dead ; but he recovered, and was soon joined and relieved by his 
friends. He died before 1691. 

William Ellery. — The date of his first appearance in 
Gloucester is that of his marriage, Oct. 8, 1663, to Hannah, 
daughter of William Vinson. He had his house, without doubt, 
near that of his father-in-law, at Vinson's, or, as it was some- 
times called, Ellery's Cove. His widow was living there in 
1708. William Ellery was admitted a freeman in 1672 ; was a 
selectman a few years ; and a representative in May, 1689. Of 
his business employments, nothing more is known than that he 
possessed a sloop. He died Dec. 9, 1696. He was twice mar- 
ried. His first wife died Dec. 24, 1675 ; and he next married 
Mary Coit, June 13, 1676. His children were — William, bom 
in 1664; Hannah, 1667; Benjamin, 1669; Susanna, 1673; Mary, 
1677; Abigail, 1679; John, 1681; Nathaniel, 1683; Jemima, 
1686 ; Elinor, 1688 ; WiUiam, 1694 ; and Dependance, 1696. 
Of his estate, no inventory is preserved. The settlement of it 
shows a charge for " Rum, wine, sider, and shug' and spis, for 
ftmnerall, £2. 5s ; " and for eight pairs of gloves, 168. Benja- 
min Ellery settled in Rhode Island ; first at Bristol ; whence he 
removed to Newport, where, it is said, he served as deputy in 
the Colonial Assembly, judge of the County Court, and assistant 
of the Colony. He had a letter of marque from George of Den- 
mark, consort of Queen Anne, in 1702 ; but nothing is known 
of his service at sea. A fine, large, old portrait, representing 
him in ftiU dress, is in possession of a descendant in Rhode 
Island. He married, July 30, 1696, Abigail, daughter of John 
Wilkins, a native of Wiltshire, England, who emigrated to Bos- 
ton, where this daughter was bom in 1676. She died in 
Newport, Dec. 15, 1742 : her husband died at the same place, 
July 26, 1746. By his will he disposed of a large estate; 
giving, with other property, all his " lands and salt-marsh lying 
in Gloucester, in the county of Essex, in the province of Massa- 
chusetts Bay," to his son William. This was his oldest son, and 
the third of his nine children. He was bom in Bristol, Oct. 31, 
1701 ; and graduated at Harvard College in 1722. He be- 
came a wealthy merchant of Newport, and a judge, assistant. 



EARLY SETTLERS. 85 

and deputy-governor of the Colony of Rhode Island. He mar- 
ried, Jan. 3, 1722, Elizabeth Almy ; and died in Ne\^'port, 
March 15, 1764, leaving three sons and one daughter. The 
second of these sons (William), bom in Newport, Dec. 22, 1727, 
graduated at Harvard College in 1747 ; and married Ann Re- 
mington of Cambridge, Oct. 11, 1750. He settled in Newport, 
and engaged probably in mercantile business. In 1759, he was 
appointed naval officer of the Colony of Rhode Island ; and, in 
1770, commenced the practice of law, in which he continued 
till his election to the Continental Congress in 1776. Of this 
body he was an active and useful member, and his name is 
familiar to all as one of the signers of the Declaration of Inde- 
pendence. On the organization of the present government of 
the United States, he was appointed collector of the customs for 
the district of Newport ; and retained that office till his death, 
Feb. 15, 1820. His son by a second marriage (George Wanton 
EUery) has been for several years deputy-collector of Ne\^'port. 
Lucy, one of his daughters by his first wife, married William 
Channing, and became the mother of the distinguished theologian 
and divine, William Ellery Channing, D.D. In this line of de- 
scent, it will be seen that William Ellery, the signer of the 
Declaration, was a great-grandson of our original settler, William 
Ellery ; and that Dr. Channing was a descendant of the fifth 
generation from the same settler. John, oldest son of William 
Ellery of Gloucester by his second wife, also went to Rhode 
Island ; but nothing more is known of him than that he was living 
in Newport in March, 1708, and then styled himself " mariner." 
Nathaniel, the next son, is called in a deed " shipwright ; " but 
he is supposed to have been engaged mostly in the pursuits of 
trade and commerce. In 1711, in company with others, he had 
a grant of " flatty land," on the westwardly side of Philemon 
Warner's wharf, to build a wharf on for himself. Nearly oppo- 
site this spot, at the foot of Hancock Street, he is said to have 
built the original part of a house which stood there till about 
1 840. He had the title of " captain ; " which was probably derived 
from military service, as he had previously borne that of " lieu- 
tenant." He was twice married : first, Jan. 1, 1711, to Abigail 



86 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

Norwood, who survived the union just three months ; . and next, 
Feb. 16, 1721, to Ann Sargent, who died Oct. 8, 1782, aged 
ninety. A fine portrait of this lady, in her advanced years, by 
Copley, is in possession of a descendant. Mr. Ellery deceased 
May 30, 1761. His daughter Mary married Rev. John Rogers. 
His sons were Nathaniel, William, Daniel, and Epes. The first, 
born in 1726, became a merchant; and was extensively engj^ed 
in trade when the Revolutionary War commenced, which brought 
ruin upon the commerce of the town. The date of his death is 
hot known. He left several sons and daughters ; of whom John 
Stevens, the oldest, married in Gloucester, and had a son of the 
same name, who acquired a large fortune in commercial pursuits. 
He left this town when a young man, and spent some time in 
France ; but the latter years of his life were passed in Boston 
and its vicinity. He died in New York, Nov. 18, 1845, leav- 
ing a daughter, the fruit of a marriage he contracted when far 
advanced in years. The second son of the last-named Nathaniel 
bore his father's name. He was born in 1753, and graduated at 
Harvard College in 1772. He was intended by his father for the 
mercantile profession ; but the war put an end to all business in 
that line, and this young man embarked in privateering. While 
engaged in this employment, he was taken by the enemy ; and did 
not again reach his home till he had passed through much hard- 
ship and sufiering. Being a good penman and accoimtant, he 
next obtained employment in writing ; and by that and other 
labor gained his livelihood. He died March 1, 1833, aged 
eighty ; leaving an only son William, who resides in Chelsea. 
Epes, brother of the last Nathaniel, was a shipmaster ; and, for 
one year (1837), a representative. He died Feb. 20, 1846, aged 
seventy-six. William, son of the first Nathaniel, bom in 1730, 
is supposed to have been in early life a sea-captain ; but he 
afterwards became a merchant. He built and occupied a spa- 
cious house, entertained company, and lived several years in 
comfortable circumstances ; but his last days were spent in po- 
verty : and, as if still further to mark the instabiUty of fortune, 
his aged widow closed her life at the alms-house, Sept. IS, 1805. 
William Ellery, son of the first Wilham, had, by two wives. 



EARLY SETTLERS. 87 

a numerous family. He bought a house in the Town Parish, built 
and formerly occupied by Eev. John WTiite, and still standing 
to attest the distant date of its erection. He probably went to 
sea some years, as he did not settle in this abode till middle life, 
and then bore the title of " captain." He kept a tavern, and 
engaged in other business. He died Sept. 20, 1771, at the age of 
seventy-seven. His daughter Lucy married Rev. Samuel Fox- 
croft, first minister of New Gloucester, Me. His son Capt. 
Joseph Ellery, a yoimg man of twenty-nine years, of excellent 
character, was drowned by filling overboard from the bowsprit 
of a schooner in which he had taken passage from Boston for 
home, Oct. 11, 1769. Benjamin, another son, occupied the 
paternal residence ; and died Feb. 15, 1825, in his eighty-first 
year. Dependance Ellery married Sarah Warner, Jan. 4, 
1722, and had eleven children, concerning whom little is known. 
He died before 1757. The posterity of Capt. Epes Ellery, and 
of Benjamin, the last named, comprise all the descendants of 
the ancient* settler, bearing the name of Ellery, now living 
in town.* 

Robert Elwell. — This name occurs in our Colony Records, 
in 1635, in connection, as a witness, with the outrageous conduct 
of one Mr. Thomas Wannerton at the eastward. He was ad- 
mitted a freeman in 1640, and was a member of the Salem 
Church in 1643. He bought land here in April, 1642 ; and by 
further purchases, and grants from the town, became the possessor 
of several lots ; among which was a neck of about thirty acres, 
lying on the south-east side of the harbor, called the " Stage 



* Daniel EUeiy, son of Nathaniel, born in 1782, intended marriaf^e with Mary 
Matchett, Dec. 20, 1764; and had a daughter Mary, baptized Jan. 11, 1766. This 
infant, I suppose, was the subject of the following notice in a Boston newspaper of 
Feb. 2, 1766 : ** Gloucester, Jan. 6, 1766. — This day, a child was bom that has ten grand- 
fathers and grandmothers, all living; and this child makes the fifth generation; and 
the firstborn of every one of the generations was a daughter; and every one of the 
children's name was Mary; and they are all of them now living." These Marys must 
have been, first, Mary the infant, whose mother was Mary (Matchett) Ellery, bom in 
1784, the second; whose mother was Mary (Ingersol) Matchett, bora in 1718, the third; 
whose mother was Mary (Stevens) Ingersol, bom in 1694, the fourth; whose mother 
was Mary (Ellery) Stevens, born in 1677, the fifth. The mother of the last was also a 
Mary, the second-born of John Goit and Mary Stevens : she was bom in 1666. 



88 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

Neck." He first resided in the harbor ; but it is supposed he 
finally settled at Eastern Point, where most of his land was 
situated. He was a selectman in 1649, and several times after- 
wards; and a commissioner for ending small causes, in 1651* 
The title " goodman," often affixed to his name, may be defined, 
it is likely, in its application to him, in its best sense. He 
died May 18, 1683, leaving an estate of £200 : his wife Jane 
died March 31, 1675. Another wife (Alice Leach), to whom he 
was married May 29, 1676, died April 10, 1691. He had two 
daughters, who died young ; and the following sons, — Samuel, 
John, Isaac, Josiah, Joseph, and Thomas, — all of whom married 
and had families, from which the descendants of this ancient 
settler have multiplied to a numerous posterity. Samuel mar- 
ried Hester, daughter of Osman Dutch, June 7, 1658 ; and died 
Nov. 24, 1696 : she died Sept. 6, 1721, aged eighty-two. In 
consequence of sickness and poverty, she, like her mother, was a 
** poor distressed widow " many years. They had four sons — 
Samuel, Jacob, Robert, and Ebenezer — and four daughters. 
Jacob married Abigail Vinson, July 5, 1686, and had ten chil- 
dren, of which four were sons; two of whom (Vinson and 
William) are supposed to have married. The father was killed 
by the French and Indians at Cape Sable, May 2, 1710, aged 
forty-eight. Robert married Sarah Gardiner, Oct. 12, 1687 ; 
by whom he had five sons and five daughters. He removed to 
Kittery, Me. ; where he was living in 1730. His oldest son 
Robert died at Ipswich, "under the doctor's hands," Feb. 2, 
1715. Two of his sons (Joseph and John) settled in Biddeford, 
Me. ; and one (Samuel) settled in Gloucester, and married, in 
1718, Rebecca Brown, by whom he had several children. One 
of these (Capt. Robert El well) died in March, 1805, aged eighty- 
four. Ebenezer Elwell married Jane Elwell, Jan. 2, 1695, and 
had seven children. He was some time held in captivity by the 
French, and died before 1723. John, son of Robert Elwell, 
sen., had a wife Jane, with whom he appears in town in 1678 ; 
having probably lived previously in Salem. He resided at East- 
em Point, where he had a house. He died in captivity in 1710. 
Four daughters were bom to him here ; but he also had a son 



EARLY SETTLERS. 89 

John, who married Mary, daughter of Abraham Robinson, and 
who, being " ancient, diseased, and blind/' was helped by the 
town in 1732, and died before 1738. Isaac was a shoemaker, 
and lived at the Harbor. He married, first, Mehetabel, daughter 
of Thomas Millet, who died in September, 1699 ; and he next 
married, Dec. 2, 1702, Widow Mary Rowe, who died March 3, 
1723, aged sixty-five : he died Dec. 14, 1715. Of the nine chil- 
dren recorded to him, five were sons ; only two of whom (Elea- 
zer and Joshua) appear to have married in town. The latter had 
a son Isaac, who married Susanna Stan wood in 1738, and had 
eleven children ; one of whom was Isaac, who became a sea- 
captain,* afterwards a merchant, and was for several years the 
postmaster of the town. He died Jan. 22, 1832, aged eighty- 
nine. Isaac El well, sen., also had a son Jonathan, bom in 1670 ; 
and his son Eleazer had a Jonathan, bom in 1698. Neither of 
these Jonathans is known to have settled in town : perhaps 
it was the latter, who, with his wife Lydia, lived in Beverly in 
1727, and soon afterwards in Gloucester. He died about 1752. 
Another Jonathan, with a wife Abigail, appears here in 1727. 
Connected nearly with one of the preceding, probably, was Jona- 
than, who married Abigail Stevens, and lived many years on 
Eastern Point ; where he died March 10, 1808, aged ninety-four. 
He had a son Jonathan, who settled in Maine. Josiah Elwell 
married Mary Collins, June 15, 1666 ; and is supposed to have 
had his residence near the shore of the Harbor Cove. He went 
to sea, and died abroad about 1679; leaving probably one 
daughter, and four sons, — Elias, Nehemiah, William, and Josiah. 
Joseph Elwell married Mary, daughter of Osman Dutch, 
June 22, 1669 ; and had sons, — Hezekiah, Joseph, Samuel, and 
Benjamin. Thomas married Sarah Basset, Nov. 23, 1675 ; by 

* In the winter of 1779, Capt. Elwell, in oommand of a schooner coming from the 
West Indies, was blown off the coast, and had his vesAel so disabled that she was driyen 
about upon the ocean for more than six months ; during which the crew had no meat 
or bread. They subsisted on parched cocoa, and West-India ram *' burned down;'* 
though they sometimes caught a fish, which they ate raw. They were finally taken 
off by a passing Tessel; and, upon arriral on the co\»t near New York, were fui> 
nished with a boat, in which they came home. Though they endured great suffering, 
only one man died. Besides this man and the captain, there were on board John 
Woodward, Jacob Lnrrey, Nathaniel Alien, and a Witham. 

12 



90 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

whom he had three sons — Thomas, William, and Elisha — and 
two daughters. Both of these last two brothers are supposed to 
have removed from town before 1688 ; as their names do not 
appear among the grantees of lots of land which were that year 
given to all the tax-paying inhabitants. William Elwell, proba- 
bly a grandson of the first Isaac, was the father of Paine, who 
was bom in 1744, and went in early life to North Yarmouth, 
Me. ; where he purchased wild land to a considerable extent, 
and, by his enterprise in business, accumulated considerable 
property. He returned to Gloucester about 1802, and for seve- 
ral years carried on the fishing business and foreign trade with 
success. Having secured a competent fortune, he purchased a 
farm in Bradford, and retired thither, but failed to obtain per- 
manent enjoyment and repose. Injudicious purchases of real 
estate to a large extent, added to other causes of embarrassment, 
compelled him to relinquish his property, and return to his native 
place ; where he died March 29, 1820, aged seventy-six. His 
son Paine was connected with his father in business a few years ; 
but finally established himself in Waldoborough, Me., where he 
died. Another son (Robert) commenced a mercantile life as a 
partner with his father ; and, after dissolving the connection with 
him, pursued it alone a few years, till bankruptcy finally closed 
his commercial career. He went from Gloucester to New York, 
where he died about 1824. He was colonel of the regiment of 
militia here, and representative three years. 

Peter Emons and wife Martha first appear in town in 1700, 
when their daughter Mercy was bom. They also had a son 
Joseph, bom in 1708. A Cooly Emons had forty rods of 
ground, lying near the head of the harbor, in 1707 ; and, the 
next year, a grant of timber for a house. A Richard Emons 
was lost on a fishing voyage, coming from Cape Sables, in 1716. 
A Daniel Emons married Abigail Davis in 1719, by whom he 
had ten children. Only two of his sons (Daniel and Peter) lived 
to maturity. Both married in town. One of them may have 
been the father of Daniel (remarkable for his small stature), who 
died, in old age, about thirty years ago ; and was probably the 
last Emons in town of this family. 



EARLY SETTLERS. 91 

William Evans had land granted to him in 1647, and was 
a selectman in 1648. Mention is made of his house, between 
Bourne and Tybbot; and of his land, running towards the 
Meeting-house. In 1653, he purchased land near the " New 
Meadows, called Topsfield," to the amount of £200, and re- 
moved thither. 

Sylvester Eveleth — or E\'eleigh, as he himself wrote it, 
and which agrees with the present English orthography — may 
have come from the county of Devonshire, England, where the 
name existed about the time of the settlement of New England. 
The name is said to have been anciently spelled Yeverleigh, 
and to have belonged to an estate, which, at an early period, was 
in the family of Clifford before it was adopted as a family cog- 
nomen. This settler had recorded to him in Gloucester, under 
date of December, 1648, "twelve acres of swamp and upland 
on the north side of the Millpond." Immediately following this 
record, mention is made of " his house, on the Meeting-house 
Hill ; having Capt. Perkins's lot on one side, and the highway on 
the other." He was a selectman in 1648, a freeman in 1652, and 
a representative in 1673. He did not live on good terms with 
the church in his early residence here ; and, for defaming it, was 
ordered to make a public acknowledgment, or pay a fine. In 
1666, he was licensed to keep an ordinary, or public-house 
of entertainment; and, at the same time, was excused from 
common training by paying two bushels of Indian com yearly. 
He was then probably living on the west side of Annisquam 
River, where he had become possessor of large tracts of land ; on 
one of which (in possession of a descendant) still stands an old 
house built by his son or grandson a century and a haK ago, 
and which is a good specimen of the best dwellings of the time 
of its erection. Proof of its early construction is to be found in 
the projecting upper story, the large oak timbers composing its 
frame, its rude workmanship, and the venerable appearance it 
presents throughout. His wife Susanna died Sept. 14, 1659 ; 
and he married Bridget Farkman, Sept. 6, 1662. He died Jan. 
4, 1689. His daughter Mary married Thomas Millet. He had 
two sons, — Joseph and Isaac. The former married Mary, 



92 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

daughter of Edward Bragg of Ipswich, in 1667. He removed 
to Chebacco Parish, Ipswich, now Essex, about 1674 ; and died 
Dec. 1, 1745, at the extraordinary age of one hundred and five 
years. He was a man of rigid puritanical piety. A venera- 
ble descendant, not long since deceased, remembered to have 
often heard his mother, who was bom in 1730, describe the life, 
person, and character of Joseph Eveleth, who was her great- 
grandfather, and with whom she was fifteen years contemporary. 
Among her interesting recollections of her aged ancestor was 
that of a visit made to him, just before his death, by the celebrated 
Rev. George Whitefield. Her mind always retained a vivid im- 
pression of the solemnity of the scene that was presented, when 
Mr. Whitefield knelt upon the floor, and received, from the lips 
that could relate a Christian experience of a hundred years, a 
truly patriarchal blessing. He was one of the jurors who signed 
a humble and solemn declaration of regret for the part they had 
borne in the trials for witchcraft at Salem in 1692. Isaac, 
the other son of Sylvester Eveleth, married Abigail Coit, Nov. 
13, 1677 ; and died Nov. 2, 1685. From a portion of the effects 
composing his small estate (a third of a sloop, and seafaring 
books and instruments), it is supposed he led a maritime life. 
He left sons Isaac and Job. The latter was a ship-carpenter ; 
and, in 1717, had his residence at the Harbor. He had a son 
Isaac, who married, and settled somewhere within the limits of 
the First Parish, but does not appear after 1754. Joseph Eve- 
leth had several children bom in Gloucester and Ipswich. The 
oldest (John), bom Feb. 18, 1670, graduated at Harvard College 
in 1689 ; and, in the same year, entered upon the office of 
preacher at Manchester, where he remained till 1695 ; after 
which he appears for a short time at Enfield; and next in Stow, 
where he was instaUed in 1699. He remained in Stow till 
1719 ; when he removed to Maine, and, for a few years, divided 
his services between Anmdel (now Kennebunkport) and Bidde- 
ford, till one of the towns determined to have a "whole 
minister." After three years more, he, in 1726, left the mini- 
stry. The people of Anmdel were im willing to part with him ; 
as he was not only their minister and schoolmaster, but a good 



EARLY SETTLERS. 93 

blacksmith and farmer, and the best fisherman in town. His 
wife was Mary Bowman of Cambridge, by whom he had several 
children, some of whose descendants are living in Stow and 
in Maine.^ Isaac, son of Joseph, removed into town soon after 
the death of his grandfather, and took up his abode on the fa- 
mily estate, near Little River. He died March 23, 1755, in his 
seventy-ninth year. By his wife Sarah he had ten children. 
He left an only son (Isaac), who survived his father about four 
years. This son married Elizabeth Parsons in 1729 ; who died 
Feb. 12, 1799, aged about ninety. A numerous ofispring was 
the fruit of this marriage. Nathaniel settled in New Gloucester, 
Me. Joseph served in the Revolutionary War ; and died June 
80, 1806, aged sixty-five. Isaac became a major in the militia ; 
and died June 12, 1805, aged fifty-one. Edward, son of Joseph 
of Ipswich, was a shopkeeper in that town. He served in the 
expedition to Cape Breton in 1745, and remained there on duty 
some time after the reduction of the fortress. He died Nov. 5, 
1769. This name has long been extinct in Gloucester ; but it 
is borne by families in the neighboring town of Essex, and 
is also found in many other places. All who bear it are un- 
doubtedly descended from the ancient settler in Gloucester, 
Sylvester Eveleth. 

Hbney Felch was here in 1642, and was the owner of ** six 
acres of hoed ground," of which there is no grant in the records. 
From this &ct, it may be inferred that he was a settler before the 
incorporation of the town. He also had a house and land, which 
he sold to James Avery. He may have removed to Reading, 
where a person of the same name resided in 1647 ; and next, 
perhaps, to Boston, where the name is found in 1657. He had 
a daughter, who married Samuel Haieward. 

John Fitch bought a house and land of George Blake in 



* **The following u the inscription upon the tombstone of the minister of the 
Episcopal Church in Kittery, near Eliot ; which church, it is supposed, became extinct 
at the tioM of his death. The grave is in a field belonging to Mr. Femald. 

** Here Lyes Buried the Body of the Bev^ Mr. John Eveleth, who departed this Life, 
Aog< l"** Anno: Dom: 1784, aged 66 years.'* — N. E, BUL and Genealogical Register^ 
vol. IT. p. 88. 



94 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

1667 ; and, in the same year, married Mary Coit, widow. He 
was in England in 1672, but returned to America, and was in 
the service of the Colony as a soldier ; for which he received a 
lot of land at Kettle Cove. He died May 9, 1715, aged about 
seventy-nine : his wife died Nov. 7, 1692. 

James Fogg is mentioned as an owner of land in 1651 ; but he 
was probably a resident of Gloucester, February, 1649, when he 
was presented at a court in Salem for disturbing the church here 
in time of their meeting. In 1651, he was again a defendant in 
court in an action of battery; and this is the last date of his 
appearance in Gloucester. 

Bartholomew Foster bought a house and land situated near 
the westerly end of Front Street, of Bridget Vamey, in 1669. 
He married Hannah, daughter of Thomas Very, Nov. 9, 1668 ; 
and died Dec. 5, 1689. His widow married Thomas Sawyer. 
He is one of the few early residents who are mentioned as pos- 
sessors of property employed in maritime pursuits. Among the 
effects composing his estate at his death was a sloop, valued at 
£30. His children were — Bartholomew, bom in 1670 ; John, 
1673; Thomas, 1676; Samuel, 1678; Edward, 1681 ; An- 
diew, 1682 ; Ephraim, 1683 ; Edward, 1685 ; Francis, 1688 ; 
and Benjamin, 1689. Of these ten sons, eight are mentioned 
in their father's will. Bartholomew was living in Hartford in 
1694. Samuel and Benjamin married and had large ^imilies 
in Gloucester ; but it does not appear that the name is now borne 
here by any of their descendants. 

Mr. Fryer was probably Thomes Fryer, who was of Salem 
in 1639. He was one of the persons appointed to order pru- 
dential affairs in 1642, but does not appear after that date. He 
may have been the husband of Elizabeth Fryer, whose lots of 
land on the neck of house-lots are named in Hugh Calkin's 
grant. In 1668, the town agreed with Thomas Judkin to take 
care of her, during the remainder of her life, for ten bushels of 
Indian corn yearly, and the use of her house, land, and cow. 
She died Sept. 9, 1685. 

John Gallope is mentioned only as the seller of upland in 
the Harbor, and of marsh at Little Good Harbor, before 1650. 



EARLY SETTLERS. 95 

A John Gallop was an early inhabitant of Boston. He was a 
fisherman and pilot ; and was some time wind-bound in Cape- 
Ann Harbor, in 1632, in a voyage to Piscataqua for the Colony 
Government, to gain information of some Englishmen at the 
eastward who had turned pirates. 

James Gardner came to Gloucester about 1661, when Wil- 
liam Vinson gave him land. In 1668, he exchanged real estate 
with Hugh Rowe, and perhaps settled in the remotest easterly 
section of the town which was at that time inhabited. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth, daughter of William Vinson, June 16, 1661 ; 
and had the following children : George, bom in 1664 ; Eliza- 
beth, 1666; Sarah, 1669; Joseph, 1672; Rebecca, 1675; John, 
1678 ; and James, 1681. He died Dec. 8, 1684 : his wife 
died March 4, 1684. The three sons last named married in 
town. Joseph had his home on Eastern Point, and was living 
in 1749. 

George Giddings is said by descendants to have come from 
Ipswich about 1690. May 19 of that year, he married Mary, 
daughter of Robert Skamp ; who died April 9, 1706. He had a 
second wife (Elizabeth), who died May 10, 1727, aged fifty-six. 
His children were — Lydia, bom in 1692 ; Mary, 1695 ; John, 
1698 ; Robert, 1700 ; Zebulon, 1708 ; Mercy and Deliverance, 
1708 ; Sarah, 1710 ; George, 1714 ; and Joseph, 1717. Joshua 
and Thomas Giddings were here soon aflier 1700, and had fami- 
lies. The former was lost at sea, October, 1716, aged thirty-eight. 
Land was granted to a Lawrence Giddings in 1717. Three of the 
sons of George Giddings (Robert, George, and Joseph) married 
here, and had children ; but the families of the last two did not 
probably remain in town. Zebulon seems to have gone to New 
Hampshire. Andrew Giddings, son of Robert, was a ship- 
master ; and was lost at sea during the Revolutionary War, leav- 
ing, with other children, a son (Andrew Robinson), who at his 
father's death left; Dimmier Academy, of which he had been 
several years a member, and embarked on a seafaring life; which 
he abandoned afl»r a few years' trial, and removed to Danville, 
Me., where he lived to an advanced age. His son, Rev. George 
P. Giddings, is an Episcopal clergyman in Illinois. 



96 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

Charles Glover was a ship-carpenter ; and was made free- 
man in 1641, then living in Salem, where he was admitted to 
the church in 1640. He was a selectman here in 1644. Under 
the year 1645, land on Planter's Neck is recorded to him ; but 
he also had land in the settled portion of the town. He had a 
wife Elizabeth, who died March 6, 1647 ; and another wife 
who, in 1649, at a court in Salem, was found guilty of adult- 
ery. She did not long survive her disgrace ; for he married 
again, Feb. 12, 1650, Widow Esther Sanders, and soon after 
disappears. By his wife Elizabeth he had a son Samuel, bom 
June 20, 1644. 

Stephen Glover was bom in 1625, and first appears in 
Gloucester in 1649. August, 1651, he had a grant of an eighth 
of an acre of ground before the door of his house, in the Harbor ; 
where he probably resided till his death. He was a selectman 
in 1659, 1667, and perhaps in the intervening years, for which 
the list is wanting ; and from 1669 to his death, which took 
place Dec. 10, 1686. He married, Oct. 7, 1663, Buth, daughter 
of William Stevens ; who died Aug. 16, 1664, having given birth 
to a son on the 2d, who died on the 5th of the same month. 

Richard Gooding (or Goodwin) is called son of Richard 
Window. In 1662, he had a grant of six acres of land between 
Stony Cove and Long Cove. He married Hannah, daughter of 
Thomas Jones of Manchester, Nov. 20, 1666 ; and had the 
following children : Hannah, bom in 1667 ; Richard, 1670 ; 
Thomas, 1672; Mary, 1674; Joseph, 1677; Elmor, 1680; 
Daniel, 1685 ; and Sarah, 1687. He died March 5, 1709 : his 
wife died Feb. 4, 1725, aged eighty ; having received assistance 
from the town for several years. Daniel died in April, 1717. 
The family was not perpetuated here beyond the second gene- 
ration. 

John Hadlby had half an acre of upland ground to set a 
house upon, on the left hand of the way to Little Good Harbor, 
in 1683. Nothing further is known of him than that he died 
Oct. 22, 1711. His nephew (John Hadley, jun.) had land near 
his uncle's in 1709. He married Hannah Low, Nov. 8, 1707; 
and had several children. He was probably living in 1765. It 



EARLY SETTLERS. 97 

appears by die records that three of his sons were married in 
town : Daniel, to Susanna Milberry in 1736 ; John, to Sarah 
"Witham in 1737 ; and Benjamin, at the age of eighteen, to 
Sarah Elwell in 1744. Daniel Hadley died June 10, 1737, on 
his passage from Canso. Several children are recorded to John 
Hadley, and one to Benjamin. 

Nathaniel Hadlock had land near Ipswich line, where he 
probably lived. He married Remember Jones, May 1, 1678 ; 
who died March 2, 1718, aged sixty-four. His children recorded 
are — Nathaniel, bom in 1677; Deborah, 1679; John, 1682 ; 
James, 1684 ; Samuel, 1687 ; Mary, 1696 ; and Benjamin, 
1700. Besides these, he had Joseph and William. The latter 
married Penelope Firbee in 1717 ; had a daughter, and a son 
Nathaniel ; and was drowned near the Ferry, Sept. 14, 1730. 
Benjamin had a wife Dorcas, by whom he had eight children ; 
of which were sons Benjamin and John. 

Sahuel Haieward is not mentioned as an owner of land, nor 
in any other connection than that of husband and father. His 
marriage with a daughter of Henry Felch, March 2, 1641, is 
the earliest in the records. His children were — Samuel, bom 
in 1642; and John, 1643. 

John Hammons, in June, 1663, had land lying between Tho- 
mas Baggs's and the run going to Goose Cove. He married Mary, 
daughter of Morris Somes, Oct. 17, 1660 ; and had the follow- 
ing children, : Elizabeth, bom in 1661 ; John, 1664 ; Mary, 
1666 ; Tunothy, 1668 ; and William, 1674. He died before 
1686 ; and a Mary Hammons (probably his wife) died May 6, 
1689. John Hammons, the only son of the foregoing of whom 
any thing is known, had land in 1701, on Eastern Point, to 
erect a house on. He was twice married : first to Ruth Stan- 
wood, July 7, 1686, who died April 17, 1689; and next to 
Agnes Penny, Jan. 20, 1691. He died at Casco Bay, January, 
1718, aged fifty-four; leaving five daughters, and a son John, 
who died Feb. 3, 1725, aged twenty-five. 

John Hardin, said to be of Weymouth, bought four acres 
of upland of William Sargent in 1652 ; in which year, April 22, 

18 



98 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

he married Widow Tybbot. He was a selectman in 1664. In 
1665, he recorded land to John Davis; and his name does not 
again appear in town. 

Edward Haraden came from Ipswich. In 1657, he bought 
of Robert Dutch a house, bam, and all his land, in Gloucester. 
Part of this property was on Planter's Neck, where Dutch had 
a fishing-stage. Haraden added to his possessions at this place 
by subsequent purchases, and appears to have been the first 
permanent settler in that section of the town. The place of his 
residence and business was undoubtedly Squam Point. He died 
May 17, 1683, leaving an estate of £285 : his '^dfe Sarah died 
March 4, 1691. His children, bom in Gloucester, were Andrew, 
bom in 1658 ; Ann, 1661 ; John, 1663 ; Thomas, 1665 ; Joseph, 
1668; Sarah, 1670; and Benjamin, 1671. Edward, son of 
the preceding, bom probably before his father removed to 
Gloucester, had land at Plum Cove in 1707 ; near which he was 
employed by the town, in 1704, to build a watch-house. He 
was one of the grantees of soldiers' lots at Kettle Cove in 1679 ; 
and his name often appears in later years with the military title 
of " sergeant." He married Sarah Haskell, Feb. 5, 1684 ; and 
Hannah York in 1693. The births of eighteen children, by 
these two marriages, are recorded. John Haraden, son of 
Edward, first named, engaged in maritime employments ; and, in 
1709, was in the service of the Colony as master of one of the 
sloops fitted out to attempt to take a vessel, supposed to be a 
French privateer, forced by a storm to anchor ofi" Nahant. In 
1711, he was pilot of the ship " Montague," in the disastrous ex- 
pedition against Canada ; and, for his expense and wages, received 
an allowance from the General Court in 1714. He died Nov. 
11, 1724; having survived his wife Sarah Giddings, by whom 
he had several children, about two years. His son Andrew died 
Dec. 12, 1724. Joseph Haraden was twice married ; but no 
children are recorded to him. He died May 19, 1716. Benja- 
min Haraden married Deborah Norwood, Jan. 15, 1696 ; and 
died Feb. 3, 1725. Among his children were sons Caleb, Joseph, 
and Ebenezer, besides others who died in early life. Jonathan 
Haraden, without doubt a descendant of Edward, was bom in 



EARLY SETTLERS. 99 

Gloucester in 1744 ; removed early in life to Salem, and went to 
sea. In the Revolutionary War, he was lieutenant of the " Ty- 
rannicide," and afterwards commander of a privateer. He was 
engaged with the enemy in several actions, and evinced great 
bravery on all occasions. He died in November, 1803. 

George Harvey had a son Benjamin bom here in 1697. 
He came from Salem ; where, by his wife Sarah, his three chil- 
ren (Sarah, Nehemiah, and Rose) were bom. In 1707, he and 
his son George had a grant of land on the way leading from the 
Meeting-house to the back side of the Cape. His residence was 
probably near the Meeting-house, in the vicinity of that of Anna 
Judkin, the mother of his wife. He died Dec. 23, 1723, aged 
seventy. His son George married Sarah Butman in 1713, who 
died Nov. 29, 1718, aged twenty-five; and Patience York in 
1720. He died Nov. 24, 1724, aged thirty-seven ; leaving a 
son Nehemiah, who married Abigail Hodgkins in 1741, and had 
sons Nehemiah and Benjamin. 

William Haskell was bom about 1620, and was connected 
with the femily of Roger Haskell of Salem. He first appears 
in Gloucester in 1643; and, in 1645, mention is made of his land 
at Planter's Neck. He probably resided here a few years fol- 
lowing the last date ; but the hiatus in the recorded births of 
his children affords ground for conjecture that he was not a per- 
manent resident from that time. H he left town for a season, 
he had returned in 1656, and settled on the westerly side of 
Annisquam river, where he had several pieces of land ; among 
which was a lot of ten acres, with a house and bam, bought of 
Richard Window, situated on the west side of Walker's Creek. 
His sons took up land on each side of this creek, which is still 
occupied by descendants. The public offices to which he was 
elected afford sufficient proof that he was a prominent and use- 
ful citizen. He was a selectman several years, and represen- 
tative six times in the course of twenty years. In 1681, he was 
appointed, by the General Court, lieutenant to the trainband, of 
which he was afterwards captain. He was also one of the first 
two, of whom we have any knowledge, that were deacons of the 
First Church. He married Mary, daughter of Walter Tybbot, 



X 



100 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

Nov. 16, 1643. She died Aug. 16, 1693 ; and he four days 
after (on the 20th), leaving an estate of £548. 128. His chil- 
dren, whose births are recorded, were — William, bom in 1644 ; 
Joseph, 1646 ; Mark, 1658 ; Sarah, 1660 ; and Elenor, 1668- 
Besides these, he had sons Benjamin and John, and daughters 
Ruth and Mary. Ruth married a Grover, and Mary married a 
Dodge. Elenor married Jacob Grigs. Sarah married Edward 
Haraden. William married Mary Walker, July 3, 1667 ; who 
died Nov. 12, 1715, aged sixty-six. She was the daughter 
of William Brown ; but took the name of her step-father, 
Henry Walker. He died June 5, 1708, aged sixty-four. Twelve 
children are recorded to him ; of whom four were sons that sur- 
vived their father, — William, Joseph, Henry, and Jacob. Wil- 
liam, bom 1670, settled on or near the ancestral property ; which 
being favorably situated for maritime pursuits, he engaged in 
both fishing and agricultural employments. He was usually 
called Ensign Haskell, from an office he held in the military 
company. He also held the office of deacon in the Second Church 
a few years before his death. He married Abigail Davis in 
1692 ; and died Jan. 17, 1731, leaving an estate of £8,565, 
of which vessels, warehouse, salt, and a negro man, formed a part. 
He also left sons William, Mark, and James ; the latter of whom, 
with his wife, received dismission from the Second Church to the 
church in Attleborough in 1756. Joseph, the next son of Wil- 
liam Haskell, jun., bom in 1673, married Rachel Elwell in 1696, 
and died April 1 1, 1718. He had several children ; among whom 
were Joseph, who removed to Harvard in 1735, and lived to be 
upwards of ninety ; and Abraham, who removed to Stratham in 
1732. Henry, the next son, bom in 1678, had a wife Ruth, 
and removed with his family to Harvard in 1735. Jacob, the 
youngest of these four brothers, bom in 1691, married Abigail 
Marcy in 1716. He became a deacon in the Second Church, and 
died Aug. 6, 1756 : his wife died April 10, 1778, aged eighty- 
three. Six sons survived him, — Jacob, Abner, Alexander, Israel 
and Amos (twins), and Zebulon ; all of whom, except Abner, 
married in town. Alexander and his wife were dismissed to 
Attleborough Church in 1756. Zebulon was bom in 1734 ; and 



EARLY SETTLERS. 101 

died at the age of eighty-four, leaving a son of the same name, 
still living, a venerable citizen, in his ninetieth year. Joseph 
Habkell, son of the first William, married Mary Graves of 
Andover, Dec. 2, 1674 ; and died Nov. 12, 1727, aged eighty- 
one : she died April 8, 1733, aged eighty. He was a deacon 
o£ the First Church ; and, upon the formation of the Second, 
'wnas diosen to the same office in that. Of his ten children, three 
'were sons, who married in town, — Joseph, Daniel, and Ebenezer. 
Joseph, bom in 1681, married Sarah Davis in 1705 ; and died 
Dec. 13, 1768. His son David died in 1791, at an advanced 
age ; leaving a son Aaron, who died in 1834, aged eighty- 
three ; the £Bither of Thomas, representative in 1836. Isaac, 
another son, bom in 1716, died April 27, 1804 ; leaving a son 
Adoniram, who died Aug. 5, 1845, aged eighty-four. Daniel, 
son of Joseph, sen., bom in 1688, married Sarah Haskell in 
1716, and died Dec. 4, 1768 : she died July 10, 1773, aged 
eighty. His son Caleb settled in Newbury ; and another son, 
Moses, in New Gloucester, Me. Ebenezer, youngest son of the 
first Joseph, bom in 1690, had a wife Elizabeth, and several 
children ; one of whom (Elijah) is said to have settled in Sa- 
lem. Benjamin, son of the original settler, was bom about 
1648. He married, Nov. 21, 1677, Mary, daughter of Thomas 
Siggs. She died Jan. 29, 1698. The date of his death is not 
known ; but his age, at his decease, was ninety-two. His will 
was proved May 25, 1741. He was often a selectman, repre- 
sentative in 1706 and 1707, and deacon of both the First and 
Second Churches many years. The sons who survived him 
were Benjamin, Josiah, Thomas, and William. Benjamin had a 
wife Elizabeth, who died in 1724, aged thirty-five ; and a second 
wife, Elizabeth Bennet, who died Dec. 23, 1774, probably 
eighty-four years old : he died Feb. 9, 1764, aged eighty, leav- 
ing no male issue bearing the name. Josiah, bom in 1687, 
married Mary Collins, Dec. 7, 1715. He is supposed to have 
settled in the Harbor Parish about 1738. He had sons, — 
John, Joshua, Josiah, and Adoniram ; the last two of whom are 
said to have been lost at sea together in 1764. John married 
Mary Bray in 1743 ; and had a son Josiah, who, before com- 



102 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

pleting his eighteenth year, manied AbigaQ Fellows of Ipswich, 
who was twenty-eight. He resided at the Harbor ; and died 
Feb. 16, 1821, aged about sixty-seven, leaving a son Josiah, 
who settled at Sandy Bay, and was the father of Benjamin, 
who graduated at Amherst College, is now a practising physician 
in his native place, and author of " Essays on the Physiolc^ of 
the Nervous System ; " and of James, who has been a senator 
from Essex County. Thomas, the next son of Benjamin Has- 
kell, removed in 1725 to Falmouth, Me., where he was long a 
respectable and worthy inhabitant. He died there, in 1785, at 
the age of ninety-five, leaving a numerous posterity. William, 
the next and youngest son, lived in his native parish ; where he 
died July 21, 1778, aged eighty-four. John, son of the first 
William, married Mary Baker, Nov. 20, 1685 ; and died Feb. 2, 
1718, aged sixty-nine : she died Nov. 24, 1723, aged fifty- 
eight. He had several children ; of whom Mary, Edith, Ruth, 
and John were living at the time of his death. Mary and 
Edith died unmarried, the latter at the age of eighty. Ruth 
married John Clark, and removed to Windham, Conn. ; where 
she died, at the age of eighty-three. John died Sept. 30, 1774, 
aged seventy-nine, childless, if not a bachelor : the name was, 
therefore, not perpetuated in this branch of the family. Mark, 
youngest son of the first William, married Elizabeth Giddings, 
Dec. 16, 1685; and died Sept. 8, 1691. His widow married 
John Dennison of Ipswich. Two sons (Mark and William)- 
survived their father. Mark married Martha Tuthill in 1710 ; 
and died in 1776, aged eighty-nine. Of his nine children, two 
were sons, — Mark and George. William married Jemima 
Hubbard of Salisbury ; and died Dec. 10, 1766, aged seventy- 
seven : she died in 1762, at the same age. He was a select- 
man, a deacon of the Second Church many years, and repre- 
sentative in 1736. He was an eminently pious man, and his 
last broken accents were heard to express his lamentations and 
supplications for the church of Christ. He had eight children ; 
two of whom died in infancy, one on her twenty-third birthday, 
and five attained very advanced age. One of them was a daugh- 
ter Comfort, who married a Sawyerj and died in 1809, aged 



EARLY SETTLERS. 103 

ninety-two. Job^ the oldest son^ settled in Hampton; but is 
said to have died in New Gloucester, Me., in 1806, aged ninety. 
Nathaniel married Hannah, daughter of Rev. John White ; and 
died July 31, 1808, in his ninetieth year. He was deacon of 
the Second Church about fifty years ; and, from papers found 
among his effects, it is evident that he was a thoughtful, prayerful 
Christian, and that his mind was much exercised with the subtle, 
doctrinal points in theology, which were deemed of so much 
importance a century ago. Nathaniel, the oldest of his ten 
children, settled in town ; and died Jan. 7, 1827, aged eighty- 
foxur, leaving a son Nathaniel, who deceased at Portland, Me., 
about ninety years old. Hubbard, the next of these four 
brothers, died April 9, 1811, aged ninety. He was a sailmaker 
by trade, and was also engaged in commerce. In accordance 
with his pious parentage and education, he Was a religious man, 
and creditably sustained for thirty-nine years the office of deacon 
of the First Church. His wife was Anna Millet, who survived 
her husband six months, after a conjugal imion of more than 
seventy years ; and died at the age of ninety-three. Of the ten 
children of Hubbard Haskell, three were sons that lived to 
maturity, — Hubbard, Nathan, and William. The first settled in 
Newburyport; and died in September, 1831, aged eighty-seven. 
Nathan went in early life to New Gloucester, Me. ; and died 
there in 1838, aged eighty-seven. William lived in Gloucester ; 
and died Oct. 16, 1843, aged eighty-three. His son John W. 
was representative in 1853. William, the yoimgest brother of 
Deacon Hubbard Haskell, settled in his native parish ; and died 
April 27, 1806, aged eighty. He had three sons at least ; one 
of whom was Elias, father of Eli, whose son William H. was 
representative in 1851. The posterity of William Haskell is 
believed to be much more numerous than that of any other 
early settler. A large number of his descendants remain in 
town, but a still greater number are scattered abroad over the 
country. From six generations of this prolific stock, emigrants 
have gone forth, who, whether they braved the dangers and 
hardships of pioneer life in the forests of Maine, or sought a 
kinder soil than their own in more settled and cultivated regions. 



104 HISTORY OP GLOUCESTER. 

or engaged in handicraft and trade in the marts of bosinesBy 
have generally sustained the character for useftdness an4 re- 
spectability which the family has always borne in its ancient 
seat.* 

Zebulon Hill was bom about 1621. He was from Bristol, 
England ; and, by trade^ was a cooper. Land in several places 
is recorded to him before 1650. One of the lots was " the bank 
that lyes in the harbour." This was on the present Front Street, 
and was laid out to his heirs in 1709. He sold his house, home* 
lot, and other lands, to " Goodman Elwell," in 1657, and removed 
to Salem, where he died about 1699. He married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Agnes Clark, Nov. 16, 1651. His will mentions 
several children, and a brother John of Beverly. 

Samuel Hodokins first appears in Gloucester with his wife 
Hannah in 1684. A William Hodgkins was an early inhabitant 
of Ipswich, and had a son Samuel bom there in 1658. Our 
Samuel Hodgkins was appointed, in 1694, to keep the ferry at 
Trynall Cove, where he had already built a house. He was a 
shoemaker ; and a descendant of the same trade was living, near 
the close of the last century, where his ancestor settled, and was 
the last ferryman at the place. Samuel Hodgkins's wife died 
July 28, 1724, aged sixty years ; and he next married Mary 
Stockbridge, May 3, 1725. The date of his death is not known. 
Fifteen children are recorded to him: namely, Samuel, bom 
in 1684 ; Hannah, 1686 ; John, 1688 ; Philip, 1690 ; William, 
1691 ; a daughter, 1694 ; Jedediah, 1696 ; Patience, 1697 ; 
Abigail, 1699; Mercy, 1700 ; David, 1702; Martha, 1704; 
Anna, 1705; Jonathan, 1706; and Experience, 1708. Of 
the seven sons, but little information can be given. Samuel 
married Hannah Pilkington, Sept. 28, 1708; and appears to 
have been living in 1758. He had nine children, of whom only 

• A WiUiiim Haskell wm killed, in 1769, in the king*t tenrice; and an Isaac wai 
killed, in 1778, on board of a privateer. 

Roger Haskell of Salem was, without doubt, brother of our William ; as he mentions 
in his will (1667) brothers William and Mark. William of Gloucester was gnardfan 
to Roger's son Samuel in 1679. It would be difficult to find among the early settlers of 
New England a single family whose genealogy would interest more persons than that 
of the Haskell Family. 



KARLY SETTLERS. 106 

the two youngestrwere sons, — Samuel, born in 1729 ; and James, 
bom in 1732, who died the same year. It was this last Samuel 
"who was the last ferryman at Trynall Cove. He married Abigail 
Sayward in 1753, and had sons Samuel and James. The former 
married Jemima Allen in 1776. Several descendants in this 
line live in the Fourth Parish, not far from the home of their 
ancestor. Of John, nothing further is known ; unless he was 
the same who married Mary Knowles about 1752, though he 
was then sixty-four. The children of this marriage were John, 
Mary, and Timothy : the latter, who was a soldier of the Kevo- 
lation, died in October, 1880, aged seventy-three. Philip and 
JsDEDiAH HoDGKixs probably went to Falmouth, Me. The 
latter married Sarah Millet in 1722, and had daughters Sarah 
and Judith bom here. David married Abigail Haskell in 1735, 
and had sons, — David, bom in 1787 ; and William, in 1740. 
Jonathan married Mary Stockbridge in 1738, and Widow Sarah 
Stockbridge in 1749. By these two wives he had ten children ; 
of whom three were sons, — Jonathan, Benjamin, and John. 
A Christopher Hodgkins had a son Hezekiah bom here in 
1699. 

John Holgrave was an early resident in Salem, where he 
filled important offices, besides representing the town in the first 
General Court at Boston, and again in 1634 and the following 
year. He kept an inn at Salem, but is not mentioned there after 
1689. He had land here in 1647 ; and, in 1649, a house in the 
Harbor, near the pond. He is not mentioned here after 1658, 
when both he and his wife had so conducted themselves as to 
leave no occasion to regret their departure. 

William Hough was a house-carpenter, and lived at Trynall 
Cove, where, and on Biskie Island, opposite, he had land. He 
was a selectman in 1649 and 1650. His departure is spoken of 
in the latter year, when he joined the emigration to New Lon- 
don. He married Sarah, daughter of Hugh Calkin, Oct. 28, 
1645; and had three children bora in Gloucester, — Hannah, 
bom in 1646 ; Abiah, 1648 ; and Sarah, 1651. 

James Hughes's name occurs only in connection with the 
births of his children. He had a wife EKzabeth, by whom a 

14 



106 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

daughter Elizabeth was bom in 1670; and a son Jonathan in 
1672, who died in 1689. A Rachel Hughes died in 1689. 

George Ingersol was bom in 1618, and was son of Richard 
Ingersol, a Bedfordshire man, who was one of the early emi- 
grants to Massachusetts. His first appearance in Gloucester is 
in 1646 ; when, by his wife Elizabeth, his son Joseph was bom. 
Other children of his, bom here, were — Elizabeth, bom in 1648, 
died in infancy ; Elizabeth, bom in 1651 ; and Mary, 1657. He 
was a selectman in 1652 ; and, in the same year, was licensed 
to keep an ordinary. He had a house in the Harbor, and owned 
land in several places ; which he sold, and afterwards removed to 
Falmouth, Me. He was lieutenant, at that place, of the military 
force for protection against the Indians ; and, in the attack of 
the savages in 1675, had a son killed, and his house burned. 
His letter, describing other destruction of life and property (that 
of the Wakleys, probably, who had also emigrated from Glouces- 
ter), is in our State archives. He returned to Salem, and was 
living there in 1694. Besides the children already mentioned, 
he had sons, — George, Samuel, and John. George was a ship- 
wright. He resided in Falmouth and Boston, and died in the 
latter place before 1730. Samuel was also a shipwright. He 
came to Gloucester soon after 1700, and settled on Eastern Point, 
where he built several small vessels. He was one of the five 
Gloucester men composing part of the company to whom, in 
1733, the township of Amherst, N.H., then called Narraganset, 
No. 3, was granted for services rendered by themselves or their 
ancestors in the Narraganset War in 1675. He conveyed this 
right to his son Joel in 1734 ; saying in the deed, that he was a 
soldier in the Narraganset War, called " Philip's War." His wife 
Judith died May 11, 1721, between fifty and sixty years old. 
By her he had two sons, bom in Gloucester, — Nehemiah, in 
1705 ; and Joel, 1709. He had a son Samuel, who married here 
in 1708, and had several children. John is not known to have 
ever resided in Gloucester. He was living in Kittery, Me., in 
1713. Joseph, the only son of George Ingersol known to have 
been bom in Gloucester, went to Falmouth with his father, and 
became a joiner. He married there Sarah, daughter of Matthew 



EARLY SETTLERS. 107 

Coe. He probably returned to Gloucester soon after the second 
destruction of Falmouth by the Indians ; as he had a daughter 
Hannah bom here in 1693. He died in 1718, aged seventy- 
two: his wife died May 29, 1714. His son Benjamin had several 
children bom here ; but he removed to Falmouth on the re- 
settlement of the place, took possession of his father's grant, 
and was a useful inhabitant. He removed to North Yarmouth 
previous to 1735. Besides those already named of this family, 
there were other Ingersols here in the early part of the last cen- 
tury, who were probably descendants of our early settler, George. 
Joseph married here in 1707; Josiah, in 1712; Jonathan, in 
1717 ; and David, in 1718 ; and all of them had children. Jona- 
than was keeping a tavern at the Harbor, where he died about 
1745. David was drowned on a fishing voyage to the Banks 
in 1730. 

John Jackson was a fisherman. He bought a house and land 
in the Harbor, of William Ash, in 1651 ; which he sold, in 1662, 
to Peter Duncan. He lived in Gloucester seven years. He had 
a wife Eleanor, who was bom in 1602. His son John married 
Susanna, daughter of Thomas Jones, July 12, 1659 : she died 
April 10, 1662 ; having had a son John, bom in 1660. 

Charles James was here in 1673, when he married Ann 
Collins. From the infrequent mention of his name, and its 
non-appearance on the list of grantees of the Cape lots in 1688, 
it is supposed that he was not a permanent settler from the date 
of his marriage. In 1699, he had six acres of land near Kettle 
Cove, which he exchanged with Morris Smith for a lot at the 
Cape. He died Sept. 11, 1720, about sixty-nine years old. 
The births of two children bom to him in Gloucester are on our 
records, — Charles, bom in 1674; and Francis, in 1677. The 
latter married Elizabeth Hallee, or Hallet, in 1703, and had seve- 
ral children; but none by whom the name was perpetuated 
in town. A Thomas James (not known to be connected with 
this fjEunily) had, by his wife Susanna, a son Thomas, bom here 
in 1752. 

Thomas Joxes was bom in 1598. He was in Gloucester as 
early as 1642, and owned a house and land near the burying- 



108 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

place. He was admitted freeman in 1653; and died in 1671, 
leaving an estate of £147. 15s. His wife was Mary, daiighter 
of Richard and Ursula North : she died in 1681. The children 
recorded to them are — Thomas, bom in 1640, died in 1672, 
probably immarried ; North and Ruth (twins), 1644 (the latter 
married Thomas Howard of Salem); Samuel, 1647; Ephraim, 
1649 (was apprenticed for twelve years to a Manuel alias Nathan- 
iel Ffryar); Benjamin, 1651 ; and Remember, 1653, who married 
Nathaniel Hadlock. Besides these children, there were Susanna, 
who married John Jackson ; a daughter who married a Winslow 
of Salisbury, and another who married a Kent. Benjamin 
Jones married Elizabeth Wills, Jan. 22, 1678 ; and had four 
children bom here. None of the name of this family appear 
here after 1686. Benjamin may have removed to Hull, where 
a person of the same name lived in 1693. 

Henry Joslyn. — The orthography of this name is variously 
given : that of the Gloucester Records is here followed. Henry 
Joslyn, son of Sir Thomas Joslyn of Kent, came to New Eng- 
land about 1634, as an agent for Capt. Mason ; but he soon left 
his service, and, in 1638, had settled at Black Point, now Scar- 
borough, in Maine. He bore a distinguished part in all the 
political transactions of that Province till October, 1676 ; when 
the Indians attacked Black Point, and compelled the people to 
flee. The fate of Joslyn is not known ; but there can scarcely 
be a doubt that his son Henry was the person of the same name 
who settled in this town. He and John Wallis, driven the year 
before in like manner from Falmouth, were probably the first 
reflux of the tide of emigration which, about twenty years before, 
began to set towards Maine from our town. His name first 
appears here on the occasion of his marriage, June 4, 1678, to 
Bridget Day. The next year, he had a grant of land between 
the lot of Timothy Somes and Thomas Riggs's house. In 1693, 
he appears to have sold this land, and a dwelling-house standing 
on it, to Nathaniel Wharf. By his wife Bridget he had a son 
Henry, bom Jime 28, 1679 ; and a daughter in 1682, who died 
in infancy. His wife died Sept. 7, 1684; and he next married, 
Nov. 9, 1686, Mary Lambert. His children by her were — 



EARLY SETTLERS. 109 

Ebenezer, born 80th July, died 20th November, 1686 ; Marga- 
ret, 1687 ; Mary, 1689 ; Constantine, 1691 ; Benjamin, 1695, — 
lost at sea in 1716 ; and Mercy, 1703. Henry Joslyn, sen., was 
admitted to the church in 1704. All who were householders 
that year, and were living in town in 1721, had, at the last date, 
a grant of land ; and, as none of this family appear among the 
grantees, it is reasonable to infer that the elder Joslyn had either 
died or removed before that year. Henry, supposed to be the 
son, married Sarah Litheam,* Dec. 6, 1703 ; and had a son Rich- 
ard, bom March 26, 1704 ; after which, nothing more is known 
of them. Constantine married Agnes Tenny, Dec. 9, 1713; 
and had six sons and one daughter. He was living in 1747. 
Three of his sons — Constantine, Henry, and William — were 
married; but we know nothing more of their history, except 
that the first had several children, one of whom (Ebenezer), 
bom in 1738, addressed a letter to his mother from the camp at 
LfOng Island, July 5, 1776. One member of this family received 
at death a special mark of distinction from the town ; which paid, 
February, 1745, eight shillings and tenpence for four pounds 
of sugar and two ounces of allspice, and twenty-six shillings 
for four pairs of gloves **for Mother Josselyn's funnerall."t 

Thomas Judkin is mentioned as a landowner several times 
before 1650. In 1665, he bought of George Blake a house and 
land near the Meeting-house. He married, in 1665, Anna, 
widow of Nehemiah Howard of Salem. By the previous hus- 
band she had had three daughters, — Hannah, who married 
John Sargent ; Bose, who married Joseph Allen ; and Sarah, 
who married George Harvey. He died Feb. 23, 1695, leaving 
an estate of £271 : she died Jan. 27, 1706, aged about sixty- 
eight. It is probable that Judkin kept a tavern, and that the 
business was carried on by his wife after his decease; for, in 
November, 1695, a committee of Ipswich gentlemen met at her 
house to settle a difference between the town and Francis Nor- 



* PerhAps LitUebale. Jan. 7, 1704. — Henry Jotslin of OloncMter, and Sarah his 
wife, convey to Isaac Littlehale of Ipswich ** land that was formarly my Grandfather 
Bichard Littlehale*s of Haverhill.** 

t See New-England Hist and Gen. Register, yoL ii. pp. S04-80e. 



110 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

wood in relation to Thatch Banks, and expended there eighteen 
shillings. The selectmen also often met at "Landlady Jud- 
kin's ; " and, in 1704 and 1705, contracted a debt of. upwards 
of a pound in each year, which was paid by the town. The 
descendants of the landlady by her three daughters are numerous. 

William Kenie had a house and land, which he sold to 
Thomas Prince in 1652; having previously removed to New 
London. His daughter Susanna married Balph Parker. 

Thomas Kent may have been connected with Richard Kent 
of Ipswich, who received a grant of land near Chebacco River 
in 1635. Thomas Kent had a house and land near the burying- 
ground, recorded under the year 1649; but earlier in his posses- 
sion, probably : and he bought several lots of William Meades, 
which, in 1655, he recorded to his brother, Samuel Kent. A 
Thomas Kent, sen., died May 1, 1658, and Widow Kent, Oct. 6, 
1671 ; leaving Thomas and Samuel above mentioned, who, it is 
likely, were their sons. These 'brothers bought of Thomas 
Prince, in 1657, eighteen acres of land on the west side of Lit- 
tle River, where a house and land were situated that Thomas 
sold to Richard Dike in 1667. Thomas married Joan, daughter 
of Thomas Penny, March 28, 1658 ; and died Aug, 2, 1696. 
The children recorded to him are — Josiah, bom in 1660; 
Sarah, 1662 ; Mercy and Joan, 1664 ; James, 1666 ; and John, 
1676. Samuel married Frances Woodall, Jan. 17, 1654 ; and 
had the following children : Sarah, bom in 1657 ; Mary, 1658 ; 
Samuel, 1661 ; and John, 1664. John removed, about 1680, to 
Suffield, Conn. ; where was bom, in 1704, Elisha, son of John 
Kent, grandfather of the distinguished chancellor of New York, 
James Kent. Josiah Kent married Mary Luf kin in 1689 ; and 
died in 1725, aged sixty-five. One of the Johns, probably the 
brother of Josiah, also married. Both of these had families, and 
the name continued in the Second Parish down at least to the 
death of John. He received help from the town for several 
years, on account of his inability, through weakness of mind, to 
earn his own living ; and died about April 19, 1743, when 
Col. Epes Sargent was paid by the selectmen " £2 for four pairs 
of gloves, to be given at ye burial of John Kent." 



EARLT SETTLERS. Ill 

John Kettle was bom about 1621. He had a house in the 
Harbor before 1650, and resided here several years. In 1664, 
lie sold a house and land situated near the Meeting-house. By 
his wife Elizabeth he had the following children bom here : 
John, in 1654 ; William, 1656, died 1677 ; Elizabeth, 1657 ; 
Mary, 1659 ; Samuel, 1662 ; and James, 1665. None of this 
&mily appear in town at the granting of six-acre lots in 1688. A 
John Kettle, a minor, living at Mackerel Cove, was brought 
before a court at Salem in 1641 for breach of the sabbath and 
for stealing. 

John Lane was bom about 1653 ; and, with his wife and 
children, came to Gloucester, about the close of the seventeenth 
century, from Falmouth, Me. ; driven thence, probably, on the 
second destruction of that place by the Indians. He was son of 
James Lane, and went, in 1658, with his father, from Maiden to 
Casco Bay ; where they lived till driven away by the Indians in 
the first Indian War. His father was killed in a fight with the 
Indians ; and, besides John, left sons Henry, Samuel, and Job. 
John Lane received from the town a grant of a common right in 
1702 ; and, in 1704, ten acres of land at Flatstone Cove, where 
he had already settled, and to which his own name was subse- 
quently given. He married a daughter of John Wallis, an 
early inhabitant of Falmouth. Her baptismal name was Dorcas, 
if she was the wife that accompanied him to Gloucester. The 
children recorded as bom to them here are — Hepzibah, bom 
in 1694 ; Mary, 1696 ; Joseph, 1698 ; Benjamin, 1700 ; Debo- 
rah, 1703, died in 1729 ; and Job, 1705. Besides these, there 
were James, John, Dorcas, Josiah, Sarah, and David. Five of 
the sons were living when their father died. He was living in 
1734, at the age of eighty-one ; but the date of his death is not 
known. James married Buth Biggs in 1710, who died the next 
year, aged twenty-one; and Judith Woodbury in 1715. He 
became a deacon of the Third Church; and died about 1751, 
leaving sons William, James, and Josiah, and daughters Mary 
and Buth. John Lane, jun., married Mary Biggs in 1713 ; and 
was killed by Indians at Penobscot, June 22, 1724, at the age of 
thirty-six. He left an estate of nearly £500; consisting, in 



112 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

part, of half of a coasting and half of a fishing vessel. He had 
six daughters and two sons. One of the latter (David) appears 
to have married in town. Josiah married Rachel York in 1713 ; 
after which nothing is known of him. Joseph married Deborah 
Haraden in 1721, and had sons Joseph, Caleb, and Solomon; 
besides daughters, one of whom (Deborah) was first married to 
John Langsford, and next to William Lane. One of these hus- 
bands met his death at Owl's Head. He was returning from a 
fishing voyage, and put in there for a harbor. While walking on 
the shore with a companion, he was shot at by some Indians who 
were lying in ambush, and killed on the spot. Benjamin Lane 
married Elizabeth Griffin in 1725 ; by whom, besides two daugh- 
ters, he had sons Thomas, Benjamin, Jonathan, John, and 
Hezekiah. Job married Mary Ashby in 1734, and had sons 
Job, Ebenezer, and Andrew. Descendants of John Lane and 
of Samuel, who came subsequently, are numerous in town ; and 
many are scattered abroad in various parts of the coimtry. Of 
those of the later generations, some have been prominent citi- 
zens. Samuel was a representative from 1829 to 1832 inclusive, 
and subsequently a senator from Essex County ; George, a re- 
presentative in 1833 ; and Gideon, a representative in 1833 and 
1834. A John Lane was killed. May 29, 1778, in an engage- 
ment with a British ship of twenty guns ; and is mentioned as 
the first victim of the war from Squam. 

Andrew Lister was here as early as 1642, and had a house 
on the neck of house-lots, and a lot on Planter's Neck. In 1648, 
he was licensed to keep a house of entertainment, and to sell 
wine and strong water here. He sold all his property in 
Gloucester to Clement Coldom, and left town with the com- 
pany that went to New London about 1651. His wife's name 
was Barberie ; and his children, bom here, were — Daniel, in 
1642; Andrew, 1644; Mary, 1647; and Anne, 1651. 

Nicholas Liston was probably an early but brief sojourner. 
Under the date of 1645, there is a mention of marsh in Annis- 
quam first give!n to him ; and there is a record, without date, of 
two acres of upland in the Harbor, purchased of him. 

Thomas Lufkin, or Lovekin, as the name, in confor- 



EARLY SETTLERS. 113 

mity with its manifest deriyation, was anciently spelled, came to 
Gloucester about 1674. In 1680, he had a grant of land above 
Deacon Haskell's sawmill ; and, in later years, lots in other places. 
His wife's name was Mary. She died in December, 1730, 
aged eighty-six : he died Nov. 3, 1708. His children, natives 
of Gloucester, were — Joseph, bom in 1674; Ebenezer, 1676 ; 
Abraham and Isaac, 1678 ; Abigail, 1682 ; Henry, 1684 ; and 
James and Elizabeth, 1686. Besides these, there was probably 
a Thomas, bom before the removal to Gloucester, who had a 
grant of land in 1690. He married Mary Myles in 1690, who 
died the same year; and Sarah Downing in 1692. His name 
does not again occur; unless he is the same person who in 1720, 
then belonging to Ipswich, married Rachel Riggs of this town. 
Joseph, Ebenezer, and Henry Lufldn all married here, and had 
children. Benjamin Lufkin was here in 1713, and Jacob in 
1720; and both had families. A Jacob was wounded in an 
engagement with the enemy in the eastern parts of the Province 
in 1699. 

Thomas Low. — This settler was, without doubt, a descend- 
ant of the Ipswich Family of the same name ; which, according 
to an account of some of its members, had for their English 
ancestor Capt. John Lowe, master of the ship " Ambrose " in the 
great emigration to Massachusetts in 1630. Whether this state- 
ment rests upon good authority or not, it is certain that a Thomas 
Low was of Ipswich as early as 1643. He died Sept. 8, 1677, 
leaving a son Thomas ; also a grandson Thomas, not then twenty- 
one years old. The son, it is supposed, was Deacon Thomas 
Low of Chebacco Parish, now Essex, who died April 12, 
1712, aged eighty ; and the grandson, Thomas, who settled in 
Gloucester about 1692. The latter had married, before the 
last-named year, Sarah, daughter of Harlakenden Symonds, who 
was bom here in 1668, probably in the house which her father 
owned near the Meeting-house, and to which, after an absence 
of some years from town perhaps, Mrs. Symonds returned 
again with her daughter and son-in-law. He survived the re- 
moval but six years, and died Feb. 8, 1698, leaving sons Symonds, 
Thomas, and John, and a daughter Elizabeth. The inventory of 

16 



114 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

his personal estate amounted to £80 ; of which amount, his house 
is set down at £45. His real estate was valued in 1740 at 
£838. Symonds was twice married, and had three sons and six 
daughters. One of the sons died in infancy : neither of the 
other two appears to have settled in town. John, third son of 
Thomas Low, married Mary Allen, Jan. 20, 1726. His second 
son (John), bom May 17, 1728, became one of the most pro- 
minent citizens of his time. He had his home on or near the 
ancestral property, and owned there a valuable farm ; but the 
business to which his own attention was chiefly given was that 
of trade and fishing. The latter he carried on from Squam 
Biver ; which, for several yeais before the Revolutionary War, 
was the scene of an active business in this line. In these pur- 
suits he acquired property ; and, being a man qualified by edu- 
cation, character, and talents, for public employments, the town 
found in him, at the period of its need, a ready and faithful 
servant. In 1775, he had advanced to the rank of lieutenant- 
colonel in the militia ; and afterwards became a colonel, — a title 
which he retained to the end of his life. He was a represen- 
tative to the General Court held in Watertown, May 27, 1776 ; 
a delegate to the Convention for forming the State Constitution, 
and to that for ratifying the Constitution of the United States. 
He also served several times as representative in the General 
Court of the Commonwealth. Besides serving the town in 
these elevated stations, he often filled the office of selectman, 
and held for many years the place of deacon of the Fourth 
Church. It was while on the road, returning to his home from 
a meeting of the selectmen, that the career of this good man 
was suddenly ended by death, Nov. 3, 1796. A sermon was 
preached at his funeral by the Rev. Eli Forbes, from Isa. Ivii. 
1, 2 ; in which the virtues of the departed were portrayed by 
the venerable pastor with touching simplicity and truthfulness. 
Col. Low married, April 30, 1752, Sarah, daughter of Rev. 
Joshua Gee of Boston ; who died about twenty years before her 
' husband, during which he remained a widower. He had ten 
children. His oldest son (John), born Sept. 1, 1754, graduated 
at Harvard College in 1773 ; became a merchant in his native 



EARLY SETTLERS. 115 

town; and died Feb. 10, 1801. David, the second son, spent 
the first part of his life in maritime employments; and the 
latter in the pursuits of husbandry, and died March 28, 1840, 
aged eighty-one. Among his children were — David, a mer- 
chant of Boston, who died at Havre, in France, Jan. 2, 1829 ; 
and John Gorham, also a merchant of Boston, who perished 
in the destruction of the steamer " Lexington " by fire, on 
Long-Island Soimd, Jan. 13, 1840. Joshua Gee, another son 
of Col. Low, was the father of Frederic G. Low, who has 
filled the office of collector of the customs for this port. Wil- 
liam, son of the first John Low, married Dorcas Ellery in 1751, 
and had eleven children ; the oldest of which (William) is said 
to have been an officer on board a letter-of-marque from New- 
buryport in the Bevolution, and to have been taken by a British 
ship and carried to New York, where he experienced all the 
horrors of sickness on board of a prison-ship, in which he was 
confined a year. After his escape or discharge, he walked home 
to Gloucester barefooted and bareheaded, begging his food by 
the way. 

John Luther is only mentioned as a seller of land in the 
Harbor to John Collins, recorded in 1649, 

Solomon Martin may have been the person of the same 
name who came to New England in the ship " James " in 1635, 
being then sixteen years old. He was a ship-carpenter, and 
owned a house and several house-lots of land, which he sold to 
Bichard Beeford in May, 1652, when he was a resident of 
Andover. The Gloucester Records show that he was twice 
married: first to Mary, daughter of Henry Pindar, in 1643, 
who died in 1648 ; and next, in the same year, to Widow Alice 
Vamum of Ipswich. His children were — Samuel, bom in 
1645 ; and Mary, 1648. 

Edmund Marshall only appears as a seller of house and 
land near Poles, which he bought of John Bourne, to Anthony 
Day, in 1657. Before this date, the same name occurs in Salem, 
and subsequently in Ipswich and Newbury. 

Philip Merritt only appears here at the birth, by his wife 
Mary, of a son Jacob, Oct. 21, 1700. 



116 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

William Meades had a lot near the bmymg-ground. He 
had been here several years, probably, when he sold land in 
three places, in 1647, to Thomas Kent. In 1648, the date of 
his last appearance in Gloucester, he took the freeman's oath ; 
was a selectman and constable. March, 1651, he was a grantee 
of land in New London. 

Thomas Millet came to New England in 1635, in the ship 
** Elizabeth *' of London, with his wife Mary and son Thomas, 
and settled in Dorchester, where he resided several years. The 
records of that town show that he had the following children 
bom there : John bom in 1635 ; Jonathan, 1638, died the same 
year; Mary, 1639; and Mehetabel, 1641. Another (a son 
Nathaniel) was bom in 1647. In 1655, Millet bought of Wil- 
liam Perkins, who had been a teaching elder in the church here 
a few years, all the property the latter owned in the town. He 
came here with the rare title of " Mr.," — a distinction to which 
he was entitled by the place he filled in the church ; for he 
was the successor of Mr. Perkins in his religious office, as well 
as in the possession of his lands. His name does not appear 
among the ministers of his time ; but it is certain that he labored 
here in spiritual things, though perhaps his office in the church 
was an anomalous one. Its pecuniary rewards were not always 
voluntarily bestowed, as the Court Records testify ; and, indeed, 
these alone frunish information that he was engaged here in 
the work of the ministry at all. It is supposed that he removed 
from town several years before his death, and became a citizen 
of Brookfield ; at which place, he and his wife gave their consent, 
June 3, 1675, to the sale of a house and land on Town Neck 
to Francis Norwood. He died within a year from that time ; 
and his wife was deceased, Sept. S7, 1682. His oldest son 
Thomas, bom in 1633, had land of his father, lying near the 
old Meeting-house Plain in 1655. He held the office of ensign 
in the military company, and served a few years as a selectman ; 
but, otherwise, his name does not prominently occur. He came 
into possession of the land at Kettle Cove originally granted 
to Mr. Blynman. This was situated near the Manchester bounds, 
which Millet passed, and became, in the last years of his life, a 



EARLY SETTLERS. 117 

resident of that town. He died there June 18, 1707 ; but was 
brought to Gloucester for burial. He was twice married : first 
to Mary, daughter of Sylvester Eveleth, May 21, 1655, who 
died July 8, 1687; and next to Abigail, widow of Isaac 
Eveleth, who survived him, and died March 19, 1726, aged 
sixty-eight. It is not known that he had other children than 
Thomas and John, both by his last wife. John Millet, son 
of the first Thomas, married Sarah Leach, July 3, 1663 ; and 
died Nov. 8, 1678. He has the births of seven children re- 
corded in the Gloucester Records. Two of their children were 
sons, — John and Thomas. The latter, bom in 1671, married 
Martha Ingersol in 1695, and had several children. The father 
and his son John, with their families, removed to Falmouth, 
Me., about 1724; where the former died Jan. 21, 1730. He 
left in Gloucester a son Morris, who married Jemima Hodgkins 
in 1728, and had sons Joseph, James, Thomas, and Samuel. 
Nathaniel Millet received grants of land on the westerly 
side of Annisquam River ; and, it is probable, had his residence 
there. He finally settled at Kettle Cove ; where, in 1700, he 
and his sons had land granted to them, which was not to be 
alienated from the family so long as any of them survived. He 
married Ann Lister, May 8, 1670, who died March 9, 1718, 
aged sixty-six : he died Nov. 7, 1719, aged seventy-two. Of 
his eleven children, it appears that three were sons who mar- 
ried in town, — Thomas, bom in 1675; Andrew, in 1681; 
and Nathan, in 1685. These sons all settled near their £Etther, 
at Kettle Cove ; and each had a fiEunily that included sons. 
Thomas was drowned at Casco Bay, March 1, 1722, " by aland 
flood overflowing ye cottage, and carrying of it away." * Nathan 
was drowned near Manchester Neck, Jan. 6, 1724. Andrew died 
March 25, 1718. Descendants of Thomas Millet, bearing the 
family name, have lived in town down to the present time ; but 
they have never been numerous, and the race is now almost 
extinct in Gloucester. 



* Ber. T. Smith of Falmouth, Me., sayt, in his jonraiU, that Mill«t and one In- 
gersol ^^ were drowned at Presnropeoot by the damming of the ice; raising an head 
of water in the night while they were asleep-** 



118 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

Thomas Milward, a fisherman, was one of the selectmen in 
1642. No grants of land are recorded to him ; though he sold, 
as early as May, 1642, two acres in the Harbor to Robert 
Elwell. He removed to Newbury, where he resided in 1652^ 
when he sold his farm at Fresh-water Cove to Samuel Dolliver 
of Marblehead. He died in Boston, Sept. 1, 1653. 

George Norton had been in Salem several years when he 
became one of the company, which, in 1640, had leave &om 
the General Court to erect a vUlage at Jef&ies Creek, now Man- 
chester. His name does not appear in the Gloucester Records 
as a grantee or purchaser of land ; but he was here as early as 

1642, and probably received then from the commissioners the 
grant of the farm at Little Good Harbor, which he sold to 
WilUam Vinson. He was prominent among the first settlers ; 
being one of the first board of officers chosen by the town for 
ordering its aflfairs, and the representative in 1642, — the first 
one ; and in 1643 and 1644, — the latter date being the last 
mention of his name in Gloucester. He died about 1659. He 
had a daughter Mary bom here by his wife Mary, Feb. 28, 

1643. A Mary Norton, widow, contemplated marriage with 
Philip Fowler of Ipswich in 1659. 

Francis Norv«^ood, according to a tradition in the family, 
fled from England with his father, at the restoration of Charles 
II., on account of the trouble in which the father feared they 
might be involved for the part he had taken in the civil wars of 
that period. The son came to New England, and is said to 
have kept a tavern in Lynn. He came to Gloucester about 
1663, and settled at Goose Cove ; at which place, by grants from 
the town and by purchase, he became possessed of considerable 
land. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Clement Coldom, 
Oct. 15, 1663 ; and died March 4, 1709. His children were — 
Thomas, born in 1664 ; Francis, 1666; Elizabeth, 1669 ; Mary, 
1672; Stephen, 1674; Deborah, 1677 ; Hannah, 1679; Joshua, 
1683 ; Caleb, 1685 ; and Abigail, 1689. Thomas, the oldest 
son, only re-appears, after his birth, to be noticed in his father's 
will in 1709; and is not again mentioned. Francis married 
Mary Stevens, Jan. 24, 1693. She died Nov. 19, 1724, aged 



EARLY SETTLERS. 119 

fifty-two : the date of his death is not known. His sons Wil- 
liam and Jonathan survived him, and had families ; the latter a 
very large one. These brothers lived at Goose Cove, and there 
carried on the fishing business. William died in February, 
1781, aged seventy-three ; and Jonathan died Feb. 21, 1791, 
aged seventy-nine. The funeral procession which accompanied 
his body to the grave was stopped by one of his creditors for the 
execution of a legal process, which the law then permitted for 
the recovery of a debt. A son-in-law stepped forward, and 
satisfied the demand ; when the train, almost petrified with hor- 
ror at the rude and unwonted interruption, resumed its solemn 
march. Gustavus, one of the youngest of his sons, died in 1841, 
in his ninetieth year. Abraham, a grandson, settled in Maine, 
and was the father of Abraham, a Universalist preacher. Ste- 
phen Norwood married Elizabeth Ingallbe, February, 1702, 
and died Jan. 7, 1703. Joshua married Elizabeth, daughter of 
Ensign William Andrews of Chebacco, Sept. 25, 1704. He was 
among the early possessors of land at the Cape, and probably 
resided there most of his life. He had four sons and eleven 
daughters. One of the sons (Caleb) was born in Attleborough, 
where his fsEither lived a few years. His son Caleb was a repre- 
sentative in 1806 and 1807, and died about 1828. Another son 
(William), still living, is a venerable citizen of Rockport. His 
son Greorge was a representative from Gloucester in 1857. 
Joshua Norwood became poor in his old age, and lived with his 
children. He died in 1762, in his eightieth year : his wife is 
said to have died Nov. 1, 1774, aged about ninety. A still 
greater age was attained by her daughter Mary, who married 
Nathaniel Gamage of Cambridge in 1731, and is reported to 
have died in Bristol, Me., at the age of one hundred and five 
years. To this branch of the family belongs Francis Norwood, 
who was bom in 1795 ; graduated at Dartmouth College in 1818 ; 
studied theology at Andover ; and is now settled in the ministry 
at Phipsburg, Me. Caleb, youngest son of the first Francis, 
married Alice Donnel of York. He had a grant of land 
near Halibut Point in 1710, and had several children bom in 
Gloucester ; but finally removed to Boston, and was an innholder 



120 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

there Nov. 29, 1735, when he made his will, which mentions a 
son Gustavus and five daughters. The former settled in York, 
Me. The widow became the third wife of Rev. John White. 

Ralph Parker had recorded, under the year 1647, land in 
the Harbor, on the westerly side of his house, which was near 
Governor's Hill. He sold his possessions in Gloucester to' 
Fhineas Rider in 1651 ; about which time he removed to New 
London. He is not mentioned here as having a family ; but the 
New-London Records state that he had a wife who was a daugh- 
ter of William Kenie. 

Elias Parkman was of Boston in 1651. He is mentioned, 
in our records without date, as purchaser of a house and land, in 
Fisherman's field, of Christopher Avery. In 1655, he had 
a grant of " wood and timber from the run of water as runneth 
out at the beach by the salt- work ; in consideration of which he 
is to let the town have salt, for their own proper use, 6d. per 
bushel cheaper than he sell out of town, for such pay as the 
town can pay him at pris currant." If he resided in town at 
all, it was probably only for a brief period. 

Joseph Page had, in March, 1699, a grant of half an acre of 
land near Clay Cove to set a house upon, on condition that he 
should take care of his mother. He married Elizabeth Row in 
1705 ; and died March 18, 1725, aged about forty-eight. A 
George Page had, in 1709, a grant of land near the head of 
the Harbor. The birth of his daughter Mary in Antigua, in 
1705, by his wife Joanna, and the decease of Joanna Page 
in 1707, are recorded in the town-records. 

Jeffrey Parsons, bom in 1631, left England when quite 
young, and went with an uncle to Barbadoes, where he lived 
several years, and came thence to New England. He left in his 
native country a brother James, who died there about 1708, leav- 
ing several children; one of whom, Elizabeth Morgan, was living 
in 1714 at Ashprington, near Dartmouth, as appears by her letter 
to her cousin James in New England, dated 1714; copies of 
which are preserved in the family. In April, 1655, he bought 
of Giles Barge an acre and a half of land in Fisherman's Field. 
He also bought, about the same time, a house and land at the 



EARLY SETTLERS. 121 

same place, which had once belonged to George Ingersol, and 
still earlier to George Norton. There he fixed his residence ; 
and descendants still live around the spot first occupied by their 
ancestor. Tradition has preserved the romantic incident that 
determined his choice of a partner for life. While walking on 
a hot summer's day, he was overcome with fatigue and thirst, and 
stopped at Vinson's Spring for rest and refireshment. The house 
of Vinson was near by, and a benevolent impulse prompted his 
beautiful daughter Sarah to approach the weary stranger with 
the tender of a drinking-cup. The charms and kind attentions 
of the fiur one made a deep impression on the heart of Jeffirey ; 
and, as she reciprocated the sentiments she had inspired, she ere 
long became his wife. They were married Nov. 11, 1657. He 
was selectman several years ; and died Aug. 16, 1689, leaving an 
estate of £317. She died Jan. 12, 1708. Among their descend- 
ants, besides the distinguished Chief-Justice of Massachusetts, 
are several eminent merchants. The children of Jeffirey Parsons 
were — James, bom in 1658 ; Jeffirey, 1661 ; Sarah, 1668 ; 
Elizabeth, 1665; John, 1666; Jeremiah, 1672; Nathaniel, 
1675; Abigail, 1678; Ebenezer, 1680, died 1680; and Eben- 
ezer, 1681. James was one of the most useful citizens of his 
time. He was a selectman, elder of the church, town-clerk 
eleven years, and representative five years. His residence was at 
the comer of the old road leading from the Manchester Road to 
Ipswich ; and the old house still standing there bore till recently 
indubitable marks of age, which render it probable that he was 
the builder. He married, Dec. 18, 1688, Hannah Yoimglove of 
Ipswich, who died March 11, 1783, aged seventy-eight: he 
died Oct. 1, 1733, aged seventy-five. His sons were James, 
Eliezer, and Joseph. James, bom in 1690, died Nov. 15, 1761 ; 
having lost two sons in the military service of the Colony : 
namely, James, who was a soldier in the expedition to Cape 
Breton, — returned home ill, and died Aug. 20, 1745, aged about 
twenty years ; and EUphalet, who enlisted in the army sent 
against the French at Crown Point in 1756, and died at Alba- 
ny, Aug. 9 in that year, aged twenty-four. Eliezer married 
Mary Day in 17S0, and had five sons and three daughters. 

16 



122 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

Joseph, the other son of Elder James Parsons, a student of Har- 
vard College, died at Cambridge, Oct. 30, 1722, aged about 
twenty-nine. Jeffrey received, in 1685, a grant of land situated 
on the road to Starknaught Harbor ; where he erected a house, 
and settled. He married Abigail Yoimglove of Ipswich, May 5, 
1686; who died in June, 1734. The date of his death is un- 
known. His will, made in 1734, was proved in 1750. Most of 
the Parsonses on the Cape are descended from this son. In his 
will, three sons are mentioned, — Jonathan, Samuel, and Jere- 
miah. Jonathan married Lydia Stanwood in 1711, and had the 
following sons : Jonathan, who had several children ; John, who 
died about 1796, aged eighty, leaving a wife Anna (Clark), who 
died at the age of ninety ; James and Joseph (twins), the former 
of whom settled at Sandy Bay, and has, among his descendants, 
Gorham, for several years postmaster of Gloucester, whose son 
James C. graduated at Amherst College in 1855 ; and William, 
representative in 1841 and 1842, now a merchant in Boston. 
Joseph, the other twin, was lost on the Grand Bank about 1785, 
aged sixty-three. David, the next and youngest of these 
brothers, had his home at the " Farms ; " and died in 1808, aged 
eighty. Samuel, second son of Jeffrey Parsons, jun., married 
Ruth Lee of Manchester in 1713. The records show that he 
had eleven children, and that two of his sons (Samuel and 
Nehemiah) married in town, and perpetuated the name. Samuel 
and his brother David were among the first settlers of New 
Gloucester, Me. Jeremiah, the other son of Jeffirey Parsons, 
jun., married Susanna Cogswell of Ipswich in 1721; and had 
sons Jeremiah, Jeffrey, and Zaccheus. The first of these sons 
appears to have married in town, and to have had sons Jeremiah 
and Zaccheus. Jeffirey, son of John and Anna above mentioned, 
bom in 1746, a soldier in the battle of Bunker Hill, was drowned 
near Salt-Island Ledge in 1792. John Parsoxs, third son of 
Jeffrey, sen., settled at Fisherman's Field. He married Isabella 
Haynes, Jan. 19, 1693, who died Nov. 20, 1700 ; and he next 
married Sarah Norton, July 29, 1701. She died July 25, 1726, 
aged fifty-six. He died Dec. 1, 1714; having had, by his two 
wives, nine children. John, his oldest son, married Elizabeth 



EARLY SETTLERS. 123 

Haskell in 1716, by whom he had twelve children; of whom 
five were sons, that married and had families. He was a ruling 
elder of the First Church, and was living in 1762. Josiah, the 
next son, married Eunice Sargent in 1719; had ten children bom 
here ; and afterwards removed to New Hampshire. Thomas, the 
third son, married Rachel Baker in 1729 ; and died March 13, 
1782. Daniel, the next, married Susanna Warner in 1732; and 
died in Antigua, probably about 1738, leaving no son. Solo- 
mon, the yoimgest, married Abigail Knowlton, who died Feb. 
15, 1741, aged thirty-four; and next, July 26, 1741, Sarah 
Dodge of Wenham, who died Jan. 29, 1779, aged sixty-four. 
He died March 24, 1779, aged seventy-four; leaving an only 
son Solomon, as appears by record, who died Oct. 5, 1807, aged 
sixty-eight. Jacob, son of the latter, emigrated with sons to 
Illinois. These two Sotbmons lived near the spot on which their 
ancestor first settled at Fisherman's Field. Jeremiah, son of 
the first Jefirey, was impressed on board of a man-of-war when 
young ; and, having escaped from her, is said to have settled in 
Virginia. Nathaniel, the next son, married Abigail Haskell, 
Dec; 27, 1697 ; and died of small-pox. May 21, 1722. He en- 
gaged in mercantile business ; and, at the time of his death, was 
the owner of several vessels and a shop and wharf. His oldest 
son (Nathaniel) died of small-pox in 1721. The next (Wil- 
liam) became a merchant, and acquired a handsome fortune. 
He was a man of excellent character; for which his townsmen 
showed their regard by electing him to the highest offices. He 
was deacon of the First Church, and representative six years. 
He died July 10, 1755, aged fifly-five. He was twice married : 
first, to Mary Haraden, who died in 1751 ; and next to Mrs. 
Abigail Beck of Newbury. The youngest of his numerous family 
of children was Obadiah, minister of the Fourth Parish in 
Gloucester. Stephen, brother of Deacon William Parsons, mar- 
ried Abigail Robinson in 1732 ; and was lost in a hurricane in 
the West Indies, leaving sons Enoch and Daniel. Of this branch 
of the family is Mrs. Sarah A. Parsons Nowell, author of a vo- 
lume of poems and a volume of tales. Ebenezer, yoimgest son 
of Jeffirey Parsons, married Lydia Haskell ; who died in 1734, 



124 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTEE. 

aged fifty-three. His intention of marriage with Mrs. Alice 
Norwood was published April 11, 1741 ; and with Mrs. Jemima 
Todd of Rowley, Dec. 4, 1742. She became his wife, and 
died April 25, 1752, aged sixty-five. He next married Mrs. 
Elizabeth Andrews of Ipswich, Oct. 31, 1754. His death took 
place Dec. 19, 1763, at the age of eighty-two. His business 
was that of a trader. He was often a selectman, several years a 
deacon, and finally ruling elder of the First Church. Each 
generation of his descendants has furnished distinguished men. 
His oldest son Ebenezer was lost overboard between Cape Ann 
and Cape Sable, October, 1732, aged twenty-six years. Jacob, the 
second son, married Sarah Redding in 1732. Nothing is known 
of him after the birth of a second son Jacob in 1734. Isaac, the 
next son that lived to maturity, married Hannah Bumham of 
Ipswich in 1734 ; became a deacon of the First Church ; and died 
July 5, 1767, leaving sons, — Isaac, bom in 1740, a pioneer 
in the settlement of New Gloucester, Me.; Nehemiah, bom 
in 1746 ; and Thomas, 1756, a representative four years, both 
of whom engaged in commerce in Gloucester, whence they re- 
moved to Boston ; and Aaron, bom in 1759, who also became 
a merchant in his native town, and died in 1809. Moses, the 
youngest son of Ebenezer Parsons, bom in 1716, graduated at 
Harvard College, 1736 ; and taught a school here several years, 
preparing himself for the work of the ministry, to which he was 
ordained in Byfield, June 20, 1744. He had preached here 
occasionally; and, in 1742, was chosen to assist Rev. John White 
of the First Parish ; a measure designed to heal the dissensions 
that had long existed in the parish : which did not, however, suit 
the malecontents ; and Mr. Parsons accepted a call to Byfield, 
where he remained till his death, which took place Dec. 14, 
1783. He was distinguished as a preacher, particularly excel- 
ling in the gift of prayer ; and was eminent for all the graces 
that adorn the character of the true Christian. His wife was 
Susanna, daughter of Ebenezer Davis ; to whom he was married 
Jan. 11, 1742. She died in Boston, Dec. 18, 1794, aged 
seventy-five. He had several sons, — Moses, bom in Gloucester 
in 1744, graduated at Harvard College 1765, and died in 1801 ; 



EARLY SETTLERS. " 125 

Eben^ bom in 1746, married Mary Gorham of this town, daugh- 
ter of Col. John Gorham of Barnstable, in 1767, — was exten- 
siyely engaged in commercial pursuits in Boston and Gloucester, 
and died in Byfield in 1819, leaving an only son Gorham, who 
was bom in Gloucester in 1768, became a wealthy merchant in 
Boston, and died at his farm in Byfield in 1843 ; Theophilus, 
the eminent Chief-Justice of Massachusetts, distinguished also 
for his learning and wit, and for the great influence he exercised 
in the party divisions of his day, died at his residence in Bos- 
ton, Oct. 30, 1813, aged sixty-three, leaving several children, 
one of whom is Theophilus, formerly a distinguished citizen of 
Boston, now professor in the Law School at Cambridge. Theo- 
dore, the next son of Rev. Moses Parsons, born in 1751, gra- 
duated at Harvard College in 1773. He sailed from Gloucester 
in March, 1779, on board the privateer brig " Bennington." A 
letter ^fas received from him, dated in May following ; after 
which he was never again heard from till accounts were received 
from London that the brig was sunk in the English Channel in 
an engagement with a British vessel of superior force. William, 
the youngest child, bom in 1755, eminent for a long and success- 
ful commercial career in Boston, and for the exalted character he 
bore to its close, died Macch 19, 1837, aged dghty-two. Few 
of our early settlers are represented by more numerous families 
than those who perpetuate the name of this respectable stock. 

John Pearce, styled ^^ a husbandman," was an early settler, 
and had land on the narrow projection, between Mill River and 
Annisquam River, which was formerly called "Pearce's Point." 
He was made a freeman in 1651 ; but the church-membership, 
then a necessary qualification for that privilege, is somewhat 
dishonored by the contumacious spirit, which, according to the 
records of the Quarterly Court, he often manifested. Within a 
period of four years, he was dealt with successively for reproach- 
ing the minister and ministry ; for absenting himself from public 
worship ; for speaking evil words of a magistrate ; and finally, as 
a juryman, for dissenting from the rest of the jury. He had a wife 
Elizabeth, to whom he was married Nov. 4, 1643. She died 
July 3, 1673 ; and he next married, Sept. 12, 1673, Jane Stan- 



126 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

wood, who died Aug. 18, 1706: he died Dec. 15, 1695. Hia 
children were — Mary, bom in 1650, married James Travis ; 
and John, bom in 1653, to whom he gave land to set a house 
upon in 1680. John Pearce, jun., had a wife Mary, and chil- 
dren, — Rachel, John, Stephen, and Silas. He sold to Francis 
Norwood his house and land on the south-east side of Goose 
Cove in 1682 ; and there is no mention of his name after that 
date. 

Thomas Penny bought, in 1652, a house and three acres ot 
land of Thomas Bray, and a house and home-lot of Thomas 
Jones. The first he sold back to Bray. In 1658, he bought 
land at Little River ; and, in 1679, had a grant next to William 
Haskell's land. These notices indicate that his residence was in 
the westerly part of the town. His wife Ann died April 26, 
1667 ; and he next married Agnes Clark, June 15, 1668, who 
died Feb. 23, 1682. He was again married. May 17, 1682, 
to Joan Braybrook. He died about 1692 ; leaving a daughter 
Joan, who married Thomas Kent, and is the only child named 
in his will. Persons of this name lived in town early in the 
next century, between whom and the preceding it would be natu- 
ral to suppose that a connection by blood existed. Thomas Penny 
married Miriam Elwell in 1721, and had five children : one of 
whom was a Thomas, who married here, and had a son Thomas, 
born in 1750 ; the same, perhaps, who died in New Gloucester, 
Feb. 28, 1813, aged sixty-two. An old Mrs. Penny died April 1, 
1758 ; and a Thomas Penny, in Febmary, 1774. 

John Pool, according to family tradition, was bom, about 
1670, in Taunton, England. Persons of the name of Pool were 
among the first settlers of our State. A John was of Cambridge 
in 1632. Elizabeth, " the virgin mother " of Taunton, was 
there as early as 1639. Our John Pool was a carpenter, and 
resided several years in Beverly; whence he removed to Glouces- 
ter in 1700. While living in Beverly, he worked at his trade 
with Richard Woodbury ; who died May 20, 1690, on his re- 
turn from the expedition to Canada, and was buried in Boston, 
leaving a widow, who became Pool's wife. Her maiden name 
was Sarah Haskell. He bought of John Emerson, jun., in April, 



EARLY SETTLERS. 127 

1700, a certain " farme, messuage, &c., at a place commonly called 
ye Cape," for £160. Pool found one family only at Sandy Bay 
on his removal to that place, — that of Richard Tarr, who had 
settled there a short time before. Unquestionable evidence 
exists to show that he was a man of great industry and enter- 
prise. He is said to have furnished the builders of Long Wharf 
in Boston, in 1710, with a large quantity of timber, which was 
carried thither in a sloop built by himself. He became possessed 
of a large landed property, sufficient to accommodate each of his 
sons with a farm. He was careful to provide a good education 
for his children, by sending the oldest son to Beverly to attend 
school, in order to be qualified to become the instructor of the 
rest. He died May 19, 1727;* leaving an estate of £2,832. 
His first wife died Nov. 13, 1716, aged about fifty-five years. 
His second wife was Deborah Dodge of Ipswich ; who died Feb. 1, 
1718, aged about thirty-three years. His next wife was Eliza- 
beth Holmes of Salem, who survived her marriage less than two 
years; and died July 13, 1721, aged between thirty and forty. 
His fourth and last wife was Abigail BaUard of Lynn. Notice 
of his intention of marriage with her was published May 19, 
1721 ; which was probably soon followed by the nuptial ceremony, 
making the bride the fourth wife the bridegroom had had within 
less than five years. His children were — Jonathan, bom in 1 694 ; 
Miriam, 1695 ; Robert, 1697 ; Ebenezer, 1699 ; and Joshua, 
1700 (these were all borne by the first wife, in Beverly). Caleb, 
1701, and John, 1708, were bom in Gloucester. By his last wife 
he had Return, bom in 1722; and Abigail, in 1725. The latter 
married John Dane. The uncommon baptismal name given to 
the former is said to have been bestowed by his father in com- 
memoration of the joy with which he heard the relenting voice 
of Abigail Ballard bid him to return, after she had once rejected 



* He was bariad on hit own land, on a spot now in Uie yard of Deacon Thomas 
Oiles; where his grayestone is still to be seen, bearing the following inscription: 

HeKX LTB8 TS BODT 

OF M' JOHN POOL, 

Agkd about 67 

Tkar*. Dkcd Mat 

Y« 19, 1727. 



128 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

the offer of his hand. Jonathan married Hannah Bumham of 
Ipswich, Jan. 4, 1722 ; and died in 1776. He had several chil- 
dren ; of whom four died, in 1738, of a throat distemper, which 
was at that time prevalent in Sandy Bay with distressing fatality. 
Robert married Anna Sargent, Jan. 1, 1724. Of his six chil- 
dren bom here, three died within a month in 1736. He re- 
moved to Boston about 1745 ; thence, in his old age, back to 
Gloucester ; and finally to Maine, where he died. Ebenezer 
married Elizabeth Norwood, Jan. 30, 1724 ; and died of small- 
pox in 1779. He had ten children ; one of whom was father of 
Francis, who was killed in the battle of Bunker Hill.* Joshua 
married Deliverance Giddings, Dec. 28, 1725. He lost his life 
in Sheepscot Kvcr, Me., by falling overboard from a boat in 
which he and Samuel Tarr were engaged in weighing an anchor, 
June 27, 1739, in consequence of the parting of the buoy-rope. 
They were heard to call out for help ; but, before any one could 
reach them, they were both drowned. The body of Pool was 
recovered, and buried in Wiscasset. Several of his children died 
young. Joshua, the oldest son, was lost in the ship " Tempest; " 
and Mark, who was bom after his father's death, served in his 
early youth in the French War, and fought on Bunker Hill as 
lieutenant of Capt. Rowe's company. In 1778, he joined the 
army under Sullivan, with a volunteer company raised by him- 
self ; and was engaged in the action which occurred near New- 
port, Aug. 29. After the peace, he held the rank of major in 
the militia. He died Feb. 11, 1815, aged seventy-six; having 
been always held in high esteem for the undaunted bravery of 
his military career. Caleb Pool married Martha Boreman 
of Ipswich, March 28, 1727. She died in 1760. Four of their 
children died, in 1738, of the throat distemper then prevailing. 
He is said to have married again twice. His last wife died, in 
1779, of small-pox; of which disease he also died about the 
same time. He left a son Caleb, whose religious experience 
places him among those who have been " blasted with excess of 

* A grandson of another U Mr. Ebenezer Pool of Rockport, who hait a large collec- 
tion of historical and genealogical facts relating to Sandy Bay and its early settlers. I 
am indebted to him for several items of information contained in this work. 



EARLY SETTLERS. 129 

light." His own account is still extant in print, to show the 
'* signs, wonders, and visions " by which God spoke to him for 
many years.* John Pool married Jemima Elwell, Oct. 29, 1729. 
They lost four children, in the fatal year of 1738, by the throat 
distemper. Four more were subsequently bom to them ; of whom 
one was Isaac, who married a daughter of Bev. £. Cleaveland. 
Return Pool went with his brother Robert to Boston, where he 
is supposed to have died without issue. 

Rowland Powell recorded land, in 1659, to John Collins, 
which had the same day been recorded to him by Collins. His 
name occurs so seldom, that the births of his children may be 
supposed to indicate the length of time he resided in Gloucester. 
Ue had a wife Isabella ; and a son Rowland and a daughter, 
twins, bom in 1657 ; a daughter Mary, bom in 1660; and a son 
Stephen, 1662. 

Hugh Pritchard imdoubtedly came to Gloucester with Mr. 
Blynman, with whom he is found in company in Plymouth Colony 
in 1641. He had thirteen acres of land on the neck of house- 
lots, which he sold to Thomas Wakley. He was selectman in 
1645, and soon afterwards removed from town. He was repre- 
sentative from Roxbury in 1649. 

Thomas Prince is called brother-in-law of Thomas Skillings. 
He came to Gloucester before 1650, and settled at the Harbor, on 
what is now Front Street ; where the family continued to reside 
more than a hundred years. He also had land in Fisherman's 
Field. He had a wife Margaret, who died Feb. 24, 1706. He 
died Jan. 17, 1690, aged seventy-one; leaving an estate of £153. 
His children were — Thomas, bom in 1650; John, 1653; Mary, 
1658 ; and Isaac, 1663. Thomas Prince, jun., married Eliza- 
beth Haraden, Sept. 27, 1676; and died Jan. 11, 1705, leaving 
sons John and Isaac, and probably daughters. John became a 
sea-captain ; and died April 19, 1767, aged ninety. He had 
eight children, of whom two were sons. One of these died in 
youth ; and of the other (Isaac), bom in 1718, nothing is known. 

* This account is in a pamphlet of thirty-ooe pages, entitled ** News from Heaven 
by Visions communicated miraculously to and explained by Caleb Pool of Olouces- 
t er." It was printed in Salem, 1805. 

17 



130 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

John and Isaac, sons of Thomas Prince, sen., do not appear to 
have married in town. Isaac received a soldier's lot at Kettle 
Cove in 1679, instead of John ; and was here ten years later, 
but afterwards disappears. Isaac, son of Thomas Prince, jun., 
bom in 1683, is supposed to be the same who married Honor 
Wonson, widow, in 1730. The only male issue of this mar- 
riage recorded is a JjDhn, bom in 1734. He is perhaps the early 
settler of New Gloucester, Me., of that name. No descendants 
of Thomas Prince, bearing the name, have resided in town for 
many years. 

John Pulcifer, or Pulsever, settled about 1680, according 
to tradition, near a spot still occupied by one of his descendants, 
on the old road leading to Coffin's Beach. In 1688, he had a 
piece of land " given to the house where he then lived." He 
married Joanna Kent, Dec. 31, 1684, and had children, — John, 
bom in 1685, and died in 1707 ; Joanna, 1688 ; Mary, 1691 ; 
a son, 1693 ; Ebenezer, 1695 ; Mary, 1697 ; David, 1701 ; and 
Jonathan, 1704. Ebenezer married Huldah Silley, Feb. 11, 
1720 ; and had many children. David had a wife Mary and 
children. Jonathan married Susanna Hadley, Dec. 11, 1729 ; 
and had children, — Susanna, Jonathan, and Samuel. The son 
bom in 1693 was named Thomas, who lived on the old home- 
stead. He married Sarah Grover, Jan. 6, 1726, who died in 
1728 ; and he next married Hannah Woodward, Oct. 29, 1730. 
She died in September, 1778, at an advanced age ; and he on the 
succeeding day, aged eighty-five. They were buried at the same 
time. One of his sons (Nathaniel) was a soldier in the French 
wars, and narrowly escaped massacre at the surrender of Fort 
William Henry. He died at a very advanced age ; leaving a 
son Nathaniel, — an aged citizen, now living on the ancestral 
estate. 

Phineas Rider was here as early as 1649, perhaps before ; 
and had his residence in the Harbor, near Governor's Hill. He 
left Gloucester in 1658, and went to Falmouth, Me. ; where he 
was town-commissioner in 1670 and 1671. He lived there in 
1675, before the destruction of the town by the Indians ; but his 
name is not afterwards met with. 



EARLY SETTLERS. 131 

Thomas Riggs first appears in town as a grantee of land at 
Goose Cove in 1658. In 1661, he bought houses and lands 
of Matthew Coe and Thomas and John Wakley, also situated 
near Goose Cove. A part of an old house in that section of the 
town is still shown as the original tenement erected hj him. He 
is said to have been educated in England for the profession of a 
scrivener ; and his ability in that line made him a welcome ac- 
quisition to a community, of whose men one-half were unable to 
write ; while his repeated election to the most important offices 
sufficiently attests the estimation in which he was held by the 
citizens. He was town-clerk from 1665 to 1716 (fifty-one years), 
selectman upwards of twenty years, and representative in 1700. 
Besides filling these offices, he often served on committees, and 
sometimes officiated as schoolmaster. He married, first, Mary, 
daughter of Thomas Millet, June 7, 1658. She died Jan. 23, 
1695 ; and he married, next, Elizabeth Frese, Oct. 80, 1695, who 
died June 16, 1722, aged eighty : he died Feb. 26, 1722, aged 
ninety. His children were — Mary, bom in 1659 ; Thomas, 
1660; Sarah, 1662; Anna, 1664; Thomas, 1666; John, 1670; 
Elizabeth, 1672; Abigail, 1678; and Andrew, 1682. Thomas 
settled near his father. He married Anne Wheeler of Salisbury, 
Nov. 22, 1687 ; who died Sept. 28, 1723, aged fifty-six. He 
had a second wife (Elizabeth) ; who died May 19, 1729, aged 
fifty-nine. He died in August, 1756, in his ninetieth year. Of 
his eleven children, four were sons, who married and had fami- 
lies in town, — Thomas, Moses, Aaron, and Joshua. John 
settled on the westerly side of Annisquam River, and resided 
there during his life. He married Ruth Wheeler, Jan. 1, 1690 ; 
and died Jan. 12, 1748, aged seventy-eight He also had eleven 
children, of whom four were sons. One of these died in infan- 
cy : the others — John, Jeremiah, and Jonathan — married in 
Gloucester. Jeremiah was a tanner, and removed, about 1725, 
to Falmouth, Me. ; where he carried on his trade, and died. He 
had several children, one of whom (Wheeler) was killed in 
the expedition to Penobscot in 1779. Andrew Riggs married 
Mary Richardson, Jan. 24, 1704. He must have attained a 
very advanced age ; for it appears that he was living in 1771. 



132 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

Besides six daughters, he had three sons, — William, Joseph, and 
George, — who settled in their native town. Two descendants 
of Thomas Riggs — David and Thomas — were soldiers in the 
French wars of the middle of the last century ; and some still 
live on and around the spot occupied by their ancestor. 

John Ring is first mentioned in 1697 ; when, as the agent, it 
is said, of Thomas Witham, he bought the Babson Farm at Lit- 
tle Good Harbor. A family of Rings were early inhabitants of 
Ipswich. John, of that town, married Mary, daughter of Tho- 
mas Bray of Gloucester, Nov. 18, 1664. She died here April 
11, 1725, aged seventy-seven; the wife or mother, probably, of 
our settler John. William, Daniel, and David, who were all in 
town about 1700, might also have been her children. John 
bought, in 1709, the tide-miUs on Sawmill River, and, without 
doubt, fixed his residence in that locality; though, in 1719, he 
also had a house in the West Precinct, near Ensign Haskell's. 
He served as a selectman several years ; and, in 1705, kept the 
town-school. The date of his death is not known. William 
Ring married Mary Sawyer, Dec. 5, 1699 ; who died Dec. 18, 
1717, aged forty-five. They had a son John, bom in 1703; and 
a William, in 1713. It appears that he was the same who mar- 
ried Mary Bray in 1720, and had six sons and a daughter. He 
died about 1737; and, in 1744, his real estate — consisting of 
a commill, sawmill, and house — ^^was divided among his heirs. 
One of his sons (Moses) came into possession of the mills; and, 
in 1757, petitioned for a license to keep a house of entertainment 
near them. He came home firom Canada ; and died Nov. 19, 
1759. Another son (Job) enlisted as a soldier in the Provincial 
army sent against the French in 1758 ; and died at Lake George, 
Oct. 1 of that year. Daniel Ring had a house and land that he 
bought of Jacob Davis. His earliest grant of land was in 1704. 
A Daniel Ring married Ann Denning in 1733, and had children ; 
one of whom, named Daniel, or the father, was lost at sea on a 
fishing voyage in 1755. David Ring had land near his £ather 
Haskell's house in 1706. This Haskell was Benjamin, whose 
daughter Elinor he had married. She died in 1713 ; and he 
next married Susanna Day, who died in 1720. He had, for a 



EARLY SETTLERS. 133 

third wife, Martha Winslow ; to whom he was married in 1722. 
He had several children : but the only son having any known 
progeny was David, who married Abigail Parsons in 1756, and 
had David, who was lost at sea on a fishing voyage ; William, 
who became mate of a vessel, and perished by shipwreck on 
Tinker's Island in 1786 ; and Job, who lost his life in efiecting 
his escape from the Jersey prison-ship in New York in the 
Revolutionary War. Bartholomew, son of the latter, formerly 
a sea-captain, has been a representative in the General Court. 
It is only by his family that the name is continued in Gloucester. 
A Mary Ring died Feb. 17, 1758, more than eighty years old. 

John Roberts, called a planter, may have belonged to the 
family of Robert Roberts, an early settler of Ipswich, who had a 
son John, bom in 1646. Land is not recorded to him till seve- 
ral years after his first appearance in town ; which was on 
occasion of his marriage to Hannah, daughter of Thomas Bray, 
Feb. 4, 1677 ; the bride then not having quite completed her 
fifteenth year. In 1695, he had a grant of six acres by the land 
of Nathaniel Hadlock ; and, in 1705, six acres near Hadlock^s 
house, " by the side of the lot that said Roberts formerly had for 
going out a soldier.'* Hadlock's land bordered on Ipswich line ; 
and this land, mentioned as granted to Roberts for military ser- 
vice, may have been given by the neighboring town. He died 
Jan. 10, 1714 : his wife died March 23, 1717, aged fifty-five. 
Their children were — Nathaniel, born in 1679; John, 1680; 
Samuel, 1685 ; Thomas, 1687 ; Ebenezer, 1690 ; Mary, 1696, 
died in 1717 ; and Job, 1701, died in 1725. Nathaniel had 
a wife Mary; and a son Jonathan, bom in 1708. John married 
Patience, daughter of Benjamin Haskell, March 17, 1703. He 
spent his whole life near the place of his birth, in the West Par- 
ish, esteemed by his neighbors and friends as a just and upright 
man. He was a selectman several years. He died May 3, 1767, 
aged eighty-seven : his wife also lived to advanced age. They 
had three sons, who settled in their native parish, and lived to 
old age. Benjamin, the oldest, married Ruth Martin in 1728 ; 
had several children; and died April 4, 1777, aged seventy- 
three. John, another son, married Mary Lane in 1735. He 



134 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

was deacon of the Second Church many years ; and died about 
1794, aged eighty. He had several children ; one of whom was 
Levi, who died in Jxme, 1818, aged seventy-two. Charles L., 
son of the latter, was a trader on Front Street many years ; and 
died of consumption, Nov. 3, 1831, aged forty-eight, leaving 
several children, all of whom have settled away from their na- 
tive town. Ephraim, yoimgest son of the second John, died 
July 25, 1806, aged eighty-five. Ebenezer, son of the first 
John, had a wife Sarah, and thi-ee children bom, before 1721. 
In 1727, he was admitted a resident of Falmouth, Me. 

Abraham Robinson. — A traditionary account of the most 
respectable character affirms that this individual was a son of 
Rev. John Robinson, whose name and praise are familiar to 
New-England ears as the faithful pastor of that band of Pil- 
grims, who, after bitter persecutions in their native land, and a 
sojourn of several years at Amsterdam and Leyden in Holland, 
foimd a final resting-place at Plymouth in New England; whither 
a part of the church emigrated in 1620, and most of the remain- 
der in subsequent years. Various obstacles frustrated Mr. Ro- 
binson's design of coming over, and he remained at Leyden till 
his death ; which took place March 1, 1625, at the age of forty- 
nine. His widow and children are said to have come to New 
England. Mrs. Robinson probably arrived in the summer of 
1630, in the ship " Lyon ; " which vessel is known to have 
brought a remnant of the Pilgrims that year : and James Shir- 
ley, one of the Plymouth adventurers in England, writing to 
Gov. Bradford at Plymouth, New England, March, 1630, says, 
in reference to some of the Leyden people about to embark, 
'* Their indiscreet carriage hath so abated my afiection towards 
them, as, were Mrs. Robinson well over, I would not disburse one 
penny for the rest." Isaac, a son of the Pilgrim pastor, came to 
New England in 1631, and settled in Plymouth Colony, where 
he was living in 1634. He finally settled in Barnstable, and 
lived to a very advanced age. The tradition before alluded to 
asserts that Abraham, another son, settled at Cape Ann, and had 
several children bom here ; one of which (Abraham) was the 
first child born of English parents on this side of the Bay, and 



EARLY SETTLERS. 135 

died at the extraordinary age of one hundred and two years. In 
our early grants and sales of land, incidental aUusion is twice 
made to lots belonging to Abraham Robinson ; and, in 1708, his 
son Abraham received a common right for the house his father 
built, and in which he died Feb. 23, 1645. The inventory of 
his estate amoimted to £18. lis. He left a widow Mary, who 
married William Brown, July 15, 1646; and, agaiu becoming a 
widow in 1662, married Henry Walker in the same year, and 
died April 17, 1690. His son Abraham, on coming to matu- 
rity, received several lots of land bequeathed to him by his 
step-father Brown ; and, in 1668, grants at Eastern Point, where 
he fixed his residence, and lived in obscurity to a great age. 
Neither the date of his birth nor death has been yet ascertained ; 
and the statement that he died at the age of one hundred and 
two years is not confirmed by any contemporaneous record. The 
probate-books, however, furnish evidence that he was living in 
1730, — eighty-five years after his father's death. From the 
mention made of him in his step-father's will, the date of his 
land-grants, and the time of his marriage, it may be reasonably 
inferred that he was in early childhood at the period of that event ; 
and that, if he lived to be a centenarian, his death must have 
occurred about 1740. Family tradition has preserved the memory 
of an ancient silver vessel once in his possession, which is said to 
have been used by his celebrated ancestor on baptismal occasions, 
and which is now owned by a descendant in Philadelphia.* A 
few articles of ancient Delft waref are also preserved by one of 
his posterity in Lowell, as precious memorials of his Pilgrim de- 
scent. This second Abraham Robinson married Mary, daughter 
of Edward Haraden, July 7, 1668 : she died Sept. 28, 1725, 

• George W. Sargent, son of Gov. Winthrop Sargent, deceased ; whose mother was 
grand-daughter of CapL Andrew Robinson. 

t Delft ware is a kind of pottery covered with an enamel, or white glazing, which 
gives it the appearance of porcelain. It has its name from Delft in Holland, where it 
is made in large quantities. Delft Haven, where the Pilgrims embarked, is only a few 
miles from Leyden; and it is quite likely that articles of this ware composed a part of 
their scanty furniture. I do not know whether it was in common une in England at 
that period or not: I have not found it in possession of any other Gloucester family 
than this. It is mentioned as part of the effects of two of the gralld-daughters of the 
second Abraham Robinson. 



136 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

aged seventy-six. They had the following children : namely, 
Mary, bom in 1669, married John Elwell ; Sarah, 1671, married 
John Butman ; Elizabeth, 1673, married Timothy Somes ; Abi- 
gail, 1675, married Joseph York; Abraham, 1677; Andrew, 
1679; Stephen, 1681; Ann, 1684, married Samuel Davis; Dor- 
cas, 1685, married Jonathan Stan wood; Deborah, 1688, married 
John Stanwood; Hannah, 1691, died in 1717, immarried; and 
Jane, 1693, married John Williams. Abraham, the oldest son, 
was one of the earliest settlers on the north side of the Cape. 
He had, in 1706, a grant of four acres of land on the south-west 
side of the brook running into Plum Cove ; and, in 1710, he and 
his brother-in-law, Joseph York, had a grant of land " to try 
whale's oyle on." To what extent he carried on the whale-fishery 
is not known ; but the inventory of his estate shows that he pos- 
sessed some of the implements of the business. He married, 
Feb. 10, 1703, Sarah York, who died Aug. 9, 1718; and he next 
married Anna Harvey, Feb. 14, 1721. He died Dec. 28, 1724, 
aged forty-seven, leaving five sons and four daughters. Jona- 
than, his grandson, removed, upwards of fifty years ago, to Lis- 
bon, Me., and lived to be about eighty years old. He left 
behind a son Jonathan ; who died Nov. 28, 1843, aged eighty- 
five. Other descendants remain at Squam, one of whom (Daniel) 
was a representative in 1840. Andrew, the second son of Abra- 
ham Robinson, sen., was one of the most remarkable men that 
Gloucester has ever produced. Of his youth nothing more is 
known, than that, at the age of eleven years, he was living with 
his paternal grandmother, and her husband, Henry Walker, who 
left him, by will, a legacy of twenty pounds. In the vicinity of 
this early home, which was surrounded for many miles by a dense 
forest, he probably acquired the passion for himting ; which in . 
manhood often led him several days at a time upon distant ex- 
cursions, from which he always returned with abundant proof of 
his courage and skill. On arriving at the age of twenty-one, he 
received a grant of land near his father's, on Eastern Point ; on 
which he built " the great house," which was his home during 
the remainder .of his life. Near by was his wharf, and the yard 
in which he sometimes built vessels, and from which he launched. 



EARLY SETTLERS. 137 

in 1713, the strangely rigged craft, that, on gliding from the 
stocks, received from him the appellation of " schooner," and thus 
secured him a more than local renown. There he also engaged 
in the fishery ; going often on to the Banks himself, and giving 
his men such an example of persevering industry that he rarely 
failed to make a successftJ voyage. In this employment he often 
came in contact with the Indians about Cape Sable ; who, as is 
weU known, harassed and annoyed, for a long series of years, the 
fishermen who frequented their coasts, — sometimes capturing and 
murdering them. The first accoimt of him in connection with 
these savages occurs in 1708, when he ransomed the sloop 
" Peacock," a vessel belonging to him which they had taken. 
He was not the man to suffer a second time in the like manner ; 
and accordingly, the next year, having armed and equipped his 
vessel, and received a commission from the governor, he sailed 
on a fishing voyage, intent also upon making reprisals, and 
taking revenge for the injury of the preceding year. Sailing 
into a place called Margaret's Bay, imder French colors, he de- 
coyed two Indians, who were in a canoe, within reach of his 
guns, and shot them, preserving their scalps ; which, on his return 
home, were presented at the proper place in Boston for the bounty 
allowed by the government.* This, however, was not obtained ; 
but the government granted him, by a special act, a reward of 
twenty pounds, and commended the deed as " a good service." 
In October of that year, — which was one of considerable excite- 
ment in Massachusetts, on account of the extensive preparations 
for a contemplated expedition against the French possessions in 
America, — Capt. Robinson was ordered by the governor to pro- 
ceed in his vessel, in company with another from this town, to 
attempt to take a vessel, supposed to be a French privateer, which 
had been driven in by a violent storm, and forced to anchor off 
Nahant. He embarked in this enterprise, but returned without 
accomplishing its object. For this service also he received, be- 
sides the proper pecuniary satisfaction, the favorable notice of the 



* This bounty was a reward of forty ponndSf offered by the General Court, in 1708, 
for every Indian scalp, to encourage small parties to hunt the savages. 

18 



138 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

General Court for his laudable zeal in the public employment. 
In February following, Capt. Robinson proposed to the govern- 
ment to man his sloop with fifty men, and cruise against the 
enemy ; but, before any arrangement was completed, he received 
an order from the governor to man and equip his vessel imme- 
diately, and sail in pursuit of a French privateer which had been 
seen off Cape Cod. The enterprise was not an inviting one to 
men who had neither the iron constitution of the leader, nor the 
daring spirit, and contempt of danger and hardship, for which 
he was distinguished. The captains of the mihtary companies 
were called on for assistance, and the drums were beaten for 
volunteers : still enlistment went on too slowly for the impatience 
of the commander, and impressment was threatened. But our 
people were inveterately averse to the enterprise, and even fled 
from their homes under fear of compulsion to engage in it ; so 
that it was probably abandoned. Exculpatory letters were ad- 
. dressed to the governor by Capt. Robinson, the militia-captains, 
the magistrate, and the minister. The latter, with a true pastoral 
regard for the comfort of his flock, said in their behalf, that " it 
made them quake to think of turning out of their warm beds 
and from good fires, and be thrust into a naked vessel, where 
they must lie on the cold, hard ballast, instead of beds, and with- 
out fire, excepting some few who might crowd into the cabin." 
It is not known that Capt Robinson was again employed in the 
public service till 1722, when he fitted out at Canso in quest of 
some Indians who had recently taken several fishing vessels. 
This cruise was so far successful, that he came up with a canoe 
containing seven of the enemy, six of whom he killed. The 
next year (1723), the Indians, instigated by the French, imited 
in a general war. In the latter part of July they surprised Canso, 
and took sixteen or seventeen Massachusetts fishing vessels. Two 
sloops were manned, and sent in pursuit of the enemy. One of 
these was commanded by Capt. Robinson, who retook two of the 
vessels, and killed several of the men.* In consideration of his 



• Hatchinson (History of Massachusetts, vol. ii. p. 295) erroneously gives our In- 
dian slayer the baptismal name of John. 



EARLY SETTLERS. 139 

services in the war with the French and Indians, and the expenses 
he had incurred, which had not been re-imbursed, the General 
Court, in 1730, granted him three hundred acres of the unap- 
propriated land of the Province.* The last service in which 
Capt. Robinson was engaged for the government was the erection 
of a fort and truck-house at St. George's River, Me. This was 
an important work ; and Capt. Robinson's knowledge of the In- 
dian character, together with the uncommon bravery and tact he 
had often exhibited in his dealings with the savages, might well 
have designated him as a suitable person to superintend it. Gov. 
Shirley testified to his faithful performance of this duty while 
he was engaged in it ; for, before its completion, he was taken 
sick with a lung-fever, which, after a short illness, caused his 
death. He was attended in his last sickness by one of his 
daughters, who deposited his remains in one comer of the fort, f 

Capt. Robinson was possessed of great bodily strength, a 
coorage that never quailed, and resources of mind, by which 
he was often extricated from impending destraction. The ac- 
counts of his marvellous exploits with the Indians, his surpris- 
ing feats of bravery and daring, and his hair-breadth escapes, 
were, for many years after his death, the oft-recurring theme 
of fireside story. The account of one of his exploits may, 
perhaps, be properly preserved in this place from the oblivion 
to which time is fast consigning the details of his personal 
history. 

Being, on one occasion, in a harbor at the eastward, with his 
sloop and two men, he was surprised by the Indians, and cap- 
tured. The savages soon despatched his men, and reserved the 
captain himself for such a death as they could celebrate and 
accompany with the highest exultation and rejoicing ; but, as 
was customary with the savages when they could get rum, when 
night came on, they were all drunk but one, who, not being so 
badly off as the rest, was appointed guard. Robinson feigned 



• This grmnt wi» probably laid out at Mine Hill, Worcester County.— Whiineff: 
Ostory of (he Qftmtg of WorcuUr, 

t The site of the old fort is still shown near the mansion of the late Gen. Enoz, in 
Thomastoo, Me. 



140 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

sleep ; and as soon as he had reason to believe that all the In- 
dians, except the guard, were buried in slumber, he attacked 
the latter, and killed him. He then made his way for his vessel, 
which was some miles distant ; and, as soon as he reached her, 
prepared to sail. Daylight coming on, he got under way, and 
put out to sea ; but he had not proceeded far when he descried 
the Indians, who, having recovered from their stupor and miased 
their captive, had now reached the shore in pursuit of him. 
They immediately started off in their canoes to recapture him ; 
and, as the wind was light, they rapidly approached the sloop, 
and soon Robinson could hear their exulting shouts. These, 
however, were shortly exchanged for yells of desperation and 
madness ; for the fertile mind of Robinson had prepared for them 
a reception which they little expected. He had on board his 
vessel a large quantity of scupper nails, well known for their 
peculiar shape ; being short, and having a sharp point, and a large, 
flat head, with a sharp edge. These were at once brought forth, 
and scattered thickly upon such parts of the deck as the Indians 
would alight upon when they came over the side. The savages 
came boldly on, notwithstanding the brisk firing of the captain, 
which brought down a red man at every shot ; and, having got 
alongside the sloop, sprang, with tomahawk in hand, like in- 
furiated demons upon the deck ; upon which, as the sharp nails 
suddenly pierced their naked feet, they fell headlong, and were 
quickly despatched by Capt. Robinson, who threw them over- 
board in such rapid succession, that those of the savages who 
had not yet boarded, convinced that their great foe not only 
bore a charmed life himself, but brought death to every Indian 
enemy that came within his reach, quickly paddled away in con- 
sternation and amazement. The captain now made the best of 
his way home, where he soon arrived, to astonish his friends 
and townsmen by the relation of an adventure distinguished for 
boldness, bravery, and cunning. 

Capt. Robinson was representative in 1738 and 1739. He 
died in 1742, leaving an estate of £2,372. His wife was Re- 
becca Ingersol; to whom he was married Dec. 7, 1704. She 
died Nov. 11, 1743, aged fifty-seven. They had one son and 



EARLY SETTLERS. 141 

nine daughters. The son and one daughter died in infancy. 
Rebecca,* bom in 1705, married Robert Giddings, and died 



* Her daughter Rebecca married Alexander Smithy and had a daughter Rebecca, 
who married Samuel Webber, late President of Harvard College. From a statement 
in the handwriting of this lady, I have derived the tradition mentioned in the text The 
early history of Glouce{»ter is so little connected with matters of general historical 
interest, that this tradition, relating to a subject to which no student of New-England 
history can be indifferent, seemed to demand investigation. 1 have explored every 
quarter from which information might be reasonably expected, and have embodied the 
scanty result in the above article. Better success may reward some future explorer. 
The paper of Mrs. Webber wns found by me in possession of SHrouel L. Dana, LL.L)., 
of Lowell ; having come into his hands among the effects of his brother, the late 
James F. Dana, Professor in Dartmouth College. These brothers are descended from 
Mary, the oldest daughter of Abraham Robinson, who married John Elwell. From 
her the Delft ware alluded to has been handed down to Dr. Dana of Lowell. The 
paper was written, about the year 1824, at the request of Professor Dana, who was the 
husband of Mrs. Webber's daughter Matilda. Mrs. Webber was then sixty-two years 
old, and was in the full possession of a very excellent memory. She was contemporary 
many years with several of Andrew Robinson's daughters, her great-aunts, who, of 
course, had lived in neighborly and familiar intercourse with their grandfather, the 
centenarian ; and are said, by their descendants, to have been women of uncommon 
intelligence and superior education. Her mother was bom in 1730 ; and could, there- 
fore, probably remember her venerable ancestor. She resided in Mrs. Webber's family 
at Cambridge during the last years of her life, and died at her house in 1810. Mrs. 
Webber's children remember that the Pilgrim ancestry of the family was often the 
subject of conversation in the domestic circle, and that one visitor — Chief-Justice 
Parsons — was particuhurly interested in it The late Uorham Parsons, nephew of the 
latter, in a letter which 1 have seen, gives the substance of Mrs. Webber's statement, 
and connects his own branch of the Parsons Family with the Robinsons. But he is 
mistaken : there was no mingling of the blood of the two families in his line. The 
grandmother of Rev. Moses Parsons, on the mother's side, was daughter of the first 
Abraham Robinson's wife by her second marriage. Mrs. Webber's account contains 
anachronisms ; which, considering that even a good memory often errs in dates, do 
not affect its value, if otherwise entitled to confidence, it also mentions four sons 
and one or more daughters of the first Abraham Robinson, concerning whom we have 
no further information. Here follows her account : — 

** When the Pilgrims left Holland to seek an asylum in America, where they hoped 
to enjoy liberty of conscience, they left behind them their venerable pastor, — the 
Rev. John Robinson; who promised to join them the next year, but was prevented by 
death from fulfilling his promise. About two years after the first landing of the Pil- 
grims, they were followed by Mr. Robinson's widow and two sons. They continued 
in the Colony of Plymouth till the year 1626. Early in the spring of that year, one 
of the sons with several others left Plymouth to explore the Bay, in order to find a 
taitable place for a fishing station. They landed at Agassqium, since called Cape 
Ann; where, finding a commodious harbor and plenty of materials for building, they 
concluded to set up a fishing stage there, and make preparations for removing their 
fkmilies from the other side of the Bay, and establish a permanent settlement at that 
place. Very soon after they had got settled there with their families, Mr. Robinson 
had a son bom, whom he called Abraham. He had four other sons, — Zebuk>n, Samuel, 
Jonathan, and Stephen, — and one <a more daughters. Abraham married young, and 



142 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

about 1784. One of her daughters married an Averill, and died 
in Boston about 1825, aged ninety-six. Mary (1709) married 
Benjamin Perkins, who was lost at sea. She kept a tavern 
several years, and died in 1759; having previously become 
blind. Judith (1711) married Thomas Sanders, and died in 
1770. Abigail (1715) had three husbands, — a Parsons, a Bing, 
and a Sargent, — and died in 1781. Dorcas (1717) married 
Samuel Hidden. Hannah (1720) married James Pearson. 
Ann (1723) married Nathaniel Kinsman, and died suddenly 
about 1790. Sarah married Richard Palfrey, and died at an 
advanced age. Stephen Robinson married Sarah Smith, Nov. 25, 
1703, who died Oct. 15, 1720 ; and he next married Elizabeth 
Ingersol, May 10, 1721. He settled somewhere near the 
Meeting-house, and only emerges from obscurity as its sexton 
for several years. He is supposed to have died before May, 
1742; when Jeremiah, his son, was paid by the town for 
taking care of his mother ten months. His sons that lived to 
maturity and married were Stephen, Smith, and Jeremiah. The 
former, bom in 1709, married Mary Clark in 1730, and had a 
daughter Sarah ; and probably the Stephen, son of Stephen, 



had twelve children, — three sons (John, Stephen, and Andrew) and nine daughters, 
two of whom died young : the other seven were married, and left families, — Elwell, 
Davis, Butman, Williams, Somes. Mr. Abraham Robinson lived to the age of a hun- 
dred and two years, much beloved and respected by his friends and acquaintance 
for his piety and strict integrity. It was engraved on his tombstone, that he was the 
fin»t child bom of English parents on that side of Massachusetts Bay.*' 

The material part of this statement was believed by Professor Dana to be well 
founded; and to me it has always appeared to bear the impress of truth. Recent 
research hns added considerably to our knowledge of the Robinson Family. As this 
work is about to go to press, we learn, from the remarks made by Mr. George Sum- 
ner at Plymouth, Aug. 2, 1859, that in the registry of the census of Leyden, taken in 
1622, and still preserved there, he "found inscribed the inmates of the house of 
Robinson,— himself, his wife, six children, and one maid-servant Thus stands the 
record : — 

"Jan Robberson, preacher. 

" Brigetta (Briget) Robberson, his wife. 

** John, Bridget, Isaac, Mercy, Favor, Jacob Robberson, his children. 

" Maria Hardy, his maid-servant" 

From this it appears that Mr. Robinson had sons to whom he gave the patriarchal 
names, Isaac and Jacob ; and that, unless he also had an Abraham who was not an 
iwnaU of hii house in 1622, some other parentage must be sought for our early settler 
of that name. — See Historical Magazine, vol. iii. p. 882. 



EARLY SETTLERS. 148 

who was baptized in 1736. This last Stephen is supposed to 
be the same who, with his wife, was helped by the town in 1765, 
and, in 1775, was buried at its expense ; leaving no known issue, 
unless Stephen, who died Oct. 20, 1829, aged sixty-nine, was 
his son. Smith Robinson, born in 1712, appears to have settled 
in Salem, and to have died before 1742 ; when Mary Robinson 
presented an inventory of his estate, which was of very small 
amount. Jeremiah, bom in 1719, married Elizabeth Lufkin in 
1741. He resided on the old back road to Sandy Bay. He 
was the grave-digger at the old burying-ground about sixty 
years ; and is remembered by some of our elderly people, totter- 
ing, under the weight of his tools and the infirmities of age, to 
his melancholy employment. He died about 1800. It is not 
known that he had more than one son (Jeremiah), who married 
in town, and had an only son of the same name. The latter 
died, unmarried, just after he had returned home sick from a 
voyage. 

John Rowe settled in that part of the town which has long 
been known as the Farms. He bought land there, in 1651, of 
Thomas Drake ; into whose possession it passed from Nicholas 
Norton of Weymouth, who bought it of William Vinson ; to 
whom it was sold by George Norton, the original grantee. He 
was the first settler on this remote and lonely spot. A dense 
forest surrounded him, separating him on one side from the 
ocean, which was not far distant ; and on the other from his 
townsmen, most of whom were more than two miles off. He 
did not, however, find repose in this retired place : for he ap- 
pears in 1656, intimating a " mind to set his house on fire, and 
nm away by ye light ; " and expressing a desire " to live no 
longer among such a company of hell-hoimds." He continued 
there, nevertheless, till death relieved him from all earthly 
trouble, March 9, 1662. He left a widow Bridget, who mar- 
ried William Colman ; and two sons, — John and Hugh. John 
had a portion of his father's property, which he occupied till 
his death ; which took place, Sept. 25, 1700. He was twice 
married: first to Mary Dickersonn, Sept. 27, 1663; who died 
April 25, 1684. By her he had children, — John, bom in 1665, 



144 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

died in 1690; James, 1666; Thomas, 1668; Mary, 1670; 
Elizabeth, 1673 ; Stephen, 1675 ; Samuel, 1678 ; Ebenezer, 
1680, died in 1692 ; Andrew, 1683, died 1700. He next mar- 
ried Sarah Redington, Sept. 1, 1684; who died Feb. 15, 1701. 
Of his four children by her, all but the last (Rebekah) died in 
childhood. Only two of his sons are known to have married : 
Stephen married, first, Martha Low in 1699, who died Dec. 4, 
1718, aged thirty-nine; and, next, Elizabeth Ciimey in 1721, 
who is said to have lived to be nearly a hundred years old. 
He died April 28, 1731, aged fifty-six. He had sons Stephen ; 
John ; Thomas ; Joseph ; Benjamin ; David, who was an ensign 
in the expedition against Crown Point in 1755 ; and Jonathan. 
The second son (John), bom in 1714, settled at Sandy Bay ; 
where he married Mary Baker in 1736. He was lieutenant of 
a company raised in town, in 1755, for service in the campaign 
against the French that year. His son John, bom in 1737, 
married Sarah Pool. He was sergeant in the company with his 
father in 1755 ; and, at the commencement of the Revolutionary 
War, took command of one of the Gloucester companies that 
fought at Bunker Hill. Being at home on ftirlough in the 
summer of 1776, he engaged in an attack upon a British vessel 
off the Cape, and was taken, and carried, a prisoner, to New York. 
He became a major in the militia, and died on his farm at 
Pigeon HiU about 1800. His son John, although a youth of 
only sixteen years, enlisted in his father's company, and fought 
on Bunker Hill. He served in the army throughout the war, 
and was engaged in many important battles. He commanded 
a company in Shay's Rebellion, and was appointed to head a 
column which attacked the rebels, and drove them from a strong 
fort, where they threatened defiance. At the commencement 
of the last war with Great Britain, he had the offer of a high 
command in Hull's army, but declined the service ; foreseeing 
and predicting, it is said, its disastrous fate. He was an accom- 
plished officer, and showed rare skill and courage in military 
tactics. At the time of his death (October, 1820), he was re- 
siding in Maine. Jabez, another son of the Sandy-Bay settler, 
served in the expedition against Canada in 1759. He had a 



EARLY SETTLERS. 145 

son Jabez ; whose son, David Sawyer Rowe, graduated at Bow- 
doin College, and was several years Principal of the State 
Normal School at Westfield. Isaac, brother of the elder Jabez, 
served in the Revolutionary War ; and died in January, 1852, 
aged ninety. Thomas Rowe, bom in 1717, occupied the pater- 
nal acres ; and died about 1790, leaving a son William, who died 
Sept. 24, 1856, aged ninety-three ; having, just before his death, 
removed from his old home on the estate* which had been in the 
family more than two himdred years. Samuel Rowe, bom in 
1678, married Dorcas Ingersol in 1709 ; and died in 1742, leav- 
ing sons James and Jonathan, and a daughter Judith. James 
married Abigail Rowe in 1736 ; and besides a son James, who 
died March 26, 1819, aged eighty -one, had sons Samuel, 
Benjamin, David, and Nathaniel. Jonathan married Abigail 
Parsons in 1742, and removed to New Gloucester, Me., in 1763. 
One of his sons (Zebulon) died there in 1843, aged ninety-four. 
Hugh, son of the first settler (John), married Rachel Langton, 
June 10, 1667. She may have been a daughter of William 
Vinson, who, in a deed, calls Rowe his son-in-law. He enlisted 
in the Indian War of 1675, and received a grant of land at 
Kettle Cove for his services. His wife died March 7, 1674, 
leaving three daughters, who married three sons of Anthony 
Day. He next married Mary, daughter of Thomas Prince, 
Sept. 10, 1674 ; and had, by her, sons Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, 
Joseph, and Benjamin, and three daughters. Abraham married 
Bethiah Elwell; and died July 8, 1706, leaving no children. 
Isaac is supposed to have died unmarried, Feb. 23, 1723. 
Jacob married Mary Cumey in 1713. In 1723, he was en- 
gaged in the miHtary service of the Colony ; and died, in 1730, 
of small-pox ; leaving, probably, a son Jacob. Joseph married 
Abigail Smith in 1712, and had five children. He served in 
the expedition againt Port Royal in 1707, and received several 



* It may, perhaps, be deserring of mention in this chapter of family history, that on 
this spot, his present home, the writer is now penning these lines ; and that on an ad- 
joining estate, now separated from this by a road, his ancestor, James Babson, fixed 
hk permanent abode two eentnries ago. 

19 



146 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

dangerous wounds ; in consequence of which, the General Court, 
in 1735, granted him one hundred and fifty acres of land. 

Edward Rowse. — Nothing more is known of this person 
than that he bought land, on the neck of house-lots, of Morris 
Somes ; and sold, in 1651, house and land to Robert Tucker. 

John Sadler. — More information concerning him would be 
desirable. Although he was one of Mr. Blynman's company, 
one of the first selectmen, and a proprietor of lots in several 
places, he is not mentioned in the records as a grantee of land. 
In the frequent incidental allusions to him, he is variously dis- 
tinguished by the title of Mr., Captain, and Major, but never 
designated by his baptismal name. He was made a freeman in 
1642. Whither he went from Gloucester, is not known. The 
only further account we have of him is contained in the entry on 
our records of a commoner's claim, made in 1704 by the heirs 
of Osman Dutch, " by virtue of a house and land which was 
given to Robert Sadler by his father Captain Sadler, when he 
sent for his wife into England," and which Dutch purchased of 
Hxigh Calkin, Sadler's attorney, in 1651. 

Abial Sadler had, in 1689, three acres of land above the 
head of Stony Cove. Before that date, he had been a soldier 
in the Colony service, from Essex County. He had a child bom 
here by Rebekah, his wife, March 13, 1693. She was probably 
a daughter of Richard Dike ; and, after the death of Sadler 
(Sept. 15, 1697), is supposed to have married Josiah Tainer. 
Another supposition might identify the child above mentioned, 
or a previous one, with John Sadler, who, in 1718, married 
Sarah Scott of Rowley ; and in 1720, then living in Rowley, 
sold a house and land situated in the Second Parish, in the deed 
of which he calls Josiah Tainer his father-in-law. 

James Sawyer was a weaver, and may have been a son of 
William Sawyer, who came to New England about 1640. A 
William Sawyer, sen., was living in Newbury, in 1697, in ad- 
vanced age. James Sawyer's wife was Sarah, daughter of Tho- 
mos Bray. He first appears in Gloucester on the birth of his 
son Nathaniel in 1677. His other children were — Abraham, 
bom in 1680 ; Sarah, 1683 ; Isaac, 1684 ; Jacob, 1687 ; James, 



BARLT SETTLERS. 147 

1691 ; and Thomas^ John, and Mary, who were bom, probably, 
before he came to this town. He was a grantee of a six-acre 
lot on the west side of Annisquam River in 1688 ; and in 1690 
he bought land in that section of the town, and had his residence 
there. He died May 31, 1703. His wife survived him many 
years ; and was living in 1726, with her son Abraham, on the 
family homestead, probably, on the way leading to Coffin's 
Farm. This son is not known to have been married. His estate 
was divided in 1762. Thomas married twice : first to Hannah 
Millet, in 1690; and next to Hannah Foster, in 1691. This 
last wife had had ten children by a previous husband, eight of 
which she brought to these nuptials. The new imion was blessed 
by an addition of two, — James, bom in 1692; and Fran- 
cis, who died in infisuicy. Thomas Sawyer bought the house 
which had been the home of his last wife, and there settled. It 
was situated at the Harbor, near the Beach. He died Jan. 12, 
1711. John married Rebekah Stanford in 1701, and had several 
children bom here before 1719 ; when he removed to Falmouth, 
Me. Nathaniel married Hannah Parker, Nov. 4, 1706, and 
died about 1741. Nine children are recorded as the offspring 
of this marriage. Isaac had a wife Martha (to whom he was 
married in 1706) and several children. He removed in 1725 
to Falmouth ; where he died in 1772, aged eighty-eight. Jacob 
married Sarah Wallis in 1716, and had five children bom in 
Gloucester before 1726; soon after which, he joined the emigra- 
tion to Falmouth. James, the youngest of these brothers, and 
James, son of Thomas, were both married in 1714 : the latter, 
it is supposed, to Elinor EUery ; and the former to Hannah 
Babson, Dec. 23 of that year. He settled at Fresh-water Cove, 
on a place still owned in the family. When he became old, he 
moved into a house he owned in the woods, and died there some 
time in the Bevolutionary War, at a very advanced age ; leaving 
a son Abraham, who was married at Mrs. Wheeler's, in presence 
of " a great company," April 13, 1768, to Mary Sayward. He 
died about 1815, aged seventy-eight; and his wife died at the 
age of eighty. He was a sailmaker by trade ; and therefore had 
his residence at the Harbor, where he built, in 1760, a house 



148 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

on Front Street, which came into possession of his son Abraham, 
and was owned and occupied by him till his death, May 3, 1856, 
at the venerable age of ninety-five. Descendants of James 
Sawyer are not numerous here ; but many are living in Portland 
and its vicinity. 

William Sargent had grants of land in 1649 ; and he 
became the possessor of the houses and lands of Streeter and 
Baker. One of these houses was near the burying-ground, — 
probably on its western side ; and there he seems to have fixed 
his residence. He was a selectman several years, and represen- 
tative in 1671 and in 1691. He married Abigail, daughter of 
Edmund Clark, "at a general traine at Ipswich," Sept. 10, 1651 ; 
and died Feb. 19, 1717, aged ninety-three, having survived all 
his compeers in the early settlement of the town. His wife 
died March 8, 1711, aged seventy-nine. Their children were — 
John, bom in 1653 ; Andrew, 1655 ; William, 1658 ; Samuel, 
1660; Nathaniel, 1663; Abigail, 1665; Nathaniel, 1671; 
Joseph, 1675 ; and Mary, 1678. John married Hannah, daugh- 
ter of Nehemiah Howard of Salem, Dec. 24, 1679, and settled on 
the westerly side of Squam River. He was a selectman several 
years. In 17 10, he engaged in the expedition against Port Royal ; 
where he was drowned by the shipwreck of the transport under 
Capt. Foye, of which he was pilot. His widow married Nathaniel 
Coit. He left five sons and seven daughters. John, the oldest 
son, bom in 1683, married Bethiah Davis in 1714, and Widow 
Mary Ring in 1738. He died about 1754, leaving a son 
Thomas, and daughters Bethiah and Abigail. Thomas, the 
next son, bom in 1685, married EUzabeth Haskell in 1710, 
and had several children. He died about 1745. Andrew, the 
third son, bom in 1691, perished by shipwreck in 1716. Joseph, 
the fifth son, bom in 1702, married Martha Day in 1727 ; had 
two children (David and Joseph), and died about 1733. An- 
drew, second son of William Sargent, sen., is not known to 
have married ; nor is any thing known of him after 1679, when 
he was a grantee of a six-acre lot on the west side of Annisquam 
River. William Sargent, jun., married Naomi Stanwood, 
Oct. 26, 1681. She died March 13, 1702 ; and he next married 



EARLY SETTLERS. 149 

Hannah Short, Sept. 14, 1703. In 1679, he had a grant of 
" half an acre of land to set a house upon, on the left hand of the 
way that people goe to the head of the Harbor, at the head of 
William Vinson's lot ; " but in 1694 he was living near his father, 
** on the south-west side of ye river leading up to ye Cut." He 
had eleven children by his two wives. It is not known that he 
died in town, nor does it appear that any of his three sons 
married here ; and, as he did not participate in a division of land 
in 1721, it is supposed that he had removed from town before 
that time. Samuel married Mary Norwood, May 24, 1689. 
She died April 27, 1718 ; and he next married, June 19, 1725, 
Airs. Ruth Newman. His father gave him, in 1694, the west- 
em end of his dwelling-house ; but the place of his permanent 
residence was at Hogskin Cove. He had a grant of land on 
the easterly side of the cove, in 1695, " to set up fishing upon ; " 
and was one of the first settlers in that section of the town. 
He frequently served as a selectman, and, in 1729, as represen- 
tative. The date of his death is not known ; but it is certain 
that he was living as late as 1746. Of his ten children, six 
were sons, of whom four appear to have married in town. The 
oldest (Samuel), bom in 1690, married Mary Emerson in 1713 ; 
and died about 1762, leaving a son Samuel, and a grandson Sam- 
uel not then twenty-one years old. The latter may have been 
the same Samuel who died in April, 1833, aged eighty-four. 
William, second son of Samuel Sargent, sen., bom in 1692, 
married Susanna Haraden in 1726, and had several children. 
Francis, the next son, bom in 1694, married Mary York in 
1722, and had the birth of nine children recorded on the town- 
books. Solomon, the youngest of these sons, bom in 1708, 
married Sarah Somes in 1735, and had three sons and a daugh- 
ter bom before 1742. Nathaniel Sargent married Sarah 
Harvey, Jan. 24, 1695, who died Feb. 5, 1706 ; and he next 
married Mary Stevens, March 26, 1710. He was a selectman 
several years ; and, in 1727, appears to have kept a tavern.* 

• Perhafw thia tavern was at Done Fudginfr, where his father had livedo and where 
tradition reports that a hoane of entertainment was kept for several years^ in the early 
part of the last century, for the accommodation of mariners passing through the Cut. 



150 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

He died Dec. 12, 1732. Of his twelve children, five were sons ; 
and, of these, three are supposed to have married in town. 
Nathaniel, bom in 1702, married Judith Parsons in 1725, and 
had sons Nathaniel and David and four daughters. It was this 
Nathaniel, probably, who kept the tavern at the comer of Middle 
and Pleasant Streets, about ninety yeal's ago. Daniel, bom in 
1714, married Lydia Stanwood in 1744, and had a son William 
and a daughter. This son was born in 1750. Just before the 
commencement of the Revolutionary War, he was impressed on 
board of a British man-of-war ; but, arriving at New York in 
1776, he managed to escape, and join the American Army on 
Long Island. He was killed on the retreat from the island. 
His only child, a son William, is the venerable citizen of the 
same name still living, — the oldest representative, probably, 
of this ancient family. Peter, bom 1721, married Rebekah 
Ingersol in 1743, and had several children; one of whom 
(Jonathan), bom in 1746, died Feb. 4, 1830. Joseph, youngest 
son of WiUiam Sargent, sen., bom in 1675, married Martha 
Baker of Topsfield in 1712 ; who gave birth to a son (Joseph), 
May 16, 1713, and died on the 27th of the same month. He 
next married Hannah Haraden, Sept. 16, 1717 ; and died about 
1750, without any known issue by the second marriage. 

William Sargent, 2d, was son of WiUiam Sargent and 
Mary Epes, and was bqrn in Bristol, England. His father 
went from Exeter, England, to Barbadoes, when young, and was 
educated there. He returned to his native country, and there 
married Mary Epes, who stole from her home in the habit 
of a milk-maid to become his wife. Such is the family 
tradition. The son who came to Gloucester first appears 
here in 1678, when he had a grant of two acres of land at 
Eastern Point, where he built a house. He was a mariner, and 

At that time, an active business was carried on in the exportation of wood and timber 
from the westerly part of the town through this channel. The opposite currents met 
at Done Fudging; and there the vessels were sometimes anchored to wait a change 
of tide. The attractions of a tavern added other inducements to stop. The singular 
Dame given to this place is said to have been derived from the fact, that personSf poling 
or ** fudging " a boat or raft on the river against the ourrent, here took a fair tide, and 
were therefore ** done fudging." 



EARLY SETTLERS. 151 

owned a sloop, which he probably employed in coasting. The 
date of his death is not known : but it is certain that he died 
before June, 1707 ; perhaps at sea, as, in the settlement of 
his estate, no charges are made for sickness or funeral expenses. 
The inventory of his property amounted to £278. He married, 
June 21, 1678, Mary, daughter of Peter Duncan; who died 
Feb. 28, 1725, aged sixty-six. Their children were — Fitz Wil- 
liam, bom in 1679, died in 1700; Peter, bom in 1680, was 
living in Boston in 1711, and died Feb. 11, 1725 ; Mary, 1681 ; 
Andrew, 1683 ; Daniel, 1686, became a blacksmith, and was 
killed by lightning, July 21, 1713 ; Jordan, 1688, died m 1689 ; 
Epes, 1690; Ann, 1692; Samuel, 1694, died 1699 ; Fitz John, 
1696, died 1698 ; Machani, bom and died in 1699 ; Jabez, bom 
and died in 1700 ; Fitz William, 1701, living m 1738 ; and Win- 
throp, 1704. It is only by one of these sons (Epes) that the 
name has been perpetuated. He was a prominent citizen ; and 
several of his descendants have been distinguished men. He 
was twice married: first to Esther Maccarty, April 1, 1720; 
and next to Mrs. Catharine Brown of Salem, Aug. 10, 1744. 
Soon after this last marriage, he removed to Salem ; where he 
died Dec. 6, 1762, aged seventy-two. His children by his first 
wife were — Epes, bom in 1721 ; Esther, 1722; Ignatius, 1724 ; 
James, 1726, died in 1727 ; Wmthrop, 1728 ; Sarah, 1729 ; 
Daniel, 1731 ; William, 1734; and Benjamin, 1736. By his 
second wife, he had Paid Dudley and John. His remains were 
brought to Gloucester, and placed in the family tomb. He 
acquired considerable property here as a merchant ; was the prin- 
cipal acting magistrate in town for several years, and its repre- 
sentative in 1740. In Salem, he took an active part in public 
affairs ; was colonel in the militia ; and long a Justice of the 
General Sessions Court. An obituary notice, in a newspaper of 
the day, gives him a high character as a merchant, magistrate, 
and Christian. His son Epes married Catharine, daughter of 
Hon. John Osbom of Boston, in 1745. She died Feb. 7, 1788. 
An obituary notice, contained in a Salem paper of the 19th of 
that month, describes her as a lady of eminent virtue. Mr. 
Sargent died of small-pox in 1779 ; in which year, by vote of 



152 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

the town, a general inoculation of the citizens took place. He 
had a presentiment that the disease would prove fatal to him, 
and therefore desired an exception in his favor ; but the authori- 
ties were inexorable, and he submitted to the fate he appre- 
hended. Early in life, he engaged in mercantile pursuits, in 
which he acquired a large property. A few years prior to the 
Revolutionary War, he owned ten vessels, which were employed 
in the fishery and foreign commerce ; and he was carrying on 
at that time a very extensive trade : but the total suspension of 
his business which the war occasioned, together with the embar- 
rassing situation into which he was thrown by joining the un- 
popular side in the contest with the mother-coimtry, caused 
heavy pecuniary losses, by which his property became greatly 
reduced. In common with all who held his political principles, 
he was made the mark of obloquy and reproach. He was, on 
one occasion, cited before the assembled voters of the town, and 
required to give satisfaction that he was a harmless citizen : but 
he would not obey the summons ; and the excited meeting pro- 
ceeded to forbid all persons to have any commerce with him or 
his abettors ; intending to compel him, through fear of starvation, 
to quit the town. This measure had the desired effect. He 
went to Boston, where even greater indignities were heaped 
upon him. His son Epes had embraced the patriotic cause; 
but he could not divert from his father the torrent of hatred 
and contempt which overwhelmed all who were of his political 
faith. The latter, therefore, determined to seek refuge in an- 
other part of America, and made every preparation to embark 
for Halifax ; but, on assembling his family for leave-taking on 
the evening before his intended departure, his spirits were so 
much oppressed with the pangs of separation, that he resolved 
to return to his home, and endure, as he best could, the fortune 
that might await him. In addition to the bitter political pro- 
scription of which he had been the object, he was made to feel, 
in the keenest manner, the effects of religious bigotry and in- 
tolerance, on account of the hearty welcome he had extended 
to the Rev. John Murray, and the avowal of his belief in the 
doctrines of that preacher. His whole life had exhibited the 



EARLY SETTLERS. 153 

proper fruits of the Christian spirit, and he had sat for many years 
at the table of the Lord in affectionate communion and entire 
unity of religious sentiment with his brethren of the Christian 
£uth : but these now coldly turned from him ; and so, with for- 
tune wasted and friendships broken up, he " endured as seeing 
Him who is invisible," and, rich in faith and the memories of a 
just and pure life, passed away to the tomb. Mr. Sargent left 
two sons, — Epes and John Osbom. The former graduated at 
Harvard College in 1766, and made several voyages to sea for 
his father before settling in business. On the organization of 
the present National Government, he received the appointment 
of collector of the customs for this port, which he held till 
1795 ; when he removed to Hampstead, N.H., where he lived 
a short time, and thence went to Boston. In the latter place, 
he was president of an insurance company several years. He 
died in April, 1822, aged seventy-four. His wife (Dorcas 
Babson), to whom he was married in 1772, died in 1836, aged 
eighty-seven. They had several children, one of whom (Charles 
Lenox) published a book entitled " Alexander Smith." Smith 
was a Gloucester man, as represented in the story ; but his career, 
as related by Mr. Sargent, is believed to be wholly fictitious. 
John Osbom Sargent married, and left an only son (Epes), who 
was a sea-captain in early life, but afterwards became a mer- 
chant, and settled in Roxbury, where he died. Three of his 
sons are men of distinction, — John Osbom, who graduated at 
Harvard College in 1829, studied law, and, aft«r several years' 
practice in Boston and New York, settled in Washington, D.C., 
where he now resides ; Epes, extensively known as a poet and 
dramatist, and the author of a popular series of school-books ; 
and George B., who emigrated to the Western country in his 
youth, and settled at Davenport, To., of which city he has been 
the mayor. Winthrop Sargent commenced business as a sea- 
faring man, and was early in command of a vessel ; but he soon 
established himself as a merchant, and continued in commercial 
pursuits till his death. In the contest with the mother-coimtry, 
he warmly espoused the patriotic side. He served on the 
Committee of Safety in 1775 ; was a government agent here 

20 



154 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

during the war ; and, in 1788, was one of the delegates to the 
State Convention for ratifying the new Federal Constitution. 
He was one of the first adherents of Rev. John Murray ; and 
remained, as long as he lived, one of his firmest friends and sup- 
porters. His general character was that of an intelligent and 
benevolent man, whose qualities of head and heart secured him 
universal esteem. He died Dec. 3, 1793. His wife was Judith, 
daughter of Thomas Sanders. She died July 27, 1793. Win- 
throp, their son, bom in 1753, graduated at Harvard CoUege 
in 1773. He was twice married : first, in Ohio, to a daughter 
of Gen. Tupper ; and next to Mary, widow of David "Williams, 
a planter in Mississippi. She died in Philadelphia, Jan. 9, 
1844 : he died of gout in the stomach, at New Orleans, on 
board of a steamboat in the river, June 3, 1820. He is one of 
the few natives of Gloucester that have attained a high station 
in public life. Little is known of his early history. At the com- 
mencement of the Revolutionary War, he was absent on a voy- 
age to the West Indies, in a vessel belonging to his father ; and, 
immediately on his arrival home, joined the army, taking the 
command of a company of artillery in Crane's regiment. He 
was at the battles of Trenton and Brandywine ; was some time 
an aid-de-camp to General How of North Carolina ; and finally 
a major in the army. He remained in service till the close of 
the war. In the disastrous defeat of St. Clair at the battle 
of the Miamis, Nov. 3, 1791, he was adjutant-general, and was 
wounded in the engagement ; in which he also lost all his private 
papers. The carnage of that dreadful day was commenced by 
the unexpected onslaught of the Indians early in the morning. 
When first heard by Gen. Sargent, he was lying in his litter, in 
torment from the gout. He sprang up, and mounted his horse 
as soon as possible ; having first filled his military boots with 
water, into which he thrust his gouty feet. He was accustomed 
to describe the attack, rendered more horrible by the hellish 
yells of the savages, as an appalling spectacle, and to reflect with 
admiration upon the good conduct of the troops. Mr. Sargent's 
name frequently occurs in the records of the Ohio Land Com- 
pany. He was Secretary of the North-west Territory, and, for 



EARLY SETTLERS. 155 

a time, acting Governor. While there, his residence was at 
Marietta ; to which place, it is said, he gave that name. He 
finally selected a spot near Natchez, where he built a large brick 
mansion, and called it, after the place of his nativity, Gloster 
Place. In 1796, a territorial government was established for 
the Mississippi country ; and soon afterwards Mr. Sargent was 
appointed its Governor. Difficidties soon beset him in this office. 
The people had probably been little used to the restraints of 
authority, and a few of the leading men commenced an early 
opposition to the Governor's administration. In course of time, 
they proceeded to violent measures, and made representations 
to Congress, setting forth their causes of complaint. The 
Governor's course was vindicated in a long letter from Col. 
Clark, a military and judicial officer of high standing, to the 
Chairman of the Mississippi Committee in Congress, and in 
letters addressed by himself to the Secretary of State. In one 
of these, the Governor complains that he had not received fair 
treatment from the Congress Committee ; and concludes in the 
words of a Latin poet : — 

" Dunlin, s«d levins fit patientia, 
Quicqaid corrigere est nefas.'* 

Early in 1801, he took leave of absence for the purpose of 
giving personal attention to his affairs at the seat of the National 
Government. Previous to his departure, he received addresses 
from the judges, military officers, and principal inhabitants, ex- 
pressing their frill approbation of his official conduct, and the 
high esteem in which they held his private character. On his 
arrival at Washington, he found that an effectual stop had been 
put to ftirther proceedings with the government. Mr. Jeffer- 
son's administration had come into power, and Mr. Sargent's 
name was on the list of the proscribed. The people had not 
then become so ftuniliar with the removal of public frmctionaries 
as to disconnect it with demerit on the part of the officer dis- 
placed ; and, by particular desire of his friends, Mr. Sargent 
immediately published a pamphlet, containing papers in relation 
to his official conduct, on which he relied for his vindication 



156 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

before the country. He returned to Mississippi^ where he re- 
sided as a private citizen during the remainder of his life, occa- 
sionally visiting the distant place of his birth. He left two sons, 
both by his second marriage, — William Fitz Winthrop, who gra- 
duated at Harvard College in 1817, and died in Philadelphia 
in 1822 ; and George Washington, who graduated at the same 
college in 1820, and now resides in Philadelphia. Winthrop, 
son of the latter, graduated at Harvard in 1847, and is already 
widely known as an historical writer. Fitz William, another son 
of Winthrop and Judith Sargent, bom in 1768, engaged in com- 
mercial pursuits in his native town, and was an enterprising and 
successful merchant. After suffering severely for many years 
from gout, he died of that disease, Oct. 6, 1822 ; leaving an only 
son Winthrop, who was the representative in 1823. He con- 
tinued his father's business till 1829, when he removed to Phila- 
delphia ; where he has since resided, with the exception of a few 
years spent in Byfield Parish, Newbury, of which town his son 
Gorham P. was the representative in 1859. Daniel, son of Col. 
Epes Sargent, married Mary Turner of Salem. He was en- 
gaged in the fishing business and in foreign trade in Gloucester 
till the commencement of the Revolutionary struggle, when he 
removed to Newburyport. He went thence to Boston, where 
he lived many years a highly respected merchant ; and died 
Feb. 18, 1806. Four of his six sons became prominent men. 
Daniel, the oldest, was a merchant, and lived in Boston. He 
was held in high estimation ; one evidence of which was his 
election to the office of Treasurer of the Commonwealth. To- 
wards the close of his life, he manifested his interest in his 
native town by placing a handsome wall and iron gate at the 
entrance of the ancient burial-place which contains the family 
tomb. He died in Boston, April 2, 1842, aged seventy-nine. 
Ignatius carried on mercantile business in Gloucester till about 
1800, when he removed to Boston. His name is still mentioned 
with grateful remembrance as a friend ever ready with kind 
offices for our citizens in both places of his residence. While 
he lived in Gloucester, he took an active interest in military 
affairs, and attained the rank of major. He died in Boston, 



EARLY SETTLERS. 157 

Jan. 20, 1821 ; leaving a son of the same name now residing 
there. Henry, another son of Daniel Sargent, was a painter of 
considerable celebrity. One of his largest works, — an historical 
painting of the Landing of the Pilgrims, presented by himself 
to the Pilgrim Society of Plymouth, whose hall it adorns — has 
been much admired. Lucius Manlius, the youngest of these 
four brothers, is a writer of established reputation and popularity. 
He has an office in Boston, but resides in Boxbury. Col. Epes 
Sargent left two sons by his second wife, — Paul Dudley (bom 
in 1745) and John. The former was brought up in Gloucester, 
and married here Lucy, daughter of Hon. Thomas Sanders, in 
1772. He was an early asserter of the rights of the Colonies, 
and one of the first to take up aftns in their defence. He at- 
tained the rank of colonel in the Eevolutionary War, and was 
an active and valuable officer. AAer the war was closed, he en- 
gaged in commercial pursuits, but was xmsuccessfiil ; and finaUy 
retired to a farm in Sullivan, Me. He represented that town in 
the General Court, and held a number of offices xmder the State 
and National Governments. He died about 1823, leaving a 
widow and a large number of descendants. His brother John 
espoused the unpopular side in the Eevolutionary contest, and 
sought a home where he coidd find congenial political senti- 
ments. He removed to Barrington, N. S. None of the 
descendants of William Sargent, 2d, bearing the family name, 
remain in town ; but his progeny by his daughter Ann, who 
married Nathaniel EUery, is numerous. 

James Sayward came to Gloucester about 1696, perhaps from. 
York, Me.; where, in 1661, was a "Samuel Sayward, son of 
Edmond Sawyer," as it is written in a deed, " sometimes inhabi- 
tant of Ipswich." He had a grant (March, 1690) of half an 
acre of land at Cripple Cove, where he built a house. This pro- 
perty has continued in the family down to the present time. He 
was an elder of the First Church, a selectman, and for seven years 
a representative. These official distinctions give evidence that 
he was a useful citizen. He had a wife Deborah, the mother of 
all his children, who died July 13, 1734, aged sixty-seven ; and 
a second wife. Widow Mary Davis, to whom he was married 



158 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

Jan. 30, 1735. He died Feb. 13, 1736, aged sixty-seven. His 
children were — Deborah, bom in 1694; James, 1697; James, 
1699; Samuel, 1701; Henry, 1704; Mary, 1706; Joseph, 
1708; Hannah, 1713; and Elizabeth, bom before he came to 
Gloucester. Samuel married Lucy Norwood in 1729, and had 
two children, — Samuel and Judith ; the former of whom mar- 
ried Susanna Lord of Ipswich in 1761. Henry married Abigail 
Sargent in 1730; by whom he had two daughters, and a son 
Stover. Joseph married Sarah Giddings in 1730, and had seve- 
ral children. Hi§ oldest son Joseph, a sea-captain in early life, 
was the keeper of Thatcher's-Island Lights nineteen years ; and 
died in April, 1814, aged eighty-two; leaving, besides other 
children, a son William, the Well-known pilot of our harbor 
and coast. James, son of the first Joseph, died young at sea. 
George, another son, married and had several children in 
Gloucester; but finally settled in Camden, Me. 

Robert Skamp had a grant of three acres of land, in 1674, 
by the pasture of John Collins ; whose daughter Jane he married 
Dec. 25, 1661. She died in 1662; having given birth to a 
daughter Mary, who had a son named Unconstant Langworth, 
bom in 1682. Robert Skamp died April 23, 1691. 

Thomas Skellin was one of the fiiTst settlers, and had land 
near the burying-ground. He was in Falmouth, Me., in 1651; 
and probably removed thither before 1658, when he purchased 
land there. " Suspicious carriages " with Thomas Patten sullied 
the name of his wife Deborah, for whose good behavior her hus- 
band was bound at a court in 1653. He died at Falmouth in 
1667, leaving legacies to sons Thomas (bom in 1643) and John. 
The birth of his daughter Deborah in 1640 or 1648 is on our 
books. His eldest son Thomas married Mary Lewis of Fal- 
mouth, by whom he had two sons, — John and Benjamin ; and 
died in Salem, Dec. 30, 1676. She was living in Salem in 1732, 
seventy-eight years old. 

James Smith. — Land was given him by the commissioners, 
in 1642, as appears in the recorded sale of the same to James 
Avery in 1651. Nothing further is known of his connection 
with Gloucester. 



EARLY SETTLERS. 159 

Thomas Smith was an early settler and proprietor, and one of 
the commissioners for ending small causes, in 1645. He had a 
son Thomas, bom in 1643. These first Smiths remained in 
town but a short time. The name re-appears in subsequent 
years ; but it is not known that the persons who bore it were con- 
nected with the early Smiths or with each other. A Thomas 
Smith, late of Ipswich, died in town, April 24, 1706. 

Morris Smith had a grant of two acres of land above the old 
Commill in 1685 ; but he is first foimd in town on the occasion 
of his marriage, Nov. 4, 1681, to Sarah Millet, who was proba- 
bly the widow of John Millet, and who died Jan. 20, 1725, aged 
eighty : he died May 13, 1726, aged seventy. They had two 
children, — Sarah, bom in 1683 ; and Morris, 1686. The latter 
died in infEuicy. Morris Smith was the sexton of the town for 
several years ; and was succeeded in that office by Stephen Ro- 
binson, who married his daughter Sarah. 

A Richard Smith has recorded in our books the birth, by his 
wife Mary, of Thomas, bom in Falmouth in 1684; and of Rich- 
ard, bom in Marblehead in 1689. 

John Smith. — Three persons of this name appear in town 
between 1692 and 1702. Taking them in the order of time, 
the first John had a house, in which he dwelt, on Eastern Point, 
near Peter Mud's Neck, before 1701. He had a wife Rebekah, 
and children, — Daniel, bom in 1692, his oldest son; Mary, 
1696, died in 1697; Joseph, 1699, died in 1701 ; and Jonathan, 
1702. Daniel married Lydia Sargent in 1717, and had four 
sons and four daughters. One of the former (John), bom in 
17^, is supposed to be the same who married Abigail Fleming 
in 1746, and died Jan. 9, 1789. He had seven sons and three 
daughters. Two of his sons were John and Sargent, who were 
commanders of privateer letters-of- marque in the Revolutionary 
War, and were both distinguished for their bravery in engage- 
ments with English vessels of superior force. Jonathan Smith 
married Mary Carlisle in 1723, and had three daughters and a 
son Jonathan. The second John Smith may have been connected 
with the first, but does not appear to have been his son. He had 
a wife Susanna (who died a widow, March 2, 1725, aged forty- 



160 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

six) and several children; among whom was a Joseph, bom in 
1709: the same, probably, who married Abigail Gardner in 
1730, and had sons Joseph, John, James, and Benjamin, and 
two daughters. The third John Smith has no further known 
connection with us than his marriage to Elizabeth Elwell in 
1702. 

Morris Somes, bom in 1614, was one of the earliest settlers, 
and a proprietor of land on the east side of Mill River, where it 
is supposed he had his residence. By his wife Margerie, who 
died Jan. 22, 1646, he had Mary, bom in 1642 ; Sarah, 1643 ; 
and Timothy, His next wife, to whom he was married June 
26, 1648, was Elizabeth, daughter of John Kendall of Cam- 
bridge. She died Jan. 4, 1697 : he died Jan. 16, 1689, leav- 
ing an estate of £198. The children of his second marriage 
were — John, born in 1648; Lydia, 1649; Nathaniel, 1651; 
Patience, 1652 ; Joseph, 1654 ; Abigail, 1655 ; and Hannah, 
1658. Timothy was the only son of Morris Somes, who mar- 
ried and settled in Gloucester ; and all who have ever borne the 
name in town have descended from him. He married Jane 
Stanwood, April 2, 1673 ; by whom he had ten children, whose 
births are recorded ; and probably a Morris, who was lost at sea 
in 1716, aged twenty-four. The last of these children were — 
Mercy, bom Oct. 29, and Patience, Oct. 30, 1696 ; on which 
day the mother died. He next married Hannah Despar, March 
11, 1697, and had six more children; the last of which was 
bom after his death, which took place Feb. 1, 1706. Timothy 
Somes's home was also near Mill River. Of his seventeen chil- 
dren, eight were sons ; and it appears to be by one of these 
alone that the name has been perpetuated in town to the present 
time. The oldest (Timothy), bom in 1673, married Elizabeth 
Robinson, Dec. 31, 1695; and had sons Stephen, Timothy, 
Joseph, Nehemiah, Abraham, and Isaac. The date of his 
death is not known ; but there is reason to suppose that he was 
not alive in 1721. Stephen Somes married Rachel Brown in 
1719, and had several children. Two of his sons (William 
and Samuel) were progenitors of families now living in town. 
John, son of the former, was representative in 1808 and 1809 ; 



EARLY SETTLERS. 161 

and died Sept. S, 1820, aged fifty-three. Another John, son 
of Samuel, also aged fifty-three, was found drowned, on the last- 
named day, on the back side of the Fort. Timothy, brother of 
Stephen, married Abigail Springer in 1721, and had sons Timo- 
thy and Jonathan. Joseph, the next of these brothers, married 
Sarah Harvey in 17S1, but has no offspring recorded in town. 
Nehemiah Somes was twice married, if, as is supposed, he mar- 
ried Lucy Bogers of Truro, with whom he was intending mar- 
riage, September, 1734. His son Nehemiah, bom here in 1737, 
was probably the Boston merchant, of the same name, who was 
the agent and part owner of the privateer " Active," one of Man- 
ly's fleet, in 1779. Abraham and Isaac Somes were twins, bom 
in 1707. Abraham married Martha Emerson in 1730. They 
had a large family of children, and both died in advanced age. 
Abraham, the oldest son, settled on Mount-Desert Island, Me. ; 
lived to be over eighty years old ; and left at his death a nume- 
rous jKwterity at that place. Benjamin, the next son, was a 
soldier in the Revolutionary "War, a mariner, and finally the 
keeper of a noted tavern on Front Street. He died about 
the Ist of February, 1805, aged seventy-three. His daughter 
Abigail married Frederic Gilman. Isaac, the next brother 
of this fiumly, was commander of the privateer letter-of-marque 
ship "Tempest," in which he was lost, in the Bevolutionary "War. 
John, another brother, was also a mariner, and engaged in 
privateering during the war, and in commercial pursuits after- 
wards. He was many years President of the Gloucester Bank ; 
and, in 1806 and 1807, a representative. In political action, he 
was a warm supporter of Mr. Jefferson. He died in August, 
1816, aged seventy-one ; leaving a wife, who died April 13, 
1846, aged ninety-one. Her maiden name was Anna Dolliver. 
She had a husband (Capt. John Colson) previous to her mar- 
riage to Capt. Somes, of whom she was the second wife. There 
was no o&pring by either of the marriages. Daniel, the 
yoimgest son of Abraham Somes, removed to Maine or one of 
the British Provinces, and had a son Daniel, who went to the 
East Indies, and settled in Manilla. Isaac, twin-brother of 
Abraham, married Eunice Godfrey in 1730, and Widow Lydia 

SI 



162 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

Reading in 1744. He was lost at sea in 1755, leaving a son 
Samuel, who was a soldier in the early part of the Revolutionary 
War ; afterwards a sea-captain and merchant ; and died Mar. 27, 
1796, aged forty-one. The latter left a son Samuel, who became 
an intelligent ship-master, and died in New Orleans in August, 
1839 ; and a son Isaac, the present President of the Gloucester 
Bank, who is probably the sole male representative of this branch 
of the family. Joseph, son of Timothy, sen., bom in 1679, died, 
probably unmarried, about or before 1719, when his brother 
Nathaniel administered upon his estate. William, the next 
son, bom in 1681, is supposed to be the person of the same 
name who was of Amesbury, and was deceased before 1707. 
Ichabod, another son, bom in 1687, is only mentioned as the 
father, by his wife Abigail, of a son William, Aug. 16, 1713 ; 
and in the warning, June 4, 1723, to Abigail, wife or widow of 
Ichabod Somes, to leave the town, and return to her last abode. 
Nathaniel, bom in 1695, married Susanna Whittredge in 1722, 
and had two children bom before 1726. Timothy Somes had 
sons Ebenezer and Abiel by his second marriage, who are not 
known to have married in town. The former, bom in 1700, 
was living in 1721. John, son of Morris Somes, bom in 1648, 
became a cooper, and settled in Boston. Joining the Quakers, 
he shared in the persecutions of that sect ; and was twice appre-" 
hended in 1677, at their usual place of worship, and whipped. 
He had previously been represented to the Colonial authorities 
as one who derided the government, and aspersed juries by 
accusing them of false judgments. He died Nov. 16, 1700; 
and a gravestone in Copp's-HiU Burying-ground still marks the 
place of his interment. Nathaniel, third son of Morris Somes, 
bom in 1651, died July 12, 1690. It does not appear that he 
was ever married. Joseph, the youngest son of Morris, bom 
in 1654, was killed in the fight with the Indians at Narraganset 
Fort, December, 1675. 

William Southmeade was one of the early settlers, and 
had a grant of the lot on which Mr. Thompson's frame stood. 
He married Millicent, daughter of William Addes, Nov. 28, 
1642; by whom he had sons, — William, bom in 1643; John, 



EARLY SETTLERS. 163 

1645, who died the same year ; and John, 1646. The oldest 
of these sons settled in Middletown, Conn. ; and died in 1702, 
leaving eight sons. The death of our settler is not recorded ; 
but it occurred before 1649, when an inventory of his goods 
and chattels was made by Christopher Avery and William 
Addes. The augers, tools, and other instruments, mentioned in 
the inventory, authorize the conjecture that he was a ship-car- 
penter. His widow married William Ash, and probably left 
town with him about 1651. 

Philip Stainwood. — The original orthography of this name, 
which indicates its probable derivation, was not continued beyond 
the second or third generation. This settler first appears in 
Gloucester in 1653. In 1654, he bought a house and land of 
Robert Tucker; and, in the same year, had a grant from the 
town of six acres on the east side of Lobster Cove. He was 
a selectman in 1667 ; and died Aug. 7, 1672, leaving an estate 
of £87. 10s. His widow Jane became the second wife of John 
Pearce, Sept. 12, 1673 ; and died Aug. 18, 1706. The children 
of Philip Stainwood were — Philip ; John, bom in 1653 ; Jane, 
1655 ; Samuel, 1658 ; Jonathan, 1661 ; Naomi, 1664 ; Ruth, 
1667 ; and Hannah, 1670. Three of these sons (Philip, John, 
and Samuel) received grants of soldiers' lots at Kettle Cove, in 
1679, for military service in the wars of that period. Philip 
married Mary Blackwell, Nov. 22, 1677. She died Jan. 3, 
1679 ; and he next married Esther Bray, Oct. 30, 1683. He 
died Sept. 24, 1728. Two of his sons married and had fami- 
lies in town. Philip, bom in 1690, married Sarah Haraden, 
Dec. 18, 1718; and had three sons (John, Job, and Zebulon) 
and three daughters. Job lost his left arm in the expedition 
against Louisburg in 1745, and for this loss was made a pen- 
sioner for life by the General Court of Massachusetts. He 
married Hannah Byles in 1749 ; who died March 1, 1753, aged 
twenty-four, leaving one son (Zebidon), who engaged in agri- 
cultural and commercial pursuits. He had his residence in the 
Second Parish ; where he died in August, 1838, aged eighty- 
seven, leaving several descendants. His son Theodore, ai^ 
intelligent shipmaster, married Sarah, daughter of Rev. John 



164 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

Bogers; and died on his passage from Kussia in 1814. His 
only child settled in town is the wife of Hon. John W. Lowe : 
another daughter is the wife of Rev. Andrew Bigelow, D.D., 
of Boston. David, the other son of Philip Stanwood, jun., 
married Susanna Davis in 1720, and had several children. 
One of his sons (Solomon) was the father of a venerable citizen 
still living, — Richard G., whose son, of the same name, was 
representative in 1839. John, son of the original settler, mar- 
ried Lydia Butler, Dec. 9, 1680 ; and died Jan. 25, 1706. Of 
his nine children, three were sons (John, Jonathan, and James), 
who married in town, and had families. The two latter were 
probably the persons of the same names who were admitted 
residents of Falmouth, Me., in 1728. Samuel had a wife 
Hannah, to whom he was married Nov. 16, 1686 ; and had five 
children bom in town before 1695 : soon after that date, he 
removed to Amesbury. He had a son Ebenezer; the same, 
perhaps, who has two children recorded in our books as bom 
at Brunswick, besides others bom here. Jonathan, son of 
Philip Stanwood, sen., married Mary Nichols, Dec. 17, 1688. 
According to the records, he had ten children ; of whom three 
were sons (Ebenezer, David, and Nehemiah), who married and 
settled in Gloucester. David was a soldier in the expedition to 
Cape Breton in 1745, and received a wound which induced him 
to apply to the Colonial Government for relief. In the early 
generations of this family, there was promise of a numerous 
posterity ; but the name is now borne here by only a few fami- 
lies. Many of the stock emigrated, probably, during the first 
century of our history. Perhaps all who bear the name in this 
coimtry are descended from our settler. 

William Stevens, a ship-carpenter, was one of the first 
settlers ; and is entitled to honorable mention for his mechanical 
skill, his inflexible honesty, and his services in various public 
offices. He came to New England before 1632, and probably 
had his residence in Boston or its vicinity. From his ability as 
a mechanic, it may be inferred that he "was the Mr. Stevens, 
who, in March, 1634, was to receive, by order of the General 
Court, £10 for seeing to the erection of a movable fort to be 



EARLY SETTLERS. 165 

built in Boston. He was in Salem in 1636 ; where, in 1639, 
his children, Isaac and Mary, were baptized, and, in 1641, his 
daughter Buth. He was admitted a freeman in 1640; and, 
in 1642, appears in Gloucester as one of the commissioners 
appointed by the General Court for ordering town-a£Eurs. His 
standing among the early settlers, and the importance of his 
aid in promoting the prosperity of the town, are sufficiently 
indicated by the extraordinary grant he received of five hundred 
acres of land lying between Chebacco ^and Annisquam Bivers. 
He also had a grant of six acres on the Meetii^-house Neck ; but 
his residence was at the Cut, near the Beach, where he had eight 
acres of land. He was a selectman several years, commissioner 
for ending small causes, town-clerk, and four years representa- 
tive. Proof of his mechanical skill and honesty is preserved 
in the following extract from a letter* written by Emanuel 
Downing, one of the Massachusetts Company, to an officer of 
the English Government : — 

^ Being last night at the Exchandge, I enquired what ship-carpenters 
Mr. Winthrop, the Crovemor, had with him in New England : when 
I was informed by Mr. Aldersey, the lord-keeper's brother-in-law, and 
Mr. Cradock, that the Grovemor hath with him one William Stephens, 
a shipwright ; soe able a man, as they believe there is hardly such an 
other to be found in this kingdom. There be 2 or 3 others ; but, 
for want of their names, I could not be satisfied of them. This Stephens 
hath built here many ships of great burthen : he made the ^ Royal 
Merchant,' a ship of 600 tonus. This man, as they enformed me, had 
more reguard to his substantiall performance than the wages he was to 
receive, and soe grew to poverty : whereupon he was preparing to goe 
for Spayne, where he knew he should have wages answerable to his 
paynes, had not some friends perswaded him to N. England, where he 
now lives with great content Had the state of Spayne obteyned him, 
he should have be'n as a pretious Jewell to them." 

He also had a New-England fame ; being, undoubtedly, the 
** very sufficient builder " mentioned by Johnson, one of our 



* This letter forms a part of the interesting " Gleanings for New-England History, 
coUected in England, in 1842, by Hon. James Savage, and published in vol. xxTiii 
. Hist CoU. 



166 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

early historians.* Nothing is known concerning the particular 
vessels he built here, except in two instances, to be hereafter 
mentioned. This worthy citizen was no less distinguished for 
his action in relation to political affairs. He was a member of 
the General Court in 1665, when the Colonial Government 
made a noble resistance to the proceedings of the commissioner! 
sent over by the king to interfere in the legislation of the 
Colony, in a manner which was justly esteemed to be an infringe- 
ment of Colonial rights* and privileges. It was a grave offence, 
in those days, to speak evil of rulers ; and discretion would have 
coimselled silence : but the honest indignation of our towns- 
man, spuming all restraint, found utterance in no softened 
terms of dislike. Four of his neighbors testified at a Quarterly 
Court in Salem, in 1667, to his declaring " that he would bear 
no office within this jurisdiction, nor anywhere else, where 
Charles Stewart had any thing to do ; and that he cared no more 
for Charles Stewart than any other man, as king ; and that he 
abhorred the name of Charles Stewart as king." For this bold 
and rash expression of his hatred of the king, the offender 
was sentenced to a month's imprisonment ; to pay a fine of £20 
and costs ; and to be deprived of his privileges as a freeman. 
Soon after this, his wife, in a petition to the General Court for 
relief, represents him to be deranged, and herself as aged and 
having a family. There is no record of his death, or of the 
settlement of his estate ; for he again *' grew to poverty," having 
mortgaged part of his property, in 1667, to Francis Willoughby 
of Charlestown, from whom it never returned to him. The 
property conveyed to Willoughby was the five hundred acres 
near Chebacco, on which were a dwelling-house, bam, and out- 
kouses ; and his estate at the Cut, with ^' said gutt, or passage, for 
boats rimning through as they pass between Cape- Ann Harbor 
and Annisquam." Another portion of his property, consisting 
of a new house and land, was put into the hands of his sons 
James and Isaac, in trust for their mother Philippa, who died 
Aug. 31, 1681. No other mention occurs of Isaac. Mary 

* Wonder-working Providence ; Mass. Hist Coll., vol. xvii. p. 82. 



EABLY 8ETTLEK8. 167 

married John Coit : Ruth married Stephen Glover. James, the 
only other son of William Stevens of whom we have any 
knowledge, received a grant of land on Town Neck, near Try- 
nall Cove, in 1658. He married Susanna, daughter of Sylvester 
Eveleth, Dec. 81, 1656 ; and died March 25, 1697, leaving an 
estate of £S39. IQs. The ship-carpenter's tools and oak plank 
mentioned in his inventory render it probable that he followed 
the trade in which his father was so distinguished. His repeated 
election to the highest offices in town shows that he possessed 
the public confidence in a high degree. He was a deacon in the 
church ; a military officer ; selectman in 1667, and from 1674 to 
1691 inclusive ; and representative ten years. He had eleven 
children ; of whom William, Samuel, Ebenezer, David, Jona- 
than, Mary (the wife of Francis Norwood), and Hannah, were 
living at the time of their father's death. William married 
Abigail Sargent, June 15, 1682. He was lieutenant of the 
military company here, selectman two years, and representative 
in 1692. He died Sept. 24, 1701, aged forty-two; leaving an 
estate, which consisted, in part, of an ^terest in three sloops, a 
negro woman and a boy, and the privilege called the Cut, the 
latter valued at £30. James, supposed to be his son, married 
Deborah Sayward in 1717; and disappeared in 1721, on the 
birth of his third child. Samuel, son of Lieut. William Stevens, 
bom in 1691, married Anna Allen in 1713. He inherited the 
Cut, which occasioned him considerable trouble and vexation. 
He resided on the £imily property there, and was called Cut 
Stevens, to distinguish him from an uncle of his own name. 
He is said to have lived to old age ; but the date of his death is 
not known. His daughter Abigail married Jonathan Elwell. 
Of his two sons William and Samuel, the former only appears 
to have married in town. He married Anna Davis in 1740, and 
died about 1743, leaving a son William. Samuel, son of Deacon 
James Stevens, bom in 1665, married Mary EUery in 1693. He 
was a merchant, and took an active part in pubhc affairs ; filling 
the most important offices, among which was that of representa- 
tive, which he held six years. His residence was on Front Street, 
between Hancock and Centre. He died Nov. 16, 1756, aged 



168 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

ninety-one. His wife survived him, and, though past fourscore, 
accepted a matrimonial offer from Elder Grover in 1758 ; but 
their marriage was soon dissolved by the death of the aged 
bride. Mr. Stevens had a son Samuel, who married Abigail 
York in 1718, and had sons York and Joseph. He was lost at 
sea, near Sable Island, April, 1722, aged twenty-six. James, 
another son, bom in 1699, was probably the same who kept a 
tavern near the Meeting-house several years. Two other sons 
were prominent actors in the affairs of the town. John, bom in 
1707, married Rachel Allen in 1729 ; and, in 1754, Mrs. Eliza- 
beth, widow of Col. John Gorham of Barnstable, an officer who 
rendered valuable aid in the siege of Cape Breton in 1745, and 
died in London, of small-pox, about 1750, while prosecuting 
his claims for expenses in that expedition. Mr. Stevens sus- 
tained a high character as a merchant. In military affairs he 
took a strong interest, and attained to the rank of colonel. He 
died April 13, 1779, aged seventy-two : his wife died Dec. 25, 
1786, aged seventy-three. William, another son of Samuel 
Stevens, bom in 1713, married Elizabeth Allen in 1733. He 
engaged in maritime pursuits and in the cultivation of the soil : 
but neither yielded him profit ; for, though he died possessed of 
a considerable estate, his debts were more than sufficient to 
absorb the whole of it. He was representative in 1753 and 
1754, and from 1756 to 1760 inclusive. He died May 10, 1767, 
aged fifty-four ; leaving, with other children, John and Samuel. 
The former married Judith Sargent. He was a merchant 
and trader, in which occupations he met with no success ; and 
finally became a bankrupt. To avoid being arrested for debt, 
he fled, in a vessel belonging to his father-in-law, to St. Eustatia, 
where he died. His widow married Rev. John Murray. Samuel 
married Elizabeth Allen in 1748, and for many years kept a shop 
on Fore Street. He died Dec. 9, 1795, aged forty-eight ; leaving 
a wife and children, who removed to Portland, Me., where Mrs. 
Stevens lived to be nearly a hundred years old. Ebenezer, son 
of Deacon James Stevens, bom in 1670, is supposed to have 
married Widow Mary Day in 1723. No offspring is recorded ; 
but the books show the marriage of an Ebenezer, jun., in 1751. 



EARLY SETTLERS. 169 

The elder Ebenezer was supported by the town several years, 
and died about 1757. David, bom in 1677, and Jonathan, 
1679, other sons of Deacon James Stevens, married in town, 
and were both dead in 1709. Jonathan left a son of the same 
name. No descendants of our eminent shipwright, bearing the 
^Eunily name, are known to be now residents of the town.* 

Stephen Streeter may have preceded the settlers of 1642, 
as Mr. Blynman's grant includes a lot *' primarily given " to 
him. He had a house here, but did not remain in town long 
after its permanent settlement; for, in 1644, he was residing in 
Charlestown. 

John Stxjdlet appears as an owner of land in 1649 ; and 
also, in the same year, as a witness in an action against Charles 
Glover and his wife for fighting. 

Harlakenden Stmonds was son of Deputy-Governor Sy- 
monds. He bought of John Kettle in 1664, for £100, a house 
and land, and " the timber of the old Meeting-house." From 
the description of this land, it must have been the lot directly 
opposite the south part of the Meeting-house Green, on the east- 
erly side of the road. He had by his wife Elizabeth a daughter 
Sarah, born here in 1668. In August, 1672, he was at Weathers- 
field, England, waiting for a power of attorney. His subsequent 
career and end are not known. He may have returned to Ips- 
wich, the place of his father's residence ; whence his widow, 
with her daughter, who married Thomas Low, came back to 



* A Winiam Steyens married Anna Lufkin in 1726, and has nine children recorded 
in oar boolcs. He lived in the Second Parish ; where he died June 17, 1778, aged seventy- 
eigtit : his wife died April 8, 1780, aged eighty. I can trace no connection between him 
and onr early fomily of that name, though there might have been one. His son, or 
grandson, Nathaniel, went to New Gloucester, where he had a son bom, who was adopted 
by George Clark. Clark was an Irishman, and, it is said, fought on the English side at 
the Battle of Banker Hill, and was taken prisoner, and confined hi Ipswich Jail. Upon 
regaining his freedom, he went to live on Hog Island, Chebacco; and finally settled in 
the West Parish of this town. His adopted son Stevens took bis name, and transmitted 
it to oar present eidsens, George Clark and Col. John Clark. 

There was a William Stevens, too, among the early settlers of New Gloucester. He 
was bom in 1718; and died Dec. 80, 1789, leaving a wife, who was a Woodbury of this 
town. It would be natural to expect to trace him to the parent town ; but it does not 
appear that he emigrated hence. 

12 



170 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

Gloucester about 1692. Mrs. Symonds died here Jan. 81, 1728, 
aged ninety. 

George Stover had, in 1698, a grant of half an acre of 
ground to set a house upon on the south side of Cripple Cove. 
He married Abigail Elwell, Jan. 25, 1692; by whom he had the 
following children : Josiah, bom in 1694 ; Jonathan, 1696, died 
in infancy ; Isaac, 1697 ; Hannah, 1702 ; Abigail, 1703 ; Me- 
hetabel, 1706, died the same year; Abraham, 1707, died in 
1707 ; John, 1709 ; and David, 1712. This family is supposed 
to have removed from town, as none of its members appear here 
at the division of lands in 1721. 

Richard Tarr. — Tradition has preserved an account of this 
settler ; which states that he was bom in the west of England 
about 1660, and settled in Marblehead soon after 1680, where 
he married his wife Elizabeth. A person of this name, of Saco, 
was a petitioner to Sir Edmund Andros for confirmation in the 
possession of land he bought there, three years before the time 
of his petition, of John Seilye, fisherman. The date of our set- 
tler's first appearance in town is not known. All of his children 
bom after 1690 are recorded in our books ; but his will shows 
that he had two who were bom before that year. In April, 
1697, he had a grant of a piece of land, for three or four years, 
where his house stood; and, in 1701, another grant, of ten acres, 
with the condition annexed, that he should support "old Father 
Churchill " for life. This land was situated in Sandy Bay, near 
Davison's Run. He died about 1732; leaving an estate of 
£399, and the following children : William ; John ; Elizabeth, 
bom in 1691 ; Honour, 1693 ; Richard, 1695 ; Joseph, 1698 ; 
Benjamin, 1700; Caleb, 1703; Samuel, 1706; and Sarah, 1716. 
William married Elizabeth Felt in 1708, and had several chil- 
dren ; but none of the name now in town trace back to him. 
John was intending marriage with Elizabeth Heans of Marble- 
head in 1714; and, by his wife Elizabeth, a daughter of the same 
name was bom in 1719. Richard married Grace Hodgkins, 
Feb. 20, 1722 ; and had by her Hazelelponi,* bom in 1722 ; 

* I think few of my readers will remember ever before to have met with this name, 
unless they are £uniliar with a portion of the Bible not much read. — See 1 Chron. iy. 8. 



EARLY SETTLERS. 171 

and William, 1724. Joseph married Sarah Sargent, July 28, 
1719; and had a daughter Abigail, and three sons — Joseph, 
Benjamin, and Nathaniel — born before 1726, He removed to 
Parker's Island, Georgetown, Me. ; where descendants are still 
living. Benjamin married Rebecca Card, Feb. 4, 1724. His 
posterity includes the larger part of all who now bear the name on 
the Cape. One of his sons (Benjamin) died about 1814, aged 
eighty-eight, having had several children. Daniel Barber, one of 
them, was a soldier in the Revolutionary War; and died April 16, 
1840, aged eighty-six. Jabez, another, was also a soldier in the 
same war; and died Nov. 25, 1844, aged eighty-five, — the last 
of the Gloucester soldiers who fought on Bunker Hill. Moses, 
the next son, was lost at sea in the privateer ship " Tempest." 
Caleb Tarr had a wife Martha and twelve children. He died 
about 1752 ; leaving a son Caleb, who settled at the Harbor. 
Samuel, the seventh and youngest son of Richard Tarr, married 
Elizabeth Williams, Oct. 12, 1726, by whom he had four sons 
before 1739 ; when he was drowned in Sheepscot River, Me. 
Three other Tarrs besides the one mentioned above were lost in 
the *' Tempest," — James and William, sons of James ; and Hen- 
ry, son of Henry. Another Richard Tarr appears in town in 
1722. He married Sarah Beal at Beverly in 1719 ; and had a 
son Richard, bom here in 1722. He is supposed to be the 
same Richard who was killed by Indians at Fox Islands in 
1724.» 

James Travis, or Tea vers, perhaps son of Henry of New- 
bury, bom in 1645, bought, in 1667, land and the frame of a 
dwelling-house, situated near Poles, of Samuel Peacock of Bos- 
ton, April 18 of the same year, he married Mary, daughter of 
John Pearce, of whom his daughter Elizabeth was bom, Feb. 8, 
1668 ; in which year he sold his house and land to Thomas 
Millet, sen., and appears no longer in town. 

Robert Tucker may have removed hither from Weymouth, 



* The town of Rockport has erected a granite monument, with an appropriate in- 
scription, to the memory of Richard Tarr, its first settler, on the spot which tradition 
has maii^ed as that of his burial. This spot was his own land ; and, having been en- 
larged and eudueed, became finally the Parish Burying-grouud. 



172 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

where a person of this name lived in 1639. He first appears in 
Gloucester in 1651, when he bought a house and land of Ed- 
ward Rowse. He was selectman in 1652, and town-clerk from 
1652 to 1656. He had a wife Elizabeth, by whom he had Ex- 
pedance in 1652, and Ephraim in 1653 ; the former of whom 
died in infancy. A son Ebenezer died in 1653. His residence 
here appears to have terminated with the expiration of his 
clerkship, and to have been transferred back to Weymouth. 

John Tucker is not known to have been of the same family 
as the preceding ; nor has any information concerning him come 
to light, further than that furnished by our records in giving his 
marriage and the births of his children. He does not appear 
among the grantees of six-acre lots in 1688; nor does he or any 
of his family appear in the division of land, in 1721, to persons 
who had been householders seventeen years. From the latter 
circumstance, it may be inferred that he and his wife had both 
deceased or removed before that year. His wife was Sarah 
Riggs, to whom he was married May 9, 1681 ; and his children 
were — Mary, bom in 1682; Sarah, 1685; John, 1686; Wil- 
liam, 1690 ; Thomas, 1692 ; Richard, 1695 ; Abigail, 1697 ; 
Joseph, 1701 ; and Grace, 1706. John married Mary Lane in 
1714, and has the births of twelve children recorded. Wil- 
liam married Dorcas Lane in 1713; and had issue two sons and 
three daughters, as appears by the records. John, one of these 
sons, bom in 1725, married Mary Davis in 1746; and had sons 
John and Nathaniel, who served in the Revolutionary Army, 
and lived to old age. John attained the rank of lieutenant in 
the army, and afterwards that of colonel in the militia. He was 
an active Federalist ; and, during the rule of his party in town- 
affairs, was seven times elected representative. He died in 
January, 1831, aged eighty-two. Thomas Tucker was drowned 
in Carolina, April 20, 1717. Richard married Abigail Harvey, 
Jan. 16, 1718; and died before 1734. He had several children; 
one of whom (Joseph), bom in 1728, was probably the same who 
died Jan. 16, 1816, aged eighty-nine. A Richard Tucker and 
wife Bethiah appear in town at the birth of their son Richard in 
1704 ; and a Lewis Tucker has recorded here the births of five 



EARLY SETTLERS. 173 

children by Joan, his wife, at Kittery side, on Piscataqua River, 
at the commencement of the last century. 

Walter Tybbot was bom in 1584, and came to Gloucester 
with Mr. Blynman. He was admitted a freeman in 1642 ; and 
was a selectman that year, and in several of the subsequent 
years. In 1647, he was licensed to draw wine, and exempted 
from common training. The records do not indicate the place 
of his residence, though they furnish evidence that he was one 
of the largest proprietors of land. He gave his attention to 
agriculture ; and the inventory of his estate shows that he did 
not cultivate our unpromising soil in vain. He died Aug. 14, 
1651, aged sixty-seven, leaving a widow (who married John 
Harding, April 22, 1652), and a daughter Mary, by whose mar- 
riage with William Haskell his descendants are numerous. No 
other child of Tybbot is mentioned; but Agnes, wife of Edmund 
Clark, may have been his daughter, as her husband is called 
son-in-law of Tybbot. She had had a previous husband (Dike), 
by whom she had a daughter Elizabeth, and perhaps the Richard 
who is noticed in this work ; as he is mentioned as a grandson of 
Tybbot, and of Harding, who married Tybbot's widow, 

Bridget Varney was of Ipswich in 1663. In 1669, then 
a widow, she sold house and land, with the harbor and neck of 
land on the south-east, to Bartholomew Foster. This property 
was situated near the present Mill Street. She died Oct. 25, 
1672. Her will mentions sons Humphrey and Thomas, son 
Jefifrey Parsons, daughter Bachel Vincion, and son-in-law Wil- 
liam Vincion. 

Thomas Verrey, or Very, was bom about 1626. He was 
a fisherman, and was here before 1650. He had several lots of 
land, the location of which indicates that his residence was at 
the Harbor. He married Hannah, daughter of Thomas Giles 
of Salem, July 6, 1650, who died Aug. 25, 1683 : he died 
March 28, 1694. His children were — Ephraim, bom in 1652 ; 
Hannah, 1653 ; Bridget, 1654 ; Thomas, 1656 ; Samuel, 1659 ; 
Abigail, 1661 ; Edward, 1663 ; Elizabeth, 1665 ; and Francis, 
1668. This last son was hving in the city of Waterford, in Ire- 
land, in 1716. The name was not perpetuated in Gloucester 



174 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

beyond the second generation; but it is still found in other 
places in Essex County. 

William Vinson was of Salem as early as 1635^ but re- 
moved to this place on the first settlement of the town. He 
is called, in the records, " potmaker." By grant and purchase, 
he became an owner of several lots of land ; on one of which, 
probably, was the spring that perpetuates his name. He was 
also the original grantee of Five-pound Island. He was ad- 
mitted a freeman in 1643 ; and in 1646, and several times 
subsequently, was one of the selectmen. He had a wife Sarah, 
who died Feb. 4, 1660. He next married, June 10, 1661, 
Eachel Cooke, a widow, who died Feb. 15, 1707 : he died 
Sept. 17, 1690, aged about eighty. His children were — Eliza- 
beth, bom in 1644; Bichard; John, 1648; William, 1651; 
Bichard, 1658 ; Thomas, 1662 ; Abigail, 1668 ; and Sarah and 
Hannah, bom before he came to Gloucester. The four daugh- 
ters married here, and had children. Of the sons, the first 
Bichard died in childhood ; the second, and Thomas and Wil- 
liam, died in December, 1675 ; John was dead in 1683. The 
name was not continued here beyond the second generation ; 
but the descendants of his daughters are numerous. 

Thomas Wakley, called a yeoman, lived in Hingham in 
1635. He bought thirteen acres of land, on the neck of house- 
lots, of Mr. Pritchard ; besides which, he owned several other 
parcels. He was a freeman in 1636, and one of the selectmen 
in 1646. He and his son John had houses and land on the 
south side of Goose Cove ; which, in 1661, they sold to Thomas 
Biggs, and, with another son (Isaac) and a son-in-law (Matthew 
Coe), went to Falmouth, Me., where they purchased a large 
tract of land, on which they settled, and remained till the 
destruction of the place by the Indians in 1675, when Thomas 
Wakley and his wife Elizabeth, and John and his wife and two 
children, were barbarously slaughtered by the savages. Eliza- 
beth, daughter of John, was carried off; but, after some months* 
captivity, was taken by Squando, the Saco sachem, to Major 
Waldron at Dover, where she subsequently married Bichard 
Scamman, a Quaker. Isaac Wakley was killed by the In- 



EARLY SETTLERS. 175 

diansy at Falmouth, in 1676. John Wakley married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Johanna Somars, June 10, 1657 ; and had, by her, 
Hannah, bom in 1657 ; Thomas, bom 3d, died 7th September, 
1659; and Elizabeth, 1661. Old Thomas Wakley was often 
heard to bewail with tears his removal from places where he 
had enjoyed gospel privileges " to a plantation where there was 
no church at all, nor the ordinance and institutions of the 
Lord Jesus Christ." 

Henry Walker is mentioned as an owner of land before 
1650. He married, Sept. 26, 1662, Widow Mary Brown, who 
first appeared here as the wife of Abraham Robinson. He had 
his residence on the west side of Annisquam River, where a 
creek still perpetuates the name. He was selectman in 1667 and 
several subsequent years. He died Aug. 29, 1693 : his wife 
died April 17, 1690. His estate, the largest that had then been 
accumulated in town, was appraised £922. 10s., consisting chiefly 
of land. Having no children, he left legacies to the descend- 
ants of his wife by her two previous husbands ; and gave the 
remainder of his property to Nathaniel Coit, who resided with 
him. 

John Wallis. — He and Nathaniel Wallis, who was bom in 
the county of Cornwall, England, 1682, were early inhabitants 
of Casco ; whence John was driven away at the time of the 
destruction of the settlements there by the Indians in 1675. 
He is only mentioned here as the father, by his wife Mary, of 
a daughter Elizabeth, Sept. 12, 1678 ; and as having deceased 
Sept. 23, 1690. The silence of our records concerning him, 
between these two dates, is explained by the fact, that he re- 
turned to Falmouth, and remained there till the second attack 
on that place by the Indians compelled him again to flee. He 
had sons Josiah, Benjamin, Joseph, and James. Josiah was 
bom about 1662. He first appears here in 1696 with his wife 
Mary ; by whom his son John was bom in the same year, and 
his daughter Susanna in 1699. About 1702, he went back to 
Falmouth, and built a house at Spring Point, on the Purpooduc 
side of the river, where his three brothers then lived. Here, 
however, he enjoyed but a brief secwon of repose. The French 



176 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER, 

and Indians, in August, 1703, attacked all the settlements firom 
Wells to Casco; and, in the destruction of the latter, the Wallis 
families were severe sufferers. The wives of Josiah and Benja- 
min Wallis were killed, and Joseph Wallis's wife was carried 
into captivity. Josiah Wallis himself made his escape to Black 
Point ; carrying his son John, who was then about seven years 
old, part of the way on his back. He again took up his abode 
in Gloucester, where he is found with a wife Sarah, to whom he 
was married Dec. 19, 1706. By her he had a son Josiah, bom 
in 1708; and Samuel, 1711. Besides these and the children 
by his previous wife, he had a daughter Sarah, who married 
Jacob Sawyer, and removed to Falmouth; and a daughter 
Mary, who married Paul Dolliver. He died Feb. 7, 1741. 
James Wallis had, in 1704, half an acre of land near the 
Harbor Swamp. How long before that he had removed hither, 
is not known. The birth of his daughter Rebekah, in 1699, is 
recorded in our records: after her he had Martha, Joseph, 
Benjamin, and Jonathan ; and, before her, Elizabeth and James. 
The father, with his sons James and Joseph, was taken by the 
Indians, in Fox Harbor, in June, 1724. The two sons were 
killed ; but the father escaped, and returned home. In his will, 
made in 1731 and proved in 1743, he mentions his son Benjamin 
in captivity, and a son Jonathan. John Wallis, who married 
Patience Hodgkins in 1719, and had several children bom here 
before 1738, was probably the son of Josiah, and is supposed to 
be the John Walhs who was an inhabitant of Cape Elizabeth in 
1768. The name has continued here down to the present time, 
though the individuals bearing it have never been numerous. 

Samuel Webber is first presented to our notice as an inhabi- 
tant of Falmouth, Me., in 1681. In 1692, he was a witness at 
the trial of Rev. George Burroughs at Salem for witchcraft, 
and testified to his great strength. He appears in Gloucester in 
1695 ; when, by his wife Deborah, a daughter of the same name 
was bom. Besides her, Waitstill and Patience, twins, were bom 
here in 1698. He had a house and fifteen acres of land at Goose 
Cove, which he sold in 1696 to Thomas Riggs. He probably 
left town before 1700, and went to York, where he died in 1716. 



EARLY SETTLEBS, 177 

His wife Deborah and nine children survived him. A Michael 
Webber and wife Deborah had a daughter Mary bom here 
May 16, 1701. He is probably the person of the same name 
who was a fellow-sufferer of the "Wallises in the destruction of 
the settlement at Purpooduc by the Indians in 1703. The 
savages killed Webber's wife, who was pregnant, and man- 
gled her body with shocking barbarity. The same, or another 
Michael, was here in 1716, and became a permanent settler. He 
had a wife Sarah, by whom ten children were bom to him in 
the subsequent twenty years. One of his sons (Michael), bom 
in 1716, married Hannah Sawyer in 1739, and was lost at sea 
in August, 1760 ; leaving two sons (John and Michael), who 
settled in New Gloucester, Me. ; whence Gen. John Webber, 
son of the latter, came to Gloucester, and was a prominent 
citizen till his death, Dec. 16, 1858, at the age of seventy-two. 
His son John S. was a representative in 1855 and 1857. An- 
other son of Michael Webber, sen. (Benjamin), bom in 1726, 
married Hannah Babson in 1750. He fell dMui suddenly, in 
advanced age, at the door of his dwelling-house, to which he 
was returning with a burden of fuel from the adjacent woods. 
He was the father of Benjamin, who was a soldier in the battle 
of Bunker Hill, a sea-captain and merchant, and died Jan. 9, 
1841, aged eighty-five ; and of Joseph, who was killed by the 
accidental discharge of a musket, on board the privateer '^ Black 
Prince " of Salem, about 1779. Ignatius, youngest son of Michael 
Webber, bom in 1733, married Elizabeth Stewart in 1757, and 
had several daughters, and a son Ignatius, who became a ship- 
master, and, with a good reputation in his profession, acquired 
also a competent estate, a part of which was unprofitably in- 
vested in the erection of an expensive windmill on the spot 
now occupied by the Pavilion Hotel. He died Feb. 1, 1829, 
aged seventy-two. A James Webber was here in 1704 ; when, 
by his wife Patience, he had a son Nathan bom. The ancestor 
of all these Webbers may have been Michael, who died here 
Jan. 12, 1729, aged nearly ninety. The date of his first appear- 
ance in town is not known. A Michael was a householder here 
in 1704 ; and, in 1725, received a grant of land near his house, 

28 



178 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

at Fresh- water Cove ; where the £amily name has continued to 
the present time. 

William Wellman was son-in-law of Major Sadler^ and 
probably came to Gloucester with him. He does not appear as 
a grantee of land^ though he had several lots ; one of which 
was in the Harbor, and one in Fisherman's field. He was one 
of the company that went to New London, where he received a 
grant of land in 1651. 

Nathaniel Wharf was son of Nathaniel Wharf of Fal- 
mouth, Me., by his wife Rebecca, daughter of Arthur Macworth. 
The father died in 1673 ; leaving Nathaniel, then eleven years 
old, who came to Gloucester, and married, Jan. 30, 1684, Ann, 
daughter of Thomas Riggs, by whom he had the following 
children: Nathaniel, bom in 1685; Rebecca, 1686; Mary, 
1687 ; Charity, 1688, died in infancy ; Thomas, 1689 ; Mercy 
and Experience, 1690 ; Hannah, 1691 ; Arthur, 1694 ; John, 
1696 ; Patience, 1697, died in infancy f Abraham, 1699, died 
in 1706; and Lydia, 1701. The mother died Dec. 17, 1701, 
a few weeks after the birth of this last child. Nathaniel 
Wharf was hving in 1734. His oldest son (Nathaniel) mar- 
ried Hannah Stevens, Feb. 7, 1715, and had sons Thomas and 
Isaac. Thomas married Dorcas Lane in 1738, and had sons 
Job, John, Nathaniel, Thomas, David, and Eliphalet, and two 
daughters. He was supposed to have been lost at sea in the 
fall of 1753. His son Thomas settled in New Gloucester, 
and died there Jan. 22, 1835, aged eighty-seven. Isaac married 
Catherine Connelly of Newbury in 1744, and had sons John, 
Isaac, and Humphrey, and two daughters. Arthur Wharf 
is supposed to have married Martha Lee in 1737. Sons 
Abraham, John, and Samuel were the offspring of this mar- 
riage. John, youngest son of Nathaniel Wharf, married 
Hannah Cleigh in 1719, and had sons James and Arthur and 
three daughters. By these descendants of Nathaniel Wharf, 
the name has been perpetuated in town; but the persons bearing 
it are not numerous. 

William Whittridge had a grant of a common right in 
1692 ; but first appears here at his marriage, March 4, 1684, to 



EARLY SETTLERS. 179 

Hannah Roberts. The fruits of this union were — Hannah, 
bom m 1685; Samuel, 1692; and Susanna, 1697. He died 
Aug. 8, 1726, aged seventy. Samuel married Hannah Whiston 
of Barnstable in 1720, by whom he had foiir daughters and a son 
William ; and was drowned at Sable Island, May 10, 1732, aged 
forty. His son William married Mary Saville in 1755, and had 
sons William and Oliver Saville and a daughter Mary. 

Richard Window, a carpenter, had, as early as 1651, a 
house and ten acres of land near Walker's Creek ; which, at 
a date not known, he sold to WilHam Haskell. He was a select- 
man in 1654. In 1655, he bought of John Coit a house and 
land on the east side of the river, where he probably lived 
during the remainder of his life. He had previously bought a 
house, near Trynall Cove, of William Sargent. In 1648, the 
Quarterly-Court Record says that he was presented for Hving 
away from his wife : but it was proved that he had sent for her, 
and had heard that she was dead ; and he was therefore dis- 
charged. His Gloucester wife was named Elinor, by whom he 
had a daughter, bom in 1654 ; and by the loss of whom, May 16, 
1658, he again became a widower. He next married Bridget, 
widow of Henry Travis of Newbury, March 30, 1659. In 
1662, land was granted to him for his son Richard Goodwin ; 
and the date of his will (May 2, 1665) completes our knowledge 
concerning him. In that he mentions a daughter Ann, his 
" true and laful aire ; " Anthony Bennet, his son-in-law ; and 
Elizabeth his daughter-in-law. 

Heney Witham may have been a son of Thomas Witham, 
who died in 1653. Our information concerning him is of the 
slightest kind. The spot on which he resided is not known ; 
though it is indicated, perhaps, by his possession of eighteen 
acres of land lying near Lobster Cove. He married, first, Sarah, 
daughter of Morris Somes, June 15, 1665, who died May 11, 
1689; and, second, Lydia Griffin, Oct 23, 1691, who died 
Nov. 1, 1702 : he died April 17, 1702. His children were 
— Thomas, bom in 1666; Henry, 1668; John, 1670, died 
same year ; Samuel, 1672 ; and Joseph, 1676. Only two of 
these sons (Thomas and Samuel) appear to have married and 



180 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

settled In town. Thomas married Abigail Babson, July 8, 1691 ; 
from whose mother he received a gift of land situated near her 
own residence, at the Farms, where he built a house, which he 
made his home for life, and which has been owned and occupied 
by his descendants down to the present time. He filled the 
office of selectman several times, and appears to have been a 
worthy citizen. He died Aug. 1, 1736, aged seventy: his 
wife died Feb. 25, 1745, aged seventy-three. They had seven 
sons and four daughters. One of the sons died in youth : 
the rest were married, and had families in town. The six 
brothers had sixty-four children ; and the youngest son of the 
yoimgest brother is now living, at the age of eighty-two, — a 
hundred and fifty-two years after his father's birth. One of the 
sons (Daniel), bom in 1700, graduated at Harvard College in 
1718. Soon afterwards, he taught a school in Dorchester ; and, 
in 1729 and 1730, was engaged in the same employment here. 
He next entered upon the practice of medicine, and continued 
in it during life. Tradition and history are both silent concern- 
ing his professional career and reputation; but the written 
testimony of his ability, and useftdness as a citizen, is ample and 
conclusive. He began in early manhood to take an active part 
in town-affairs, and gained a popularity which he preserved to 
the end of his life. He was town-clerk forty-two years, and 
selectman thirty-seven years ; and, besides these permanent offices, 
was frequently called upon to serve in others of temporary, but 
no less important character. Being qualified by education, expe- 
rience in public affairs, and interest in the general welfare, his 
services were often in requisition in the preparation of resolves 
and addresses for the expression of the sentiments of the people 
at the anxious and excited period which immediately preceded 
the Bevolutionary War ; and he ftdly shared the patriotic indig- 
nation which filled the breasts of his townsmen, when assembled 
to consider the oppression and wrongs which the mother-country 
made them so sensibly to feel. Dr. Witham married Lydia 
Sanders, Jan. 7, 1735 ; and had by her twelve children, several 
of which died in infancy and childhood. His son Thomas died 
at Bayonne, whither he was carried as a prisoner, July, 1757, 



EARLY SETTLERS. 181 

aged nineteen. Daniel^ the youngest son, and the only one that 
survived his father, was a tailor, and had a shop on Middle 
Street, on the lot next west of the present Orthodox Meeting- 
house. The date of Dr. Witham's death is not known ; but it 
was about 1776. Ebenezer, brother of Daniel, born in 1702, 
had sons Asa, Jeremiah, and Ebenezer, who are said to have 
removed to New Gloucester; whence Asa returned to his 
native town, and embarked on a privateering cruise, on which 
he was taken and carried to England, where he died in prison. 
Zebulon, the youngest son of Thomas Witham, bom in 1708, 
was twice married, and, by his two wives, had eighteen children. 
His youngest son, bom in 1778, is still living. He was some 
time a ship-master ; and our Massachusetts State archives contain 
his deposition concerning his capture, robbery, and release by 
a Spanish privateer, on the coast of Cape Charles, November, 
1740. He died June 22, 1794, aged eighty-six. Samuel 
Witham married Rebekah Gardner, Dec. 5, 1705, and had sons 
Samuel and John and a daughter Bebekah, and died before 
1723. His residence was on Eastern Point. 

Humphrey Woodbury is supposed to have been a grandson 
of John, who came from Somersetshire, England, for the Dor- 
chester adventurers, and was one of the first English occupants 
of our territory. The latter had a son Humphrey ; who was 
undoubtedly the same person to whom, by his wife Elizabeth, 
our Humphrey was bom, in Salem, in 1646. He became a 
citizen of Beverly by the separation of that town from Salem, 
and there married Ann Winder,* Jan. 8, 1671. The first men- 
tion we have of him in Gloucester is in 1677, when he purchased 
land on Biskie Island of Joseph Clark. He came into posses- 
sion of other lots on that island, and built a house there ; which 
was his residence, probably, at the time of his death. He died 
April 9, 1727, aged eighty: his wife died Feb. 28, 1728, aged 
seventy-five. His children baptized in Beverly were — Bethia, 
1672 ; Abigail, 1674; Humphrey, 1677, died in 1696 ; Anna, 



* Perhaps Ann Window, daughter of oar Richard. She might have had Beverly 
oonnectioDs in the Bennett Family of that town. 



183 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

1680; Nehemiah, 1686; Abel, 1688; Nathan, 1691; and 
Israel, 1693. The births of Elizabeth, 1682 ; of Nathaniel, 
1684; of Susanna, 1695; and of Humphrey, 1698, — are re- 
corded in Gloucester. Nathan married Hannah Giddings in 
1712, and had three children. Humphrey married Abigail 
Bray in 1726, and, after living several years on the island where 
his father settled, removed to New Gloucester with the first 
permanent settlers of that town. He left here a son Abel, who 
became a sea-captain, and was taken in the Revolutionary War, 
and carried a prisoner to New York ; where he died, on board 
a prison-ship, in 1778. Abel's daughter Jerusha, widow of 
Israel Bust, died April 9, 1854, aged ninety-seven. 

Samuel York. — A Bichard York was of Dover in 1661; 
and, in that year, sold land there which he had bought of Wil- 
liam Hilton. He appears to have removed to Oyster Biver, now 
Durham, N.H.; where he owned land, which his son John sold 
in 1676. The latter had a wife Buth, and may have been the 
same John who, in 1684, was living in North Yarmouth, Me.; 
where a Samuel also had land about the same time. No other 
Samuel appearing, fturther conjecture might identify him with 
our settler, and make him the father of Samuel and Benjamin, 
who were living in Falmouth, Me., on the second destruction of 
that place ; as our Samuel had sons bearing these names. In 
1700, he bought of Timothy Somes eighteen acres of land, with 
a house and bam. This land had the sea on the northern end, 
and Lobster Cove at the southern. His first appearance in 
Gloucester is at the birth of his son John, by his wife Hannah, 
in 1695. This son and another (Thomas) died in 1699 : the 
father died March 18, 1718, aged seventy-three. A Mrs. York 
died Nov. 28, 1724, aged seventy. Samuel York mentions in his 
will sons Samuel (who had a son Samuel, a minor), Benjamin, 
and Bichard, and three daughters who were married. The first 
of these sons is not known to have ever resided here. A Samuel 
York, with his wife Mary, was living in Ipswich in 1713 ; and, 
"being arrived at old age," made his will in 1767. He was the 
same, probably, who is mentioned as executor of the will of our 
Bichard in 1729; and may have been his brother. Benjamin 



EARLY SETTLERS. 183 

married Mary Giddings In 1704, and had six children bom in 
town before 1728. His name is among the number of admitted 
residents of Falmouth, Me., in 1727 and 1728 ; whither he pro- 
bably removed. Richard married Patience Hatch in 171 1 ; and 
died May 2, 1718, aged twenty-nine, leaving a widow, sons 
Thomas and Richard, and daughters Patience and Mary. He 
owned two sloops and a schooner, and is supposed to have 
carried on the fishing business at Squam. Besides the above 
Yorks, Joseph settled here in 1700 ; when he married Abigail, 
daughter of Abraham Robinson. He bought, in 1701, eighteen 
acres of land near Lobster Cove, where he carried on the fishing 
business. He died Oct. 18, 1728, leaving an estate of over 
£1,400 after his debts were paid. He had several daughters 
and a son Joseph ; but the name does not appear to have been 
perpetuated on the Cape by any one but Thomas, son of 
Richard. 

Philip Youdall. — Not much is known concerning him. 
Mention is made in the town-records of land once belonging to 
him; and the Quarterly-Court records, imder date of 1648, have 
preserved his name in connection with a criminal offence. 

Although the date of the first settlement of Gloucester cannot 
be ascertained, it appears probable that Felch, Streeter, Thomas 
Smith, Baker, and Cotton, were here before the incorporation of 
the town, and were located at Done Fudging ; and that Ashley, 
Milward, liston, Luther, and perhaps two or three others, were 
also here before that date, and had lots at the Harbor. These 
persons may have been here in the employment of Mr. Thom- 
son ; or they, or some of them, may have been companions of 
Robinson in the removal firom the other side of the Bay, if such 
removal actually took place. Of the whole number who were 
here before 1651, it appears that about thirty had their habita- 
tions at the Harbor, and that nineteen of these lived on the 
north border of the Harbor Cove ; five had lots at Vinson's 
Cove ; three resided on Ihmcan*s Point, between the two coves; 
and two lived on the south-east side of Governor's Hill. About 
forty of the first settlers had houses on the " neck of house- 
lots;" by which term they usually designated that portion of 



184 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 

the territory stretching north from Governor's Hill, and lying 
between Annisquam River and Mill Eiver. Of the rest of these 
settlers, there is nothing to indicate the place of residence. The 
first settlers, or those before 1651, were not all here at one time. 
The records show frequent changes in the ownership of lots ; 
and other circumstances give evidence that many of the persons 
who lived in town before that date were only brief sojourners. 
Of all the first-comers, not more than thirty became permanent 
citizens of the town. Before 1651, it is not certain that there 
was a single family residing in any other part of the town than 
the two sections above named, excepting one or two on the east- 
erly side of Mill River ; but, soon after that year, settlers are 
found near Little Good Harbor, at Walker's Creek, at Little 
River, at Fresh-water Cove, and at Annisquam. A few years 
later, inhabitants gathered around the coves on the north side of 
the Cape; and finally, about the end of the century, the head 
of the Cape itself received a few permanent occupants ; Kettle 
Cove had become the abode of one family or more ; and no con- 
siderable district of the town now remained unoccupied to attract 
the attention of new-comers. 

The spots selected by most of the early settlers for their 
homes were chosen with reference to the fitness of the soil for 
agricultural purposes ; and such is the rugged and broken cha- 
racter of the territory, that even the small number of people 
that then composed its population covered almost every acre of 
land that could be easily cultivated. Nearly all of the first 
settlers had land in several different places. Besides their home- 
lots, those who resided in the Harbor had grants at Fisherman's 
Field ; and those living on the neck of house-lots had them on 
** Planter's Neck, between Lobster Cove and the sea." Possess- 
ing thus different lots in widely separated places, without, in 
many instances, any mention of a house, the exact spot on which 
every settler located himself cannot be ascertained. Many of 
them had grants which were not recorded ; and, of those which 
are recorded, a few are stated to have been made by the com- 
missioners of the General Court : some are entered simply as 
given, some as purchases, and some as possessions. Planter's 



EARLY SETTLERS. 185 

Neck, where lots were early laid out and numbered, was at An- 
nisquam, — the spot which tradition has always reported to have 
been the first to receive permanent occupants. Abraham Robin- 
son and his companions may have set up their fishery there, as 
early mention is made of a " stage ** at that place ; but no evi- 
dence exists now to show that any of the earliest families resided 
there. Robinson owned land, and a house, the location of 
which no one can tell; but in it, says the record, **he lived 
and died," — the first of the early settlers that passed away to 
the great congregation of the dead.* 

* The sources from which I have derived the infoniiAtkm given in this chapter are 
too numerous to be mentioned here in detail. The town-records, of coarse, have Air- 
nished a considerable portion; and, of these, it is proper that this work should give some 
aocoant. The first book is a folio of mediam size, with a thin parchment cover, and is 
much dilapidated and worn. Its continued preservation is secured by the use of a copy 
made in 1850, having a full index, and the certificate of J. P. Trask, Esq., the town-clerk 
that year, to its correctness. The first part of the venerable original is itself a copy from 
a previous book, as appears by the first entry, in these words : ** Gloucester Records of 
an the Land, drawn out of the first Book of Records, from the first ordering, settling, 
and disposing of it, until the 16th of August, 1650; and by whom disposed.*' The 
first recorder was Obadiah Bmen, who removed to New London in 1650, and carried 
with him the original record. Tradition says that he took it because the town would 
not pay for the book; but this seems improbable, considering that he left in another 
volume, in his own handwriting, what we must conceive to have been the most im- 
portant part of that which he carried away. In our book, next to the first entry above 
extracted, follows a notice of ^ the first ordering, settling, and disposing of lots by Mr. 
Endicott and Mr. Downing, commissioners in 1642;** then a list of the persons ap- 
pointed by the commissioners to order the prudential affairs of the town that year, and 
of those chosen by the town for the same business in the eight years immediately fol- 
lowing; next come ** Orders made and published for the good of the town since the 
first settling of it,** in Mr. Bruen*s chirography, till 1650; and then follows **Land 
given and disposed of, and to whom.** The rest of the volume is almost entirely occu- 
pied with records of grants, and transfers of land, till we come to a few pages at the 
end, which contain lists of the selectmen and a few other town-officers for a number 
of years, and some proceedings in townnnee tings. A regular and orderly record of 
transactions in town-meetings is commenced in the second volume of the records, in 
16{^; and is continued, with a slight hiatus, down to the present time. The second 
and third volumes have been rebound within a few years, and furnished with full in- 
dexes. Two volumes of commoners* records contain the proceedings of that body 
after they ceased to be mixed with those of the town, and all the divisions and 
grants and sales of land not recorded in the book first mentioned. These three books 
give the original individual ownership of nearly every acre of our territory. The 
commoners* books have been recently furnished with indexes, and rebound ; and are 
now in excellent condition. The selectmen*s proceedings are recorded in several 
books, commencing as far back as 1698. The earlier volumes contain a variety of 
interesting transactions. They need a new binding, and are well worth the additional 
expense of an index. Three small, narrow books, two of which are quite thin, contain 

24 



186 HISTORY OF GLOUCESTER. 



the births, deaths, and marriages to about 1785. To that date, these records show but 
few omissions: but, after that time, very few deaths are recorded for more than a hun- 
dred years; and it is evident that many births also are not entered. The fourth volume 
continues the marriages and births to about 1776. Two of these volumes are not fit 
for use ; and, fortunately for their preservation, there is little occasion now to refer to 
them, as their contents have been transferred, in an abbreviated form, to a new 
volume, in which they are alphabetically arranged. Such are the early town>records. 
The church and parish records have also furnished information for the last' chap- 
ter. The records of the First Church commence with the ministry of Rev. John White. 
Those of the other churches and of the parishes begin with the organization of the 
parishes respectively. The records of the several churches are valuable for their lists 
of baptisms ; and these should secure their careful preservation. In the preparation of 
this work, I have minutely examined twenty volumes of these local records; and I trust 
that no more serious fault will be found with the use I have made of them* than that 
I may have failed to reduce their various spelling of proper names to a uniform ortho- 
graphy. The town-records were kept at the house or place of business of the town 
clerk till 1844, when a Town House was erected, in which a safe place of deposit was 
provided for them. 
Last modified: Wednesday, 9 October 2019, 7:48 PM